We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Car parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have previously reviewed this hotel noting the excellent location but on my recent stay I had a car and if you ask for the Hotel to validate your parking card the car park by the Langham Hotel ( very short walk) is only $12.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear golfingkiwi,

I am glad you were able to take advantage of the great parking deal at the very convenient Southgate car park, just opposite the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    1,324
    351
    79
    29
See reviews for
453
1,107
223
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

the hotel is close to the CBD, walking distance to Flinders St, Crown and everything else you need. needless to say so close to the beautiful southbank promenade where i found nice restaurants and cafes. the room we had was clean and comfortable. I would suggest new air conditioning system because the one we had was making some funny noises not sure whether it was turned on. the front staff were nice - kept our luggages when we arrived really early in the morning before checking in. would have been even nicer if they could be a bit friendlier a smile or two would have been perfect. would definitely recommend my friends to use this hotel.

Room Tip: dont pick rooms close to the guest laundry room level 3 or 8 i didnt experience the noise but i m su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Nicole_Hoihoi,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I appreciate your cooments regarding the service at reception. I have shared this with the Front Office Team to highlight the importance of a smile, something that our team I know are committed to delivering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandurah western australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days. We arrived at 6:30 in the morning & unfortunately our room wasn't going to be ready until 2:00pm, so we had a wander around Melbourne for 7 hrs. That was ok, but we were pretty tired by the time we got into our room. Next time I will book an extra day, it was my bad.
The young guy at the counter was pleasant enough, but when we asked if he thought our room may be ready a bit earlier, he just said that it was a 2pm guarantee & he wasn't forthcoming with any other information. The other staff members were very friendly.
Now the room: it was adequate for our needs. The bed was firm but comfortable & the air-con worked well. It was made up every day.
The microwave didn't work very well & I forgot to let them know as I only used it once anyway. The shower needs a barrier in the cubicle so the water doesn't get everywhere. The towels were clean, but not very fluffy. It was value for money at $106 a night.

The location was brilliant, so close to everywhere. We walked our feet off every day. There are eateries all over the place. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive at $19 pp, when you could get a fully cooked breakfast at a cafe down the road for $10.
Overall the stay was a good one. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was I found a dried up chip under the bed when I looked under there to get my shoes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Rockinmama,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you for your feedback regarding houskeeping, I have passed this onto our Housekeeping department. I would appreciate if you could get in touch and let me know which room you occupied so that I can ge the microwave looked at.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel provided us with a perfectly located base for a week's first visit to Melbourne. Our room was a good size with convenient kitchenette and was comfortable and well serviced. The breakfast buffet was good with a varied menu and the cooked breakfast sufficiently hot. We like to walk rather than ride through a city new to us and Southbank was about as well located as it is possible to be in modern Melbourne. Public transport in the city is better than in most and again we were well-sited for easy access to most destinations. The hotel has few frills but provided what we were looking for to a good standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear PeterC176,

The Team are elated to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and were able to take in all that Melbourne & the Southbank precinct have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Regular visitor to Melbourne but my first stay south of the river. Will definitely stay again. Able to comfortably walk to MCG and Etihad for the footy. Tram is available across the river and one of the restaurants offers an eat and ferry service. Close to plenty of restaurants and bars. Great night life. Standard room amenities and prompt service. My only gripe would be the passage way which needed a vacuum.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Stretched61,

The Team are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the corridors to our Housekeeping department to improve our overall guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location was near the Yarra river front, where there are a lot of restaurants and bars. It is around 5 minutes walk from Flinders station across the river, so transportation is very accessible and you are near several points of interests. There is no free internet, but there is free internet in some of the malls and bars nearby. There's a food court in the nearby Southgate mall (where there is free internet). The room is clean, decorated in warm orange-y tones. The rooms are ensuite, have a flat screen TV and a microwave/small sink facilities. We didn't cook but the microwave was useful. There are also coin-operated laundry facilities on another floor. We took the Skybus (http://skybus.com.au/) to and from the airport (booked online to save some $ for the family rate).

We stayed Easter weekend and they only had "green cleaning" services during that weekend, which meant no extensive cleaning of rooms. I found that a bit weird for a hotel to be short staffed on a holiday weekend, but we weren't very messy anyway so I had no complaints.

Anyway we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear skyelark,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

For future stays, we do offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day. SImply connect ot the lobby network, enter your room details and you will be connect for free.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here while in Melbourne for a conference - the hotel had an arrangement with the conference organisers. It was mid-range price, but was disappointed with the quality and the service. I would rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere better. Great location on Southbank. Basic breakfast options and very basic service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear bubble24,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. I am sorry to read that your experience was not to the standard you were expecting.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I would like to address your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience and I welcome you to contact me to discuss your experience in more detail.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#46 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#41 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travelodge
Melbourne Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.