We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne's hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
darwin
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Melbourne's hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Friend and I went to Melbourne for Anzac Day game and ended up booking here as it was close to casino. What a fantastic hidden gem! Great value. Five minute walk to casino. Plenty of restaurants close by at southbank. Rooms very clean. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast buffet ok. Will definitely stay here again on future trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear RockyDarwin ,

The Team are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    743
    225
    53
    19
See reviews for
218
598
132
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went down to Melbourne for four days and found this hotel to be in the best location for our needs, very close to transport & short walk to all the cafe's etc along Southbank.

Staff there were very helpfull & always willings to assist with our requests - Flinders St. Station is just across the river by five minutes walking & easy access to all the markets during the weekend.

Highly reccommend just walking around the streets & getting lost in the little lane ways as you get to see hidden gems & some of the best cafes you'll ever experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear GThurston,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank and that you were able to take in all that Melbourne's Southbank precinct has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Booked in for 3 days last weekend 3 to 5 May. Booked through expedia. 2 plane tickets from Gold Coast to Melbourne, 3 nights accommodation for 2 at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne for $570 - BARGAIN! I thought the hotel might have been a little on the downside considering we paid a bargain price for the plane tickets and accommodation. We arrived at about 9pm on Friday - check in wasn't an issue - 10 minutes later we were in the room. Clean, basic, 9th floor and best of all - no noise. This was one of the quietest hotels I have ever experienced. Being on the 9th floor might have helped but I didn't hear a thing each night we slept. Great location right on southbank. Just a short stroll across the pedestrian bridge, through Flinders Street Station and you are in the city. The casino was about a 5 minute walk west on the hotel, Eureka Tower was right next door too. Great bars and cafes are directly outside or if you want something cheaper - the city is like 5 minutes walk across the bridge. I worked out we spent about $50 a night on accommodation at Travelodge for 2 of us. Expedia (if you book early) is definitely the way to go if you want to book this hotel. My only gripe - the shower although hot and plenty of water, sprays water over at least half of the bathroom. highly recommend you get a higher floor (11 floors all up) if you want a 100% quiet night - I didn't even hear a door slam and the whole time we stayed there we didn't pass any other guests in the hallway on the 9th floor.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for a nice quiet night... we had the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear 62rocket,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank and that you found the property quiet & comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was with the husband on a short business trip and he chose this hotel. The location is really fantastic - near to Southgate and the Casino, and just across the river from Flinders Street Station.

The room was clean and didn't look too tired. It had a microwave oven (with some bowls, plates and cutlery)which is slightly unusual but nice to have. The shower had glass on one side and a shower curtain on the other, so the floor might get a little too wet. The toiletries were tiny!! I'm glad I brought my own. The king sized bed was firm and comfy.

We paid for internet because we wanted to be able to Skype and the speed was good.

The room did not come with breakfast but we decided to have the breakfast on the last morning. Here's a tip: If you book for breakfast the night before, it costs $15 per person. But if you choose to have breakfast in the morning, it will cost you $19. I'd say the breakfast was decent for $15. There was a selection of hot and cold items, decent coffee and tea.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear CHKL,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

With regard to your bathroom feedback, we are about to roll out a bathroom refurbishment program that will see all rooms getting shower screens, new tilling and a vanity. We are also about to release a brand new range of amenities. Something you can look forward to on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've stayed here before because of it's central location just a quick walk from the CBD and it's location in Southbank which has lots going on 24/7. The rooms are standard hotel issue with excellent beds and a very handy microwave and crockery supplied. Wi-fi is available at cost in the hotel or at the terminals in the foyer. Parking is across the street in a public car park - discounted by the hotel but check the times you use the car park. It's right next to the Eureka Tower which has the most stunning views across Melbourne - get there just before dusk - and is a must do when you're here. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They're all OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear HafodBlueMountains,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I agree, there is nothing more spectacular than the view from Euraka Tower at dusk. We are glad to be able to offer Travelodge Guests 10% off admission to Eureka Tower!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I plan my 1 week trip in Melbourne with initial stay in this hotel. I wrote to them to ask for the quote such as room rate, breakfast, airport pick up and earlier check in.

They replied my email to ask about the date of check in and check out. After this, no more reply from this hotel been received thereafter.

I feel very disappointed about the customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katanning, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Took 29 travellers from Katanning, W.A, to Melbourne for 4 days, for the Anzac Day AFL game, shopping, sight-seeing. For friendly service, value for money and location for central Melbourne the Travelodge Southbank, is very hard to beat. Breakfast was very good value for money, with a wide selection food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear AndrewKatanning,

We are so glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed your recent stay with us at Travelodge Southbank.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.