We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position for a visit to the National Gallery of Victoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Laidley, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Perfect position for a visit to the National Gallery of Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent only one night at this hotel in order to visit the NGV. I was extremely impressed with this establishment, especially for the price I paid. Everything was sparkling clean, and my room included a kitchenette, large shower and a lovely view from the 9th floor. The staff were friendly and helpful and I used Skybus and their free hotel shuttle service to travel to and from the airport - $28 return. It was such a lovely area for walking around Southbank, and so close to Flinders Street Station and all of central Melbourne, with its free City Circle trams. I thoroughly recommend this establishment for its location, service and value for money and will no doubt stay here when in Melbourne again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    1,194
    328
    75
    27
See reviews for
400
994
201
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Travel Lodge southbank is in the ideal position to take advantage of what central Melbourne has to offer.
Basic clean rooms with extremely comfortable bedding ! Good basic breakfast. Helpful staff.
House keeping needs to pick up game - stayed for three nights, didn't require room cleaning after first as was having a sleep in, could hardly tell they had been in the next.
Enjoyed stay and due to the price and five star location would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed on the second level of the hotel for one night. Positives were the room was clean and the location was great. As others have said the hotel is very close to the highlights of Southbank and a short walk across the river to the CBD. I was able to get a hotel shuttle service connection from the Skybus at no additional charge. My room had a couch, table, tv and bar fridge (just as seen in photos). The bed and temperature were both comfortable. Service at the front desk was slow, but very friendly and helpful. Were able to check in when we arrived early. Staff kindly held our bags on the day of check out to allow us to tour the city.

Negatives included the sound of the whistle used by the bellhop at the neighbouring hotel which pierced right through the window (don't even think about an afternoon nap). Also, there was no shower recess (not a fan of water all over the bathroom floor). No free wifi available (a big negative in this day and age).

Curious happenstance - there was an evacuation in the early morning when the fire department was called to the eleventh floor. However, I had no idea and it did not appear the whole building was instructed to evacuate. It was only that a fellow traveller was awoken by the faint evacuation signal on the higher floor that I even became aware of the emergency situation. The fire department were already completing final checks by the time I made it to the lobby. I hope this was due to a low risk assessment of the danger and not to a failed evacuation alert system!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the travelodge with my son . We were in Melbourne to see the liverpool , victory game . The hotel is clean the rooms spacious the staff are polite and the location is excellent . Will stay again when next in town withy son .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Travelodge Southbank on a number of occasions now. It was always pretty good apart from our last visit. Lets start with the positives...excellent location, right in the heart of Southbank surrounded by top quality cafe's and restaurants. Just a short stroll over a footbridge and your in the heart of Melbourne CBD. Staff have always been great too. Now to the bad...the bathrooms are terrible! There seems to be no extraction fan in the bathroom, and this has resulted in an unacceptable level of mould build up in the showers - or they are just not getting cleaned thoroughly! The towels and linens were disgusting! Paper thin towels and gross pillow/cushion covers that look like they haven't been washes for weeks. This place really needs to step up in the housekeeping department! Such a pity - I personally wouldn't recommend to return to!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby C, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Amtra,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.

I am glad to announce that we are currently completing works to unblock all exaust fans in the hotel. Currently 4 floors of the hotel are complete and we expect to be finished in around 8 weeks. We have already seen a vast improvement in the cleanliness of the bathrooms

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Toby Colgrave | Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is strategically located near the yarra river. Various restaurants and food courts nearby. Decent room size and acceptable cleanliness. Also close to Flinder street station and about 15-20 minutes walk to city centre

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADELAIDE
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for an AFL footy weekend with a mate. The location was great for walking to the city centre, MCG, Etiad stadium and the Casino. I got a great rate for 2 separate rooms. They allow you 15 minutes free WIFI in the lobby, which is adequate to check emails etc. Normal internet rates are outrageous, as seems to be the norm with most Australian hotels. Will definitely check the hotel out for future trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.