We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed a comfortable stay here. Good location for southbank and access to all the sports/events stadia.

Hot day when visited, but room air conditioning was fine.

Didn't have breakfast here myself but took a quick stroll to one of the many eateries down next to the Yarra.

Got great rate for the room by booking through one of the hotel discount sites (linked via this page on tripadvisor, very easy to find them!).

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear DrJonny,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    1,134
    317
    75
    28
See reviews for
380
922
195
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient to Southbank, city and Arts complex. 20 minute walk to MCG or tennis centre or Ethiad stadium. Trams 3 minutes away. Rooms tired, but comfortable. Annoying credit card surcharge at checkout. Reasonable price for what you get.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Kyzyk,

The team are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you were able to make use of the fantastic location

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge hotels in the near future

Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbank
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Perfect location (next to Eureka Tower, close to Fed Square), clean, good room size with sofa corner and kitchen with microwave, kettle, cuttlery, fridge (no stove). Very good value for the money (special on easytobook.com). Would recommend staying here

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Brigitte R,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay so much

Don’t forget Toga hotel's best price guarantee on our own website, www.togahotels.com.au to always find the best available online rate

Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

rooms are too hot, the a/c is only fair and whilst I realise that there no windows to open some fresh air would be a godsend.as i hav enoted inaround 6 previous reviews of this hotel the breakfast is of poor quality and grossly overpriced. any time the rate is under $100 its suitable accomodation because of its location to most things


  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Bruce T,

We are pleased to hear that you continue to choose our hotel as your preferred accommodation in Melbourne, although I was disappointed to hear of some issues during your stay

Our team is available 24/7 should you ever have issues in your room, our air conditioning units should always be blowing cold air when set to a low temperature, definitely not of a "fair" standard if working correctly

We feel our Travelodge breakfast is a consistent and fair price compared to our competitors in the hotel market, however we will take your feedback on board as a valued return guest

Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Second stay here simply because of location. Its also good value for money I believe. Located next to the Eureka Skydeck there is really nothing much in central Melbourne that Travelodge Southbank is not close to or you cannot catch an equally close by train/tram/bus to. Well worth booking a room/breakfast package as the buffet breakfast offers a good range of both cooked and foods and cereal/toast/fruit etc. Unfortunately I found on this occasion the hot food to be not so hot so after two days stuck to cereals/ toast etc but still more than sufficient to fuel me for the start of the day but please try and keep the food hot longer! - cold plates don't help either. The rooms are very spacious and clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful and due to a very early morning checkout a breakfast box was provided to compensate for missing out on breakfast. For local traffic reasons I now refuse to take a car to Melbourne so Southbank provides the ideal location. Travelodge will certainly be my preferred choice for any future visits

Room Tip: Higher is perhaps better but I don't think outside noise is an issue even on the lower floors. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear nathansupporter,

We are glad you enjoy the location as much as the team here at the Travelodge and we look forward to welcoming you back to our travelodge properties in the near future

I have passed on your feedback about the food temperature to the restaurant team to ensure they are monitoring the food throughout the shift more closely

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We recently spent four nights here on a visit to Melbourne after considering higher end CBD accommodation and we are so pleased we did. The reception we received from the moment we arrived was friendly and efficient and our room was immediately available. The room was clean and the kitchenette a bonus. It was spacious and light and the couch gave extra seating room which was welcome. The bathroom was clean and the towels thick and soft - yes it is not huge and marble etc but perfectly well appointed for our needs for a 4 day visit. The best think is the proximity to the CBD, Southbank restaurants, South Melbourne markets etc... We were able to walk to many places, using taxis only a few times and then public transport which is on the doorstep almost. Didn't have breakfast here as too many other option beckon in the area. The questions we had for the desk staff including the very pleasant trainee were answered with a smile and nothing was a bother - have not always found this to be so in 'higher end properties'. We will definitely use this hotel again on our next visit to Melbourne...can shop return the goodies and go again it is so close to the shopping!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear tfamilytravellers,

Thanks for taking the time to provide such a glowing review of the hotel and our fantastic location

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Toby Colgrave I Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.