We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Southbank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Poole
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Value for Southbank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed one night at the Travelodge and were very pleased with our experience. It was lovely and close to Southbank which was great. We were pleased to have a kettle and a sink and a fridge in the room as well. The only downside was the bathroom. The unit had a crack in it and it's been a long time since I stayed in a room with a shower curtain. So I avoided using the shower. The staff were very helpful and we left our luggage in the store room whilst we did some sightseeing. I would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear xangrace,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you for your comments regarding the bathroom. As part of our continual improvement program, we are currently working on a bathroom upgrade program. Once completed, all rooms will have new tiles, shower screen and bathroom vanity.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    804
    235
    55
    20
See reviews for
234
630
142
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Arriving early were given an immediate check in. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is perfect, less than 5 minutes walk to Flinders Street. The Casino and DFO a short walk along the riverbank. Lots of restaurants and a Food Court are just a few minutes away. The Skybus drops off and picks up at this hotel. The room was a good size with a King Bed, sofa, coffee table, table and 2 chairs. There is a small kitchenette with a microwave, great for heating food but not really set up for cooking. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable and I would definitely stay here again as it was such good value and close to all transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear lori_rose,

The Team are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For location, price & standard of accommodation this really does take some beating! Compared to another TL in Sydney this is streets ahead in comfort & all round presentation we have now stayed here three times whilst visiting Melbourne & would recommend it to any visitor. Easy walking to Fed square & right by the Yarra for great range of eating & bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Peter F,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback & for your glowing review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Travelodge Southbank for 4 nights with my family.
The rooms are comfortable.
They also have a kitchenette, microwave oven and utensils, so it's easy to prepare our own meals if we feel like it.
The hotel has a coin operated laundry which is ideal for us light travelers.
There is also a seven eleven around the corner.
Flinders Street Station is just 15 minutes away on foot and I enjoyed the walk across the footbridge going to the station or to the shopping area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Bidok,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent two nights at the Travelodge. I found the room well maintained, comfortable and quiet. Furnishings are not elaborate but they are comfortable - especially the bed.
The daily rate. given that the hotel is excellently located to public transport, a host of excellent restaurants and a short walk across the Yarra river to Melbourne CBD, makes it a very favorable choice. Taxis are available 24 hours at the front door to the hotel - especially helpful if you have an early morning departure flight
I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to experience the breakfasts due to other commitments.

A big thanks to the staff for a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: This hotel puts you in the right place, gives affordable accommodation of a good standard so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Masendekat,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We returned to Travelodge Southbank tailing up a 3 week southern break. As noted by most this location is superb given the walking distance to the CBD, MCG, Restaurants and the Casino. This trip made me aware that the Queen beds are more comfortable than many we experienced so a good nights sleep is on the cards.

I did however feel customer service is declining as opposed to our stays last year. A couple of problems, reception coded our room swipes incorrectly meaning we were locked out of our room on the final day of our stay, our room service lady was unable to understand Yes fresh towels please.

The cleanliness also appears to have slipped a notch as our bathroom was not as clean as previous stays and looking a little mouldy and tired, the hallway on level 6 often had small rubbish on the carpet during the day and cleaning staff seemed comfortable leaving their trusty vacuum cleaner in various positions along the hall most days.

I hope these are only temporary glitches, will be interesting to see if things have changes if we stay when back in beautiful Melbourne in August.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Craig W,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I am sorry to read that oure housekeeping has let us down on this occasion. From what you have written, it appears your experience was not up to the standard that we expect. I have addressed your concerns with the Executive Housekeeper to improve our overall guest experience.

I strongly encourage you to contact me directly at the hotel when you next plan to visit Melbourne so that I can ensure you are well looked after when you come back in August.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.



Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our 8 year anniversary. We have previously stayed at other Travelodge Hotels and have always found our stays very good. We went out for dinner and returned at about 11pm. At about 5am, we awoke to a bright flashing light above the bed. Realizing it was the fire alarm, we contacted reception to be told that it flashed to show the fire alarm was still working. My husband informed the person at reception that it was not flashing this bright or this long before we went to sleep so the person at reception said he would check it out. Calling back about 2 minutes later, we were told everything was fine and they could come and tape over it if it was really annoying us. We declined and tried to go back to sleep but the flashing was getting brighter and more often. I rang down to reception to be told there was nothing wrong and it was always flashing, to which I suggested that we would have noticed it before going to bed and I can get woken up at 6am at home. We were informed someone would come and look at it. When the person came, he informed us that the battery was probably running low and would log it with Maintenance to be fixed and we could switch rooms if we were staying another night, which we weren't. Poor customer service number 1.
Poor customer service number 2 is I sent an email, informing Travelodge of what had happened the following night. I have allowed nearly 10 days pass to which I have received no response to my email, which states someone will be in contact within 48 hours. I do realize it is difficult to respond to complaints but to receive nothing at all is very poor customer service. I also understand that the battery going flat isn't really the person on reception's fault but being dismissive and unhelpful and then not receiving any feedback back from Travelodge customer service really turned us off going back to and recommending Travelodge to others.
The room itself was clean but the water pressure in the shower was extremely low, it was not strong enough to wash out my hair in the morning. Once again, it was a great location, very close to the Crown Complex but I would rather spend my money else were if I'm going to be treated like that. It very much put a cloud over what was suppose to be fun night out without children.

Room Tip: Check the water pressure in the shower and the batteries in the fire alarm before unpacking :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear JandKQLD,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

Unfortunately I have not recieved the email you refer to in your comments. I have checked at the hotel, with our head office and with our guest feedback survey supplier and we were unable to locate any correspondence from you. Unfortunately I am not able to identify you or your booking to be able to locate your contact details.

I would like an opportunity to review your feedback and discuss this with you. I invite you to contact me directly at the hotel. I would be delighted to chat with you.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.