We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel option in Melbourne,Australia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel option in Melbourne,Australia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Positive aspects:
1) Location: 50m from southbank Yarra River,a nice point of tourism in Melbourne.
2) Perfect cost\benefits: Cheapest hotel in that tourist area,the other hotel is the expensive The Langham hotel or The Crown Casino.
3) Room: Honest room,comfortable queen bed,nice pillows,clean room,small but sufficient kitchen, flat tv set, iron,hairdrier,telephone,no safe in room,sofa,table and two chairs,tea maker,etc.
4) Bathroom: Clean and large enough.
5) Breakfast: AUD 15/person but it is a very good breakfast with several hot and cold options with eggs,beans,pancakes,breads,muffins,juices,jams,yogourt,cereals,sausages,bacon,fruits,etc.
6) Tourism: Very closed and easy access to several attractions,nice boardwalk area,safe area, free tourist transportation by tram,several food options around.
7) Building: New,clean,modern and placed in safe town area.
8) Comfort: Very quiet area,no problem to sleep.
Negative aspects:
1) Very expensive internet. AUD 10/hour or 20/day or 99/week. I cannot understand why it is so expensive. Also in the lobby is payable: AUD 0,10/minute or AUD 2,00/20 minutes. In the lobby is there an alternative of free 15 minutes each 24 hours (wifi).
2) Only bath towels,no face towels available.
3) Only breakfast available,no dinner options.

Room Tip: Ask for street view room and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear ,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I am glad to announce we have just started our evening room service menu to cater for people who would like to dine in, it already seems to be a hit

We are constantly working with our internet provider to improve value for our guests and are glad that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary wifi available in the lobby.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    907
    265
    63
    23
See reviews for
277
714
164
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Travelodge is a good choice for a comfortable no frills hotel central to Melbourne and a brilliant spot for access to Southbank and the restaurants and Casino. For business it is well located and good value, and has toiletries and an iron, basic breakfast. Plenty of great bars and restaurants within a short walk. Try the Bond Store 50m away for a great breakfast and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed two nights in a group of six, all with separate rooms. We all found the hotel clean, good value and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was great value at $15 a head. The location was great with a short walk to the casino and CBD a moderate walk to the MCG and within walking distance of Etihad Stadium.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at the Travelodge for 3 nights after a long flight from the UK. First night we just crashed out as very tired, but the room was very good. Clean and an extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and kept clean every day we were there. Set in a great area to go into the centre of Melbourne. Next door to the tallest building in Melbourne. Breakfast was wonderful, so much chose that we tried to work out how many courses we could actually eat, it was a buffet style breakfast that we did pay extra for. On the whole a very good hotel and could show the Travelodges in the UK a few things. Hopefully going back next January, so a good offer from them would be very much appreciated.

Room Tip: our room was very good, and had no complaints at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had no hassles booking in to the travelodge over the phone. On arrival from an early flight the staff were happy to book us in a little earlier as the room was ready. All the staff were helpful and friendly especially Esther. The room is very clean and has an environmental policy where you leave a card on your bed and they wont change the sheets. However our towels were changed each day and we didnt indicate we wanted this as we hung them up. The hotel does cater for chinese tour groups who could be noisy outside of the lift areas , shouting etc. but this is not the hotels fault, perhaps some signs opposite the lifts to be thoughtful of other guests ( we had a room near the lift). Also we were given a lower floor which was appreciated as we were travelling with my 80 year old in laws. The hotel is central to a food court and walking distance to the Yarra and over the bridge to Flinders station. We had a lovely stay and will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived to the hotel at 11am after a trip from US that lasted close to 24hrs. The front desk staff was very accommodating and able to check us in. Travelling with a young child, this was a fantastic gesture as it allowed us to rest a bit and then head out. In the following days the staff also booked a couple of tours for us, one that ended up costing more than expected. The staff (Amanda and Toby) was able to contact the tour operator and correct the overcharge.

The room was clean and reasonably equipped. At least once the cleaning staff did not replenish the toiletries, but for the most part, the room was cleaned in a reasonable fashion. The view from our room was not very impressive, but it was not a major drawback. Getting from the hotel to the main city area was no problem (basically you cross a foot bridge). There is also a shopping center near the hotel with several reasonable food options. The free bus is also within reach and close by you can take a paid tram directly to the zoo and Victoria Market.

Overall, excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel in order to visit the NGV. I was extremely impressed with this establishment, especially for the price I paid. Everything was sparkling clean, and my room included a kitchenette, large shower and a lovely view from the 9th floor. The staff were friendly and helpful and I used Skybus and their free hotel shuttle service to travel to and from the airport - $28 return. It was such a lovely area for walking around Southbank, and so close to Flinders Street Station and all of central Melbourne, with its free City Circle trams. I thoroughly recommend this establishment for its location, service and value for money and will no doubt stay here when in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Odigeo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.