We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
mandurah western australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days. We arrived at 6:30 in the morning & unfortunately our room wasn't going to be ready until 2:00pm, so we had a wander around Melbourne for 7 hrs. That was ok, but we were pretty tired by the time we got into our room. Next time I will book an extra day, it was my bad.
The young guy at the counter was pleasant enough, but when we asked if he thought our room may be ready a bit earlier, he just said that it was a 2pm guarantee & he wasn't forthcoming with any other information. The other staff members were very friendly.
Now the room: it was adequate for our needs. The bed was firm but comfortable & the air-con worked well. It was made up every day.
The microwave didn't work very well & I forgot to let them know as I only used it once anyway. The shower needs a barrier in the cubicle so the water doesn't get everywhere. The towels were clean, but not very fluffy. It was value for money at $106 a night.

The location was brilliant, so close to everywhere. We walked our feet off every day. There are eateries all over the place. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive at $19 pp, when you could get a fully cooked breakfast at a cafe down the road for $10.
Overall the stay was a good one. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was I found a dried up chip under the bed when I looked under there to get my shoes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Rockinmama,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Thank you for your feedback regarding houskeeping, I have passed this onto our Housekeeping department. I would appreciate if you could get in touch and let me know which room you occupied so that I can ge the microwave looked at.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    800
    233
    55
    20
See reviews for
231
629
141
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel provided us with a perfectly located base for a week's first visit to Melbourne. Our room was a good size with convenient kitchenette and was comfortable and well serviced. The breakfast buffet was good with a varied menu and the cooked breakfast sufficiently hot. We like to walk rather than ride through a city new to us and Southbank was about as well located as it is possible to be in modern Melbourne. Public transport in the city is better than in most and again we were well-sited for easy access to most destinations. The hotel has few frills but provided what we were looking for to a good standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear PeterC176,

The Team are elated to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our location and were able to take in all that Melbourne & the Southbank precinct have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Regular visitor to Melbourne but my first stay south of the river. Will definitely stay again. Able to comfortably walk to MCG and Etihad for the footy. Tram is available across the river and one of the restaurants offers an eat and ferry service. Close to plenty of restaurants and bars. Great night life. Standard room amenities and prompt service. My only gripe would be the passage way which needed a vacuum.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Stretched61,

The Team are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

I have passed on your feedback regarding the corridors to our Housekeeping department to improve our overall guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location was near the Yarra river front, where there are a lot of restaurants and bars. It is around 5 minutes walk from Flinders station across the river, so transportation is very accessible and you are near several points of interests. There is no free internet, but there is free internet in some of the malls and bars nearby. There's a food court in the nearby Southgate mall (where there is free internet). The room is clean, decorated in warm orange-y tones. The rooms are ensuite, have a flat screen TV and a microwave/small sink facilities. We didn't cook but the microwave was useful. There are also coin-operated laundry facilities on another floor. We took the Skybus (http://skybus.com.au/) to and from the airport (booked online to save some $ for the family rate).

We stayed Easter weekend and they only had "green cleaning" services during that weekend, which meant no extensive cleaning of rooms. I found that a bit weird for a hotel to be short staffed on a holiday weekend, but we weren't very messy anyway so I had no complaints.

Anyway we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear skyelark,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

For future stays, we do offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day. SImply connect ot the lobby network, enter your room details and you will be connect for free.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here while in Melbourne for a conference - the hotel had an arrangement with the conference organisers. It was mid-range price, but was disappointed with the quality and the service. I would rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere better. Great location on Southbank. Basic breakfast options and very basic service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear bubble24,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. I am sorry to read that your experience was not to the standard you were expecting.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I would like to address your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience and I welcome you to contact me to discuss your experience in more detail.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to stay at Travelodges frequently a few years ago, if this property is any guide of their current standards,I will not be back their again. A so called 4 star property, with very average and stale rooms, cleaning had been marginal prior to our occupancy. Copped a room next to the lift well, that happens someone has to get them, and we did gat a good rate for a twin room. Thankfully, the noise of the in room air conditioner, and the crickets or whatever other insects they were drained out any noise from the lifts. We really thought we were In a cabin with a tin roof during a rainstorm, such was the noise. 4 star, but no mini bar, you can get supplies from reception if needed, no in house bar or restaurant for evening meals, admittedly the area is well serviced, but it is supposed to be 4 star. Beds, reminded me of the Fitzroy River Inn at the end of the dry season, hard lumpy and not particularly comfortable.

Would like to have given it two and a half due to the evening front desk staff on Sunday evening. As it stands, one and a half is location and a half is the evening staff

Check in was well handled, if a bit slow. On the Sunday morning, after a discussion with reception staff we realised that we had used the wrong car park, and it was suggested that if we changed, we would save a fair bit. They could "validate" our parking ticket, which should save us a bit. We did this, and finished up paying $26.50 instead of $16. We were advised by evening desk staff that weekend tickets should not be validated as it finishes up costing more!!!!. The night manager promised to advise the morning staff of the situation and they would be abe to work out a solution. This was a good positive effort by the night staff.

Shame the morning staff did not have the same customer focus, apart from the very enticing gum chewing receptionist, the remainder showed little interest. "Will get the manager to come out and see you", "How long will that take?" They are all in a meeting at the moment" This is 9:00 in the morning. Management not available during peak checkout time? Why would I doubt that? 15 minutes later, with little evidence that the receptionists concerned had done anything other than move onto the next patient customer, we decided that our time was worth much more than a lousy $10!!!

Room Tip: Langham over the road would be much better value for money!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear POOWS,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. I am sorry to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Travelodge has always had such a great reputation but it seems they have put budget before customers and customer service. On arrival at the check in desk we were greeted by a young lad who, whilst polite and friendly, needed to go out the back and iron his very creased shirt. There was no offer to assist with our baggage and I struggled with baggage for 2 people while my husband drove the car to the offsite parking station. Our room was old, tired and had been stripped bare. There was nothing if the "finer" things we have come to expect from a 4 star hotel, the towels were small and needed to be thrown out, not even a jug of water in the fridge or a hotel compendium in the room. With all honesty, there was nothing about this place that could tempt us back a second time. Such a shame really because this is the ideal location for anyone wanting to stay in central Melbourne.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Debbie H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.