We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to city and entertainment venues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Bidwill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location close to city and entertainment venues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good value for money when you consider the great location. They could do with a few more washing machine. Internet prices were expensive. Beds were comfy and the rooms were Large and clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Warbs,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

With regard to our internet pricing, something to keep in mind next time, we do offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby for 15 minutes per device per day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    1,324
    351
    79
    29
See reviews for
453
1,107
223
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

my husband and i stayed in melbourne for 2 nights recently and chose to stay at the travelodge. value for money and location was what we were looking for when we booked this hotel. The travelodge has everything you need. friendly, efficient staff, clean and tidy rooms all within a walking distance of southbank, melbourne city, shopping, the rod laver arena and the aquarium.....i would certainly stay there again and highly recommend it to friends. there was even an ice machine available to use on the ground floor and tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear JIMMY_went_there,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed one night at the Travelodge and were very pleased with our experience. It was lovely and close to Southbank which was great. We were pleased to have a kettle and a sink and a fridge in the room as well. The only downside was the bathroom. The unit had a crack in it and it's been a long time since I stayed in a room with a shower curtain. So I avoided using the shower. The staff were very helpful and we left our luggage in the store room whilst we did some sightseeing. I would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear xangrace,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom. As part of our continual improvement program, we are currently working on a bathroom upgrade program. Once completed, all rooms will have new tiles, shower screen and bathroom vanity.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Arriving early were given an immediate check in. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is perfect, less than 5 minutes walk to Flinders Street. The Casino and DFO a short walk along the riverbank. Lots of restaurants and a Food Court are just a few minutes away. The Skybus drops off and picks up at this hotel. The room was a good size with a King Bed, sofa, coffee table, table and 2 chairs. There is a small kitchenette with a microwave, great for heating food but not really set up for cooking. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and I would definitely stay here again as it was such good value and close to all transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear lori_rose,

The Team are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For location, price & standard of accommodation this really does take some beating! Compared to another TL in Sydney this is streets ahead in comfort & all round presentation we have now stayed here three times whilst visiting Melbourne & would recommend it to any visitor. Easy walking to Fed square & right by the Yarra for great range of eating & bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Peter F,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback & for your glowing review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Travelodge Southbank for 4 nights with my family.
The rooms are comfortable.
They also have a kitchenette, microwave oven and utensils, so it's easy to prepare our own meals if we feel like it.
The hotel has a coin operated laundry which is ideal for us light travelers.
There is also a seven eleven around the corner.
Flinders Street Station is just 15 minutes away on foot and I enjoyed the walk across the footbridge going to the station or to the shopping area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Bidok,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent two nights at the Travelodge. I found the room well maintained, comfortable and quiet. Furnishings are not elaborate but they are comfortable - especially the bed.
The daily rate. given that the hotel is excellently located to public transport, a host of excellent restaurants and a short walk across the Yarra river to Melbourne CBD, makes it a very favorable choice. Taxis are available 24 hours at the front door to the hotel - especially helpful if you have an early morning departure flight
I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to experience the breakfasts due to other commitments.

A big thanks to the staff for a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: This hotel puts you in the right place, gives affordable accommodation of a good standard so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Masendekat,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.