We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“travelodge southbank melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“travelodge southbank melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Did not know what this place was going to be like and was based purely on comments from a workmate who had stayed there. It turned out to be a very good choice , the rooms although not huge where adequate and very clean , the check in at arrival was extremely welcoming and very efficient by the staff who manned the front desk. The most surprising and pleasing aspect was how quiet the room and adjoining rooms were, and in general the whole building. It is very well located for all types of sight seeing and things to do ,the N.V.G is just around the corner Melbourne CBD is only a ten minute walk away via the river walk and there is always something happening whether it is buskers or entertaining people(particularly one very bad magician) performing in the Southbank area plus if you want to lose all of your money the Crown casino is only five minutes away.
We had breakfast here at a very reasonable cost this consisted of a buffet with just about everything you could want very nice .
I will stay here again and am doing so early next year this would have to be one of the nicest (and value for money accommodation) I have stayed in when I visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear stephen b,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    844
    248
    58
    20
See reviews for
252
665
151
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Clean the bathroom it was filthy, Sign on the wall says to protect the enviroment we do not use chemicals. Well no need to be a rocket scientist to see that it was filthy, sleep quality crap pillow was about 10 years old. Checked in late receptionist was rude (don't like your job move on) breakfast crap dont stay here!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A check on Virgin for a "holiday" package for an overnight business trip to Melbourne came up with the flights and accommodation at the Travelodge Southbank (including breakfast).

Travelodge? I was skeptical. Well, as it turned out I was pleasantly surprised!

Located on Southbank the walk to the City was a very pleasant 10 minutes over a foot-brige that took me to Flinders Street Railway Station. Getting there was just as easy. I had taken the Skybus from the Airport to Spencer Street Rail Station then a good 20 minute walk to the hotel itself. On the first morning I dropped my bags at reception for storage as it was 8am and check in wasn't until 2pm. Reception staff were pleasant and more than happy to store my baggage.

Check in later that day was easy and staff again were pleasant. The room itself was a surprise. I was expecting a run-down room and the opposite was the case. The room was sparkling clean, no mould or mildew in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Everything in the room was perfect for my overnight stay. (two very, very minor points - the shower curtain was useless and the bathroom floor quickly became flooded and the complimentary shampoo/conditioner were very tiny - fortunately there were two sets of both shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom so this turned out not to be an issue).

I found the breakfast the next morning to be a good hearty Australian style buffet breakfast (toast, coffee, bacon, eggs, sausages, fruit etc). The food was plentiful and tasty. The staff were overly efficient and cleared my full coffee mug away when I went to make some toast!!! The ambience of the dining room was nice.

Later that evening I received an email from Ultra Feedback, an independent feed back company asking me to fill in a survey about my stay. Always a good sign when hotel management are keen to solicit your honest views about their hotel.

Overall the stay was surprising good. Whilst I stayed there only one night, you could easily consider this hotel for a longer term stay.

Room Tip: When booking through Virgin Holidays on a business trip you will need to call them to get a tax invo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear FPA208,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was a superb location, close to the banks of the Yarra River, a short walk to downtown Melbourn, and close to Federation Square and Melbournes two fabulous museums, the Ian Potter Cultural Cennter (Australian and Aborigine Art) and the Art Gallery of Melbourne (European and Asian Art) and the concert halls. There were dozens of restaurants of all prices very close to the hotel in the nearby Southgate shopping center.
Room was spartan, but clean, and price moderate. Good for all types of travellers. Big minus factors were very expensive breakfast and very high charges for internet use. Otherwise we enjoyed our 3 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear aam77,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Southbank Travelodge is just the place if you're making a quick trip to Melbourne for shopping or a show etc. It's in an excellent, central location, just near the Yarra and within walking distance from the centre of the city and many other attractions, yet it's very quiet. Great value for money, especially if you are using something like Wotif for your booking. The staff is very friendly, courteous and competent. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the place - in the restaurant there was more than one staff member on constant attention to clean up tables, top up food etc. as guests left. My room was bright and spacious for a hotel in this price range - and it was nice to have a designated area (almost a kitchenette) for making tea etc. This was preferable to boiling water in the bathroom or next to the TV as is the case in other similar places I've stayed in. I didn't miss having a mini-bar as they are always so overpriced. This will be my new place to stay for my week-ends in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Diane M,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights on business 27-30th October and I will stay there again. What do you want from a hotel, clean, quiet, decent shower and breakfast with friendly staff. Great location yards from many restaurants and PJ O'briens Irish pub.

My only issue was the a/c was switched off at the mains and if I wasn't 6 feet tall I wouldn't ave been able to switch it on.

On the whole, good hotel

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Jembrontefi,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

Apologies for the Air Conditioning not being switched on at the mains, this is certainly not the norm and I have addressed this with our Housekeeping & Maintenance teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great location and good rates. Very convenient to all transport, and features. We were there for a wedding at the National Gallery (6 minutes walk), then for the Southbank market on Sunday morning. Basic kitchen facilities allowed for cheap catering, or close access to numerous eating places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenLancken, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Lizzies-Travels,

The Team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ben Lancken
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.