We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hame about the staff...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
1 review
“Great location, hame about the staff...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel has a great location. It's within easy reach of a range of restaurants and bars. It's also nice and quiet. Our only gripe was the staff. One afternoon, the card reader on our door stopped working so we couldn't get into our room. Went down to the desk for help and then waited and waited... Finally someone came up let us in with a key and said that he'd go and get someone else to sort out the card reader. We waited an hour and then went down to the front desk. The initial bloke had left for the day. Complained and then someone else came up and begrudgingly helped.

We went out for the evening, came back and asked for another towel (there was only a one in the room between my wife and I). Had a lacklustre response and was told one would be brought up. Towel never materialised.

Although we would be willing to give the hotel a go again, the staff need to lift their game. Not really sure how this place is rated four star...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear SydneyAndyG,


Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. I am disappointed to read that you did not receive the service that we expect of our team and that we pride ourselves on.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I will be sharing this feedback in our upcoming team meeting and will be addressing with the relevant departments.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    957
    278
    68
    23
See reviews for
296
755
170
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great location & the price was very reasonable. The staff were friendly & helpful, the room clean & comfortable.It was a bonus to be able to park our car under the Langham Hotel (across the road) for just $12 (ask Travelodge reception about this deal). We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Roses00,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very close to many of the city sights and a pleasant walk along Southbank to find restaurants, take a boat ride along the river or shop. Close to the casino and within walking distance to the Southern Cross and Flinders stations. Our room was plenty big enough for a couple, facilities for those who want to use a microwave, ironing facilities, bar frdge. (no minibar goodies but available at reception). A few options to dine in with a delivery service from a few of the close restaurants which is really handy if you have walked all day and forgot to book a sitting at one of the restaurants along Southbank. Would stay again if we needed somewhere in that particular area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear JennyP59,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stay here at least once a year. Great place. Clean, comfy and near to everything a city trip requires. But the reception staff, whilst efficient, just don't seem to quite get it. Just a smile and a nod to those passing the reception would go such a long way and putting the icing on the cake as far as it being a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear obeethree,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I am sorry to read that you didn't receive the warm welcome and friendly service that we pride ourselves on. I will share your feedback with the team, I know they will be disappointed to read and keen to use the feedback constructively to improve!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is is a great position. It is a five minute walk to all the restaurants on Southbank and then a short stroll over the foot bridge to the rest of the CBD. My room was clean, comfortable and had a number of conveniences useful for the traveler, such as a sink, a microwave oven and a retractable clothes line. There was also a self serve laundry. The hotel was not however, luxurious or beautiful but the value was excellent. Despite the fact that the couch, cushions and artwork colours matched, the room is best described as functional. I would have given five stars because of the value but the hotel breached two of my rules- no free internet and a credit card surcharge. I would rather pay a bit more for the room if necessary as free internet these days should be a given and in fact is in many parts of the world. Nevertheless, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear oliverAustralia,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

For next time, keep in mind that as an alternative to purchasing internet in your room, we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day to keep you connected!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked a night here as we were going to a concert at Hamer Hall, which is only a short stroll away. When we arrived, check in was smooth and upon hearing it was my wifes birthday, the Manager offered her free breakfast the next day and a discounted rate for me which was readily accepted. Room size was adequate, had a restricted view of the Yarra from the 9th floor. Very clean & tidy. Bed was comfy. Breakfast the next morning was typical hotel buffet affair but was plentiful with good choice. Would recommend the hotel for anybody looking for a reasonable night in Southbank without having to pay the big bucks at the Langham.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Smithcskr,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank & hope your wife had an enjoyable birthday!

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A great hotel to stay in Melbourne. The location is excellent, just a 5 minute walk and you are in the city centre; value is spot on and the beds are nice and comfortable, perfect for recovering from jetlag!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear cameronferguson,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank and enjoyed the comfort of our brand new beds!

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.