We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great breakfast - fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, breads, juice and a proper coffee! This is included in the rate. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The only downsides are a distinct lack of parking (only 3 spaces available), although we did manage to find a space down the street. There was an issue with the toilet (it took 10 flushes to remove everything...), which I did advise staff upon leaving - the staff were very friendly. Would I stay here again - Yes, absolutely.

Room Tip: Might be quieter on the top floor (quieter only from the perspective of guests coming home after you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
So pleased you took the time to review us and took advantage of our unique location and enjoyed our complimentary continental buffet breakfast. We understand parking is an issue as we only have 4 complimentary spaces and 2 permits available for on street parking and generally this is enough to service our 18 accommodation rooms. There is also overnight parking from 6pm - 9am available on the Hotel side of the street. Unfortunately due to our location in a residential area we are unable to change this. You will be glad to hear the toilet was promptly fixed for the arrival of the next guest, thank you for making us aware of it at the time.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    56
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
78
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had the most incredible stay with my partner at The Hatton Hotel. It was so gorgeous and cosy. The morning breakfast was all we needed drinking T2 Tea and granola/fruit. The location was so perfect! The tram stop is right out front and a 100m walk down the road are beautiful cafes a 7-11 and the most amazing sushi bar. I honestly can't rave enough about The Hatton Hotel and we can not wait to stay here again.
PERFECTION.

Tiarne Ettingshausen
Escape Magazine

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our unique location after being fueled up by our simple breakfast. We would love to have you back, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Hatton is conveniently located, with short walk to botanic gardens, fine selection of restaurants, brief cab ride to CBD, and tram stop nearby. The building itself is charming, and the décor is a surprise - eclectic modern art, and clean walls inside a traditional Victorian building. The rooms are simple and functional, with taste. We stayed in room 11, so not sure how this compares with other rooms, but can highly recommend this choice. The bath is beautifully oversized, the bed comfortable. selection of teas in the room good. The best part of this room was the opening window... located above a sprawling green mass of climbing ivy and at the rear side of the hotel, so it was quiet and peaceful, and provided a lovely calm green view. Although the room is somewhat Spartan in décor, it was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel; with one exception, the windows! Free wi fi is available. Down side, no hot meals or room service, though small snack / antipasto type foods available at the front desk during business hours. Breakfast is continental, so again no cooked eggs, but the bread selection was good, and there was some cheese. There are good cafes nearby to cater for any other food preferences. Overall, a lovely calm place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 offers tranquillity and an opening window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We are so happy you found the hotel calm and relaxing and enjoyed it's atmosphere. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in room 14, a spacious twin at the rear of the hotel, so it was blissfully quiet. It had an excellent en-suite with bath and shower over, down a few steps from the bedroom providing l'Occitaine toiletries. I loved the bath bomb. Beds had excellent linens, and were very comfortable. The rest of the furniture was a bit worn, and not top quality, but perfectly serviceable. It was also nice to have kettle, sink, and plates and crockery provided
Breakfast was served in the bar, and was continental, fruit, lovely pastries, toast etc. enjoyed it
Staff were delightful, helpful and a great asset to the hotel
Situated on a tram route, but only 40 mins walk from the centre of Adeleide, and right by the Botanical Gardens so good base for sightseeing. Near several excellent restaurants- staff very good with their suggestions.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
So pleased you enjoyed the spacious rooms and facilities contained in it. We will certainly pass on your praise to the staff. Our location in Melbourne is unique and we are grateful you appreciated the proximity to the botanic gardens and the city. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For Around the Bay 2013. Near to start and very accomodating for needs of very early start for ride. Stayed here before and relaxed and enjoyable experience always. All very convenient and comfortable- our "regular" in melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you feel us to be a home away from home, we love our regular guests!
Hope the ride was a success for you and that the location proved to have you close the start.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We were given a gift voucher for our stay - and loved being here. The location is sensational - parklands nearby, shopping village, restaurants & tram outside the door; the decor - with an eclectic art collection displayed brings this boutique hotel to another level. It's like being in a special gallery!
Breakfast in the front room is fresh, tasty and better than most continental breakfast offerings. Very friendly and efficient staff. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you taking the time to review us. So pleased your gift voucher proved to be such a success and that the style and ambience of the hotel was to your liking. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Away from the bland, chain style hotels, The Hatton, a Victorian building in S Yarra is a good place to stay. Easy walking to many cafes, shops, restaurants and bars. Tram stops outside giving access to the city. close to the Domain, botanic Gardens.
Comfortable beds with good linens, spacious rooms (all a bit different), wooden floors, windows that open! rooftop area!
Reception /breakfast area/lounge has a fireplace and the fire welcomes on a chilly, winter evening. mice to sit in here with a glass of wine and mingle... or not!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are different. I was upgraded from the standard room and so glad to have the space! But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt a true guest in our 'Home". We are pleased too you took full advantage of our central location.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.