We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ideal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived on an early flight via Skybus(excellent service to the door) expecting to leave our luggage but this was no problem as we were given room access immediately by most helpful front -of-deskstaff. I deal and reasonably-priced location for Southbank restaurants,shows, tennis and shopping. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: hotel located in a quiet culdesac
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Johnstone8052,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    954
    277
    68
    23
See reviews for
293
752
170
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Rooms are mostly clean but small and basic. Cheap furniture abounds. Otherwise comfortable and if you are after nothing more than a place to sleep then this suits admirably. Close to Southbank restaurants and only a short and pleasant stroll from city centre and Skybus terminus (the best way to get from the airport). Leave plenty of time if you want to enter or exit the hotel as there are only two lifts and you can wait for ages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Tomandben,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your comments. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort and location of Travelodge Southbank.

I am sorry that you experienced some difficulty with the lifts, other than at peak times when the hotel is at full capacity, there should not be any significant delays in accessing the lifts.

Thanks again for your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights,arrived early at 8am but did not get into room until 2pm.Room was on 14th floor,good size,well equipped and clean.
Staff were very efficient and helpful.
The hotel is in a perfect location and it is easy to get out and about all over melbourne.All in all a great find for a good price.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear jemLiverpool,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great location - handy to the city centre (behind Flinders Street Station) albeit with the Yarra River between. Easy walk to the Casino and the Restaurant Tram stop. Next door to the Eureka Tower. Quiet location due to the fact that the Yarra River separates the Travelodge Southbank and the city centre. Walk to the MCG and museums. I believe that they now offer free WiFi in all Travelodges which would make the hotel ideal. Rooms are well appointed and clean. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are well placed within the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jenny308 ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotels location and the team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels again sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

A great location good value for money polite staff. Clean rooms with all you need. Close to melbournes attractions. Close to conference venues taxi rank across the street.
Near crown casino best value in southbank

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear WaGem80,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive comments. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, comfortable, clean and relatively inexpensive. Within walking distance to Federation Square and several museums. Close to Royal Botanic Gardens. Close to free visitor tour bus stops. Close to Yara River and Southbank. Really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Zelda68,

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave you positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet area on the Southbank, about 3 minutes walking distance from Flinders station. Plenty of food choices around. Rooms are descent and the staff is friendly.
The location is right at the edge of CBD so it is super easy to come back to rest or change at the hotel in the middle of the day.
If you want free internet, just walk out towards the river and catch free Wi-Fi from Southgate shopping center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear AlikK,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

A tip for next time - we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day per device.

Thanks again for your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.