We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our Melbourne visit and found it to be very clean with friendly staff and in such a fantastic location within 3 minutes walking distance to Crown Casino. The only niggle was that the room air conditioning is quite noisy if the is fan on and both myself and my partner woke at different times throughout the night because of this. Overall a great budget hotel and would definitely stay again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sam B,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thanks for your feedback regarding the air conditioning. I trust that once reported, this was rectified for you? If you didn't get a chance to let us know while you were here, it would be great if you could get in touch with me to let me know which room you occupied so I can get this looked at ASAP.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    1,368
    361
    82
    29
See reviews for
468
1,147
231
485
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel very late at night after a long flight from Hong Kong and were immediately very comfortable with the appearance, condition and location of the hotel. Stayed two nights and had two good night's sleep!
The hotel is very close to the main shopping area in CBD and so convenient for the lively night time riverside restaurants and bars. Nice safe and secure feeling when walking along the riverside at night.
Very helpful and obliging staff.
Pre-booked from the UK at £141 GBP for two nights.
Arrived by taxi from the Airport (which was $68 AUD), but departed by budget reasonable Skybus, which was very convenient and good, but you need to pre-book your collection.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear The_Whites_208,

The Team are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in febuary 2013. Medium sized room well furnished, clean, bathroom renovated. The hotel is very well located one block from the Charles river. 15 minute walk to everything worth seing. For 125$ canadian/per night. You can't go wrong

Room Tip: Higher floors must have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Cocotte19,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have previously reviewed this hotel noting the excellent location but on my recent stay I had a car and if you ask for the Hotel to validate your parking card the car park by the Langham Hotel ( very short walk) is only $12.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear golfingkiwi,

I am glad you were able to take advantage of the great parking deal at the very convenient Southgate car park, just opposite the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the hotel is close to the CBD, walking distance to Flinders St, Crown and everything else you need. needless to say so close to the beautiful southbank promenade where i found nice restaurants and cafes. the room we had was clean and comfortable. I would suggest new air conditioning system because the one we had was making some funny noises not sure whether it was turned on. the front staff were nice - kept our luggages when we arrived really early in the morning before checking in. would have been even nicer if they could be a bit friendlier a smile or two would have been perfect. would definitely recommend my friends to use this hotel.

Room Tip: dont pick rooms close to the guest laundry room level 3 or 8 i didnt experience the noise but i m su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Nicole_Hoihoi,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I appreciate your cooments regarding the service at reception. I have shared this with the Front Office Team to highlight the importance of a smile, something that our team I know are committed to delivering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandurah western australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days. We arrived at 6:30 in the morning & unfortunately our room wasn't going to be ready until 2:00pm, so we had a wander around Melbourne for 7 hrs. That was ok, but we were pretty tired by the time we got into our room. Next time I will book an extra day, it was my bad.
The young guy at the counter was pleasant enough, but when we asked if he thought our room may be ready a bit earlier, he just said that it was a 2pm guarantee & he wasn't forthcoming with any other information. The other staff members were very friendly.
Now the room: it was adequate for our needs. The bed was firm but comfortable & the air-con worked well. It was made up every day.
The microwave didn't work very well & I forgot to let them know as I only used it once anyway. The shower needs a barrier in the cubicle so the water doesn't get everywhere. The towels were clean, but not very fluffy. It was value for money at $106 a night.

The location was brilliant, so close to everywhere. We walked our feet off every day. There are eateries all over the place. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive at $19 pp, when you could get a fully cooked breakfast at a cafe down the road for $10.
Overall the stay was a good one. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was I found a dried up chip under the bed when I looked under there to get my shoes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Rockinmama,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you for your feedback regarding houskeeping, I have passed this onto our Housekeeping department. I would appreciate if you could get in touch and let me know which room you occupied so that I can ge the microwave looked at.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel provided us with a perfectly located base for a week's first visit to Melbourne. Our room was a good size with convenient kitchenette and was comfortable and well serviced. The breakfast buffet was good with a varied menu and the cooked breakfast sufficiently hot. We like to walk rather than ride through a city new to us and Southbank was about as well located as it is possible to be in modern Melbourne. Public transport in the city is better than in most and again we were well-sited for easy access to most destinations. The hotel has few frills but provided what we were looking for to a good standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear PeterC176,

The Team are elated to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and were able to take in all that Melbourne & the Southbank precinct have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#48 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,897 reviews
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#62 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.