We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in Melbourne and thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we stayed at The Hatton. Our room #10 was large as was the ensuite and there was plenty of storage space available. While we didn't make full use of it the microwave, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities were an added bonus.

The food on offer for breakfast was healthy, tasty and plentiful.

The location was excellent and while there was a tram stop at the door we walked into the CBD at a leisurely pace in about half an hour.

All staff were friendly and helpful and up for a chat.

We had a memorable stay at The Hatton and have already planned our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattonmanagement, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our location and enjoyed chatting with staff. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    54
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
75
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

5th visit to the Hatton and as always we found it to be a very welcoming. We had a late flight and did not check in until around midnight, staff were quick to let us in and let us get settled.
Can't really fault it, yes it has some quirks but that is why we keep going back.
Clean rooms, great beds and bathrooms with plenty of privacy if you want it.
Location is great, trams stop right out front with an easy 10 minute ride into the city. Stacks of geat places to eat and drink within easy walking distance. (Chapel St, Toorak Rd)
Breakfast is plentiful with good coffee. Ipad, magazines and newspapers are available in the dining room/bar.
A great alternative to staying right in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you are now regular guests and we pride ourselves on the fact that much of our business is return customers. We are also pleased you have picked up on our unique attributes and our great location.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had a very comfortable and restful stay in this beautiful hotel with a grand bedroom and lovely clean bathroom. I loved the old stately architecture reminiscent of my childhood home. Breakfast was great as it was non fuss in a cosy little dining room. The location is perfect to embrace the charm of Melbourne with the trams outside in the street and the Tan down the road for a morning walk plus the Botanical gardens. Good restaurant and great coffee are just a short walk down the road. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you picked up on our home away from home feel and enjoyed our location, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice- once on my own in December 2011 and again with my husband in November 2012. The hotel is very relaxed and informal with a happiness-making feel from the great decor and beautiful, super clean bathrooms . We both travel a great deal for business and this was decidedly not a business hotel, something we both enjoyed very much. The distance by tram from the city centre is short but also makes it seem like you have seen more of the city than you might if you stayed in the city centre.
The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is because when I was there the first time I overheard staff members talking about the possibility that the hotel might close if the owners didn't pay closer attention to upkeep, and it did not feel like things were clearly explained at check-in. For instance, I had to ask about breakfast and I had to ask about getting a tram pass. I did not have a sense of that during my second visit almost a year later although things seemed slightly more rundown than the year before. Still, it's a popular hotel in a wonderful city and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased you have chosen us again for our relaxed and personal vibe. We do try our best to insure the comfort of your stay.
In regards to the up keep of the hotel during your first stay we had just finished completely painting each room of the hotel- so it would have looked pristine! And, as a century old building with many original features maintenance is a constant issue we are always doing our best to stay abreast of. I am saddened you overheard some gossip and unfortunately as with all businesses rumors can circulate and this rumor is certainly not true and staff have been informed.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Came here on the recommendation of an Aussie friend. Great success and nice to find something other than a cookie cutter sameish hotel with no character. The Hatton has it in spades. Comfortable, quiet room with a great bed after a long flight from the UK and a super breakfast on arrival.
The Hatton is in a lovely part of town right by the Botanical Gardens. A ride on the tram, which stops right outside and comes by every few minutes, takes you to Flinders Street in 10 minutes or so. A good selection of coffee bars asnd restaurants is right around the corner from the hotel. A rare find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive critic.
We are glad you made the most of your location and that you found out about us from a friend!
Nothing like a first hand recommendation- Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as a couple exploring Melbourne. Hotel is located in suburban road, surrounded by mostly modernised Victorian / Edwardian houses, and fits in well. It's about 10 mins tram ride into Melbourne centre, and 5 mins tram ride into the trendy suburbs of South Yarra & Tourak. Tram stops are literally outside the door, making it a great place from which to explore Melbourne, if you want to see more than just the centre. Staff were friendly and efficient, room was clean, with it's own small kitchenette, in addition to good sized bathroom. Furniture quirky. Breakfast (continental only) was good quality, without being particularly extensive. Roof terrace is good area to sit in evening sun with glass of wine. Much more personal than most big city hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay taking full advantage of our tram system and location. The now revived roofdeck area is lovely on a balmy night with a glass of wine so we are pleased you also enjoyed this area of the Hotel, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Of course, there's no 24/7 room service or laundry. Of course, the breakfast possibilities are limited. Of course, you can sometimes hear everything your neighbour does next door. Of course, the bar closes before midnight. Of course, there's no restaurant and the only thing you can do is order take aways. So what? The Hatton is something special. This is where you go where you need a home away from home, a friendly staff, and a great location in Melbourne. It does it for me... when it's not fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We certainly appreciate your critic and your honesty.
A majority of our clientele are return customers so we hope to see you again.
In the meantime Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.