We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and service, no frills hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Southbank Melbourne to your Saves list
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good value and service, no frills hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Booked in for four nights in a twin room, as that was the best rate for this hotel. Arriving at the hotel from the airport via Skybus is easy and check in friendly and were allowed to access our room ahead of check in time.
The twin room was sparse for furniture. No lounge chair or couch to relax, two hard chairs and a table and beds.
Kitchenette consisted only of a microwave, cutlery, crockery, sink but no toaster. The view was of a car park and apartments and slightly the Eureka Tower next door.
Our room on the eighth floor was connected to an adjoining room with a locked door!
Air conditioning was quiet, but the fridge was noisy at night. This is not a mini bar. Housekeeping staff were obliging and friendly and kept the room fresh with clean towels and toiletries.
Room was small and being confined in the room one morning because the weather was uncomfortable. The hotel has no facilities such as pool, spa or sauna, gym or all day restaurant or cafe bar.
A small LCD TV has all the local channels, pay per view adult channels, satellite channels such as Fox Sports and Sky News and is also used for two radio stations Nova FM and FoxFM.
A cafe bar next to hotel is open for breakfast and until late.
The location is excellent. Just a quick walk to Flinders/Elizabeth Street over the Yarra River footbridge, gets you right into the heart of the city.
The bathroom was roomy, and toiletries supplied are sachets of shampoo, conditioner, plus soaps and tissues.
Beds were not totally comfortable, but managed to sleep okay. The hotel is quiet and it is a busy hotel but there was little noise from other guests.
Breakfast is served from 6.30 - 9.30am in the dining room on the ground floor, a buffett consisting of fruit juices, cereals, coffee, fruit, bacon, scrambled eggs, mini sausages, baked beans, hash browns, muffins, toast and spreads for $19pp...thought was overpriced.
No dinner menu here. Information kiosk on ground floor has ice and drinks and plenty of Melbourne tourist information available. Also a direct dial phone to Skybus to reserve pick up to return to airport.
Newspapers are available from reception desk. Computers in the lobby available at $2 per 20 minutes, extra for printing.
A 7/11 convenience store is just around the corner and Southgate closeby has newsagent, pharmacy and restaurants. A taxi stand outside hotel always has plenty of taxis available.
The hotel is right next to Eureka Tower Skydeck 88, and discount entry for Travelodge guests. The Melbourne Aquarium is via Queens Bridge, is within walking distance from hotel.
The Melbourne Tourist Shuttle doe's not stop anywhere near the Travelodge Hotel. The closest pick up point is Stop 12 located a ten minute walk from hotel at Queens Bridge.
Storage for your suitcases etc is available if you need to as staff will happily allow you to store your luggage until pick up time. Skybus picks up outside The Langham Hotel across the road from the Travelodge.
Overall enjoyed the stay, but due to lack of being able to relax after a long day sightseeing or shopping, the beds just don't provide that! Great for short stays, but this is not a resort hotel and doe's not provide resort facilities, very basic but clean and modern with nice staff.

Room Tip: Great views of Eureka Tower in rooms facing the tower from 7th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    1,134
    317
    75
    28
See reviews for
380
922
195
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a reunion group on 24 and 25th March. The hotel was most welcoming in all aspects of planning. They offered a great room rate to make it affordable for everyone. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were all very pleasant and most helpful. The buffet breakfast was good and offered the standard fare. We had morning teas organised as part of the reunion and these were well catered and attended to. The hotel is located in a great spot. There are any number of bars and restaurants close by and our group certainly made the most of it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located on the Southbank. It is an economical way to stay in Melbourne. The rooms were basic and more than adequate. Don't have breakfast there. There is a food court across the street with much better quality offerings and free wifi!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your positive feedback - It means a lot to the team here at Travelodge Southbank! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at Travelodge Southbank. It's close to the station and the CBD. However, there was mould around the hand basin drain hole and mould on the lower tiles in the shower.
The reception staff seemed inattentive to guests in the evening and rarely smiled or acknowledged us when we arrived or departed.
Internet costs $10 per hour and breakfast costs $19 per person which is expensive considering the large number of cafes and restaurants in the area which offer good food and free internet access. There is NO pool, spa or sauna despite some internet descriptions
Wont stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room without mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with the relevant departments to improve our overall guest experience. I would love to hear where you saw that we have a pool and spa as I have not been able to find it anywhere on our website.

I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My 2nd stay at the The Travelodge Southbank & just as impressed as last time. Friendly helpful staff on arrival, nice clean well equipped room & of course, for me the number 1 feature of this hotel is the fantastic location. Step out the door & around 1 min walk to Southbank and its bars and restaraunts. Also 1 min walk to the footbridge over the Yarra that comes out at the back of Flinders st station. Southbank is a great spot to eat, drink & just go for a walk

Room Tip: I took a room on top floor and did not hear a sound from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at Travelodge Southbank again. I will be sure pass your compliments onto my team of whom I am very proud.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

A very basic budget type hotel with no frills. Location is fantastic right on the Yarra within easy walking distance to the restaurants etc. Room is smallish and bed is OK. Didn't drive to hotel but I believe they have a parking arrangement with a hotel across the road. Breakfast is in one of those horrid experiences where it appears someone just heats up packet mixes of eggs and boiled bacon. It is included in the deal. This hotel was booked by work as we had a function in the Eureka Tower. By choice, I will not stay here again, I have stayed in far nicer joints in Melbourne for a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Southbank.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us. We know you have
many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose
Travelodge Southbank for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a decent hotel in a top location which people can book online at reasonable rates by Australian (very expensive) standards. The rooms are fine and ample, furniture is adequate (closer to IKEA than sophistication) but practical.

The location offsets any shortfall the hotel may have. Superb in every sense. Parking across the road is $12 a day which is also very reasonable.

I would recommend it if the price at which it can be booked is not above AUD$150.00 per night.

Internet is available but a high price, and that detracts from the rate. When will AUD Hotels stop charging for internet at confiscatory prices?

Overall, a good hotel at a good price in a great location. No need to look elsewhere or to pay more for a hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSK3006, General Manager at Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
My self and the team at Travelodge Southbank would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Feedback received is valuable, and I appreciate the time you have taken to provide this. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Travelodge Southbank.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Southbank in the near future.

Kind regards,
Doug Smith
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Southbank Melbourne

Address: 9 Riverside Quay, Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Southbank Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Southbank is ideally located right by the Melbourne Yarra River, close to the CBD, major transport, shopping and dining. We are placed within walking distance of many major attractions in Melbourne, such as The Crown Casino and Entertainment Complex. Other destinations, such as the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Melbourne Aquarium, Rod Laver Arena, and the Royal Botanic Gardens are just minutes away. We offer fantastic Southbank Melbourne accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 275 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Ours is one of the best-placed Southbank Melbourne hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this diverse city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Southbank Travel Lodge
Travelodge Melbourne
Travel Lodge Melbourne
Melbourne Travel Lodge
Melbourne Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Southbank Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.