We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

A great location good value for money polite staff. Clean rooms with all you need. Close to melbournes attractions. Close to conference venues taxi rank across the street.
Near crown casino best value in southbank

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear WaGem80,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive comments. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    954
    277
    68
    23
See reviews for
293
752
170
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location, comfortable, clean and relatively inexpensive. Within walking distance to Federation Square and several museums. Close to Royal Botanic Gardens. Close to free visitor tour bus stops. Close to Yara River and Southbank. Really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Zelda68,

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave you positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels soon.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet area on the Southbank, about 3 minutes walking distance from Flinders station. Plenty of food choices around. Rooms are descent and the staff is friendly.
The location is right at the edge of CBD so it is super easy to come back to rest or change at the hotel in the middle of the day.
If you want free internet, just walk out towards the river and catch free Wi-Fi from Southgate shopping center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear AlikK,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thanks for taking the time to leave your positive comments.

A tip for next time - we offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby for 15 minutes per day per device.

Thanks again for your comments & we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great location, right on the riverfront where it is plenty of action. The staff and hotel manager are great. Someone came into our room during the middle of the night (because we didn't close the door properly), and the manager was right onto the case to check why this has happened. They had some problems with one of the elevators during our stay, and because of this they said that everyone that wanted could delay their checkout the next day because of the problems. We paid approx $150 for a room during summer holiday and Australia Open.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear eriso82,

The team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the Australian Open.

The hotel is superbly located for the tennis and a great base when visiting Rod Laver Arena and the Olympic Park precinct.

It was fantastic to read that the Manager on Duty was responsive to your concerns and we were able to identify the issue with the door quickly.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. The travelodge is in an excellent location, so close to everything. It is a basic motel, but very clean, service was good. Depends on what you are after, the money we saved by staying here as opposed to paying for other expensive motels nearby was well spent at nearby restaurants, entertainment etc. Would definitely stay here again, inexpensive considering the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Elrem62,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Only stayed for a weekend but done the job. Nothing fancy, but visiting Melbourne for the tennis made it perfect.

Clean simple rooms. Freindly helpful service and a decent cheap buffet breakfast. Would have been nice to have a pool or gym, but i suppose thats how they keep costs down.

Would be happy to stay again as it is about half the price of some of the bigger hotel names that have similar rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear szkut,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adealide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here while visiting for the Australian Open and we loved it! The location is AWSOME and the hotel was fine. Couldnt really pick any faults with it. Clean, tidy and confortable. Would defenitely stay there again! Why pay more, if you dont have to?!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear CrisAdealide,

The Team at Travelodge Southbank are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay . Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken | Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.