We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in Toorak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Nsw
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in Toorak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After arriving around 8.30pm on a dark, cold, blustery night, a long working day and an inter-state flight, the warm welcome and wonderful room appeased my senses. Downstairs the superior room was large, with high ceilings, beautiful timbered floors, and doors gave onto a private terrace. Unfortunately I couldn't use this or the roof terrace because of the weather, but the large oak table in the room was perfect for spreading maps, papers, i-pad and the clutter of travel. Bed lights were excellent, great for reading, something overlooked by many hotels. The roomy bathroom had a bath and plenty of shelf space where the Occitan toiletries stood. The residential street and the soft bedding meant quiet nights.
I enjoyed breakfast: a choice of home-made mueslis, a dish of thick Greek style yoghurt , a dish of soft ripe strawberries, various breads, jams, juice and your choice of coffees or T2 teas. Only disappointment were the croissants and pastries. I'm sure the lovely small A la Folie patisserie in Chapel Street or similar could provide better. Service was always friendly and helpful.
Next morning, umbrellas at the door, I caught a tram around the corner into Toorak Road-so easy with the stop right outside although it is an easy walk. Next time I'll visit the Botanical Gardens at the other end of the street. Interesting restaurants, shops and the station all fairly close.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and setting. We do hope to see you again, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    62
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
87
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

First impression is what a stunning building. I checked in and walked up the grand staircase and down the wide hallway to my room and was so pleasantly surprised by the spacious room with lovely old polished floor boards, modern and understated decor, and large bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and amenities perfect for the business traveller, the rates are very reasonable and restaurants in walking distance. I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review.
We pride ourselves on the number of return guests so would be happy to have you back!
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

first the positive: we spent five nights there in August and we loved the building, the location, the room and bathroom decor, the bedding, we even did not mind the stairs (we stayed in a downstairs room). And of course we loved the FREE WI-Fi, a rarity in Australia.
And now for the less positive: breakfast is plenty and generally really good, the staff make you endless cups of whatever coffee you want etc. My only complaints? The pastries were ancient. I paid attention and the same tray of pastries was put out on the buffet for at least three days in a row. By the day we left, it started to look really bad. One day the yogurt was sour and another day the milk, so that one of us ended up not feeling too well. These are small but important details that can make a huge difference for a traveler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay but saddened there were aspects you did not enjoy.
Regarding the breakfast we receive our bread and pastries fresh every morning from Amici's bakery in chapel st. Staff never put out the same pastries three days in a row as they are replenished daily. This aside though we will obviously look into our procedure to reduce any human error that might occur, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Melbourne and thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we stayed at The Hatton. Our room #10 was large as was the ensuite and there was plenty of storage space available. While we didn't make full use of it the microwave, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities were an added bonus.

The food on offer for breakfast was healthy, tasty and plentiful.

The location was excellent and while there was a tram stop at the door we walked into the CBD at a leisurely pace in about half an hour.

All staff were friendly and helpful and up for a chat.

We had a memorable stay at The Hatton and have already planned our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our location and enjoyed chatting with staff. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

5th visit to the Hatton and as always we found it to be a very welcoming. We had a late flight and did not check in until around midnight, staff were quick to let us in and let us get settled.
Can't really fault it, yes it has some quirks but that is why we keep going back.
Clean rooms, great beds and bathrooms with plenty of privacy if you want it.
Location is great, trams stop right out front with an easy 10 minute ride into the city. Stacks of geat places to eat and drink within easy walking distance. (Chapel St, Toorak Rd)
Breakfast is plentiful with good coffee. Ipad, magazines and newspapers are available in the dining room/bar.
A great alternative to staying right in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you are now regular guests and we pride ourselves on the fact that much of our business is return customers. We are also pleased you have picked up on our unique attributes and our great location.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had a very comfortable and restful stay in this beautiful hotel with a grand bedroom and lovely clean bathroom. I loved the old stately architecture reminiscent of my childhood home. Breakfast was great as it was non fuss in a cosy little dining room. The location is perfect to embrace the charm of Melbourne with the trams outside in the street and the Tan down the road for a morning walk plus the Botanical gardens. Good restaurant and great coffee are just a short walk down the road. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you picked up on our home away from home feel and enjoyed our location, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice- once on my own in December 2011 and again with my husband in November 2012. The hotel is very relaxed and informal with a happiness-making feel from the great decor and beautiful, super clean bathrooms . We both travel a great deal for business and this was decidedly not a business hotel, something we both enjoyed very much. The distance by tram from the city centre is short but also makes it seem like you have seen more of the city than you might if you stayed in the city centre.
The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is because when I was there the first time I overheard staff members talking about the possibility that the hotel might close if the owners didn't pay closer attention to upkeep, and it did not feel like things were clearly explained at check-in. For instance, I had to ask about breakfast and I had to ask about getting a tram pass. I did not have a sense of that during my second visit almost a year later although things seemed slightly more rundown than the year before. Still, it's a popular hotel in a wonderful city and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased you have chosen us again for our relaxed and personal vibe. We do try our best to insure the comfort of your stay.
In regards to the up keep of the hotel during your first stay we had just finished completely painting each room of the hotel- so it would have looked pristine! And, as a century old building with many original features maintenance is a constant issue we are always doing our best to stay abreast of. I am saddened you overheard some gossip and unfortunately as with all businesses rumors can circulate and this rumor is certainly not true and staff have been informed.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.4 mi away
Royce Hotel
Royce Hotel
#45 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Charsfield
Hotel Charsfield
#32 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.