We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more like a home... great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“more like a home... great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Away from the bland, chain style hotels, The Hatton, a Victorian building in S Yarra is a good place to stay. Easy walking to many cafes, shops, restaurants and bars. Tram stops outside giving access to the city. close to the Domain, botanic Gardens.
Comfortable beds with good linens, spacious rooms (all a bit different), wooden floors, windows that open! rooftop area!
Reception /breakfast area/lounge has a fireplace and the fire welcomes on a chilly, winter evening. mice to sit in here with a glass of wine and mingle... or not!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are different. I was upgraded from the standard room and so glad to have the space! But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and felt a true guest in our 'Home". We are pleased too you took full advantage of our central location.
Happy travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    59
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
78
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are very fond of this stylish boutique hotel in the affluent suburb of South Yarra. We have visited many times over the past 7 years - and once stayed for 5 nights. It is an annual event - we must visit The Hatton...On the last 2 occasions we have stayed in the Eastern Balcony Room which has a luxurious bed, deep bath, small dining table and a wonderfully large balcony overlooking the beautiful terraces of Park Street. The other rooms we have stayed in are also lovely, roomy and simply styled. All of the rooms have L'occitane bath products, very nice. We love the small sitting room at the front of the building - nice in winter when there is a small open fire, glass of red and art/architecture magazine in hand. The breakfast is served in this room and it is equally enjoyable - a cup of T2 (tea), museli loaded with macadamias, poached fruits, artisan toast, cheeses, French pastries etc.. very Euro style. The Hatton is super close to the beautiful Royal Botanical Gardens, which is close to 40 hectares of stunning landscaped gardens, we always enjoy a beautiful stroll and then a Melbourne coffee at My Legendary Girlfriend. Right outside the Hatton is a tram stop, which is very handy to pop into the city or visit the Art Gallery (NGV). It is super close to lots of great cafes - Bacash, France-Soir, Golden Triangle, MamaBaba (George Calombaris's new one) to name a few. We adore this Hotel and look forward to our 2014 visit, or perhaps a 2nd 2013 stay!

Room Tip: Eastern Balcony is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review, so pleased you have enjoyed your stays so much with us that it prompts you to come back again each year! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I prefer to stay in neighbourhoods where people actually live, rather than sticking to the beaten tourist track, which is why I usually choose The Hatton. It's half a block away from the Royal Botanic Gardens, and around the corner from great cafés and one fantastic restaurant (Bacash). I love the building's appearance from the front, and the common area is great for chilling out. The staff are helpful and friendly but non-intrusive. I asked for late check-out, which I was given at no extra charge. I got up way too late for breakfast, but the young lady at the desk was happy to let me have a couple of pastries and make me a pot of chai.
Got a bit of a dud room this time--nothing special about it. Normally I'm taken with the charm of their rooms, and they're all different, with no standard hotel-issue furniture.
Added benefit--the #8 tram stops right in front.
Quirky benefit--the TV is mounted at the perfect angle to watch telly in bed whilst propped up with pillows.
BTW, I really take issue with some of the negative reviews of this place. I think some people would be impossible to please even if champagne was flowing out of the taps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to review.
In this day and age of one size fits all and generic brands we are pleased to offer something a little different for those still prepared to appreciate it, thank you for your discerned choice.
We love our regulars, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nsw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After arriving around 8.30pm on a dark, cold, blustery night, a long working day and an inter-state flight, the warm welcome and wonderful room appeased my senses. Downstairs the superior room was large, with high ceilings, beautiful timbered floors, and doors gave onto a private terrace. Unfortunately I couldn't use this or the roof terrace because of the weather, but the large oak table in the room was perfect for spreading maps, papers, i-pad and the clutter of travel. Bed lights were excellent, great for reading, something overlooked by many hotels. The roomy bathroom had a bath and plenty of shelf space where the Occitan toiletries stood. The residential street and the soft bedding meant quiet nights.
I enjoyed breakfast: a choice of home-made mueslis, a dish of thick Greek style yoghurt , a dish of soft ripe strawberries, various breads, jams, juice and your choice of coffees or T2 teas. Only disappointment were the croissants and pastries. I'm sure the lovely small A la Folie patisserie in Chapel Street or similar could provide better. Service was always friendly and helpful.
Next morning, umbrellas at the door, I caught a tram around the corner into Toorak Road-so easy with the stop right outside although it is an easy walk. Next time I'll visit the Botanical Gardens at the other end of the street. Interesting restaurants, shops and the station all fairly close.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and setting. We do hope to see you again, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

First impression is what a stunning building. I checked in and walked up the grand staircase and down the wide hallway to my room and was so pleasantly surprised by the spacious room with lovely old polished floor boards, modern and understated decor, and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and amenities perfect for the business traveller, the rates are very reasonable and restaurants in walking distance. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review.
We pride ourselves on the number of return guests so would be happy to have you back!
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

first the positive: we spent five nights there in August and we loved the building, the location, the room and bathroom decor, the bedding, we even did not mind the stairs (we stayed in a downstairs room). And of course we loved the FREE WI-Fi, a rarity in Australia.
And now for the less positive: breakfast is plenty and generally really good, the staff make you endless cups of whatever coffee you want etc. My only complaints? The pastries were ancient. I paid attention and the same tray of pastries was put out on the buffet for at least three days in a row. By the day we left, it started to look really bad. One day the yogurt was sour and another day the milk, so that one of us ended up not feeling too well. These are small but important details that can make a huge difference for a traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but saddened there were aspects you did not enjoy.
Regarding the breakfast we receive our bread and pastries fresh every morning from Amici's bakery in chapel st. Staff never put out the same pastries three days in a row as they are replenished daily. This aside though we will obviously look into our procedure to reduce any human error that might occur, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Melbourne and thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we stayed at The Hatton. Our room #10 was large as was the ensuite and there was plenty of storage space available. While we didn't make full use of it the microwave, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities were an added bonus.

The food on offer for breakfast was healthy, tasty and plentiful.

The location was excellent and while there was a tram stop at the door we walked into the CBD at a leisurely pace in about half an hour.

All staff were friendly and helpful and up for a chat.

We had a memorable stay at The Hatton and have already planned our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our location and enjoyed chatting with staff. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.