We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, okay facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Manila
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location, okay facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location was near the Yarra river front, where there are a lot of restaurants and bars. It is around 5 minutes walk from Flinders station across the river, so transportation is very accessible and you are near several points of interests. There is no free internet, but there is free internet in some of the malls and bars nearby. There's a food court in the nearby Southgate mall (where there is free internet). The room is clean, decorated in warm orange-y tones. The rooms are ensuite, have a flat screen TV and a microwave/small sink facilities. We didn't cook but the microwave was useful. There are also coin-operated laundry facilities on another floor. We took the Skybus (http://skybus.com.au/) to and from the airport (booked online to save some $ for the family rate).

We stayed Easter weekend and they only had "green cleaning" services during that weekend, which meant no extensive cleaning of rooms. I found that a bit weird for a hotel to be short staffed on a holiday weekend, but we weren't very messy anyway so I had no complaints.

Anyway we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear skyelark,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

For future stays, we do offer complimentary WiFi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day. SImply connect ot the lobby network, enter your room details and you will be connect for free.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    808
    239
    57
    20
See reviews for
237
636
145
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here while in Melbourne for a conference - the hotel had an arrangement with the conference organisers. It was mid-range price, but was disappointed with the quality and the service. I would rather pay a bit more and stay somewhere better. Great location on Southbank. Basic breakfast options and very basic service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear bubble24,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. I am sorry to read that your experience was not to the standard you were expecting.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I would like to address your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience and I welcome you to contact me to discuss your experience in more detail.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I used to stay at Travelodges frequently a few years ago, if this property is any guide of their current standards,I will not be back their again. A so called 4 star property, with very average and stale rooms, cleaning had been marginal prior to our occupancy. Copped a room next to the lift well, that happens someone has to get them, and we did gat a good rate for a twin room. Thankfully, the noise of the in room air conditioner, and the crickets or whatever other insects they were drained out any noise from the lifts. We really thought we were In a cabin with a tin roof during a rainstorm, such was the noise. 4 star, but no mini bar, you can get supplies from reception if needed, no in house bar or restaurant for evening meals, admittedly the area is well serviced, but it is supposed to be 4 star. Beds, reminded me of the Fitzroy River Inn at the end of the dry season, hard lumpy and not particularly comfortable.

Would like to have given it two and a half due to the evening front desk staff on Sunday evening. As it stands, one and a half is location and a half is the evening staff

Check in was well handled, if a bit slow. On the Sunday morning, after a discussion with reception staff we realised that we had used the wrong car park, and it was suggested that if we changed, we would save a fair bit. They could "validate" our parking ticket, which should save us a bit. We did this, and finished up paying $26.50 instead of $16. We were advised by evening desk staff that weekend tickets should not be validated as it finishes up costing more!!!!. The night manager promised to advise the morning staff of the situation and they would be abe to work out a solution. This was a good positive effort by the night staff.

Shame the morning staff did not have the same customer focus, apart from the very enticing gum chewing receptionist, the remainder showed little interest. "Will get the manager to come out and see you", "How long will that take?" They are all in a meeting at the moment" This is 9:00 in the morning. Management not available during peak checkout time? Why would I doubt that? 15 minutes later, with little evidence that the receptionists concerned had done anything other than move onto the next patient customer, we decided that our time was worth much more than a lousy $10!!!

Room Tip: Langham over the road would be much better value for money!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear POOWS,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. I am sorry to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Travelodge has always had such a great reputation but it seems they have put budget before customers and customer service. On arrival at the check in desk we were greeted by a young lad who, whilst polite and friendly, needed to go out the back and iron his very creased shirt. There was no offer to assist with our baggage and I struggled with baggage for 2 people while my husband drove the car to the offsite parking station. Our room was old, tired and had been stripped bare. There was nothing if the "finer" things we have come to expect from a 4 star hotel, the towels were small and needed to be thrown out, not even a jug of water in the fridge or a hotel compendium in the room. With all honesty, there was nothing about this place that could tempt us back a second time. Such a shame really because this is the ideal location for anyone wanting to stay in central Melbourne.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Debbie H,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments. I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, twin share with my sister. The first night beds were hard and uncomfortable, so we were moved to another room with newer mattresses. Much better, although the pillows are very ordinary. It had been some years since I had spent a night at a hotel and found the beds were uncomfortable.
My main complaint is that there are no windows to open -" safety you know!" We found the air - conditioning loud, noisy and minimally adjustable - very old style air- conditioners, which caused nose bleeds due to dry air. Even with the air-con adjusted to the coldest setting, it was still hot in the room and stifling.
Will I stay at a Travelodge again? Probably not, they have really down scaled over the years and now are very ordinary and bland. Staff were helpful when approached.
As to the issue of safety and open windows - just make them so they cant open too far - simple really.

Room Tip: Ask if the beds are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Zillagorilla,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your comments.

I am surprised to read that you found your bed uncomfortable as we have just completed a full bedding upgrade throughout the hotel. We have just had brand new beds, doonas and pillows installed in every room throughout the property. This project was completed in mid-March 2013. The feedback I have received about the new bedding has been overwhelmingly positive, I am sorry you did not have the same experience.

I was sorry to read your comments regarding the Air Conditioning. Every room at Travelodge Southbank is fitted with individually controlled adjustable air conditioning units that allow our guests to adjust the settings to their comfort. We are constantly updating this important equipment and have recently replaced 70 complete units. I trust that once we were made aware of the issues you experienced, the Travelodge Team were able to resolve the problems for you.

As you identified, the hotel was designed so that windows cannot be opened. This is the case for a number of reasons, one of which you identified correctly as the safety of our guests and the general public. You will find that this is common place in most high-rise CBD hotels.

I would welcome an opportunity discuss this in more detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager




If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballan
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Second stay here and still the same great service from the staff. Room was clean and tidy and the buffet was good (it was better last time though I must admit). For $104 for the night, I am not complaining. It was somewhere to lay our head after seeing a concert at Myer Music Bowl.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Beckinoz,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

With regard to your dining experience, I would invite you to contact me directly at the hotel to share your feedback. I welcome any opportunity to discuss your feedback and identify areas where we can improve our offering & service

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great price, great location and great value for money!

Limited customer service though, but again overall a Great hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Flinders station, crown, federation square are all walking distance.

It has clean rooms , but the bathrooms may need done renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Christo2,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

With regard to your comments about the bathrooms. We have a bathroom uprage scheduled that we hope to commence very soon that will include new tiles, vanity and shower screen for all rooms. I look forward to sharing more news on this shortly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.