We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh and creatively decorated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fresh and creatively decorated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice- once on my own in December 2011 and again with my husband in November 2012. The hotel is very relaxed and informal with a happiness-making feel from the great decor and beautiful, super clean bathrooms . We both travel a great deal for business and this was decidedly not a business hotel, something we both enjoyed very much. The distance by tram from the city centre is short but also makes it seem like you have seen more of the city than you might if you stayed in the city centre.
The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating is because when I was there the first time I overheard staff members talking about the possibility that the hotel might close if the owners didn't pay closer attention to upkeep, and it did not feel like things were clearly explained at check-in. For instance, I had to ask about breakfast and I had to ask about getting a tram pass. I did not have a sense of that during my second visit almost a year later although things seemed slightly more rundown than the year before. Still, it's a popular hotel in a wonderful city and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest review. We are pleased you have chosen us again for our relaxed and personal vibe. We do try our best to insure the comfort of your stay.
In regards to the up keep of the hotel during your first stay we had just finished completely painting each room of the hotel- so it would have looked pristine! And, as a century old building with many original features maintenance is a constant issue we are always doing our best to stay abreast of. I am saddened you overheard some gossip and unfortunately as with all businesses rumors can circulate and this rumor is certainly not true and staff have been informed.
Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
72
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Came here on the recommendation of an Aussie friend. Great success and nice to find something other than a cookie cutter sameish hotel with no character. The Hatton has it in spades. Comfortable, quiet room with a great bed after a long flight from the UK and a super breakfast on arrival.
The Hatton is in a lovely part of town right by the Botanical Gardens. A ride on the tram, which stops right outside and comes by every few minutes, takes you to Flinders Street in 10 minutes or so. A good selection of coffee bars asnd restaurants is right around the corner from the hotel. A rare find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive critic.
We are glad you made the most of your location and that you found out about us from a friend!
Nothing like a first hand recommendation- Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as a couple exploring Melbourne. Hotel is located in suburban road, surrounded by mostly modernised Victorian / Edwardian houses, and fits in well. It's about 10 mins tram ride into Melbourne centre, and 5 mins tram ride into the trendy suburbs of South Yarra & Tourak. Tram stops are literally outside the door, making it a great place from which to explore Melbourne, if you want to see more than just the centre. Staff were friendly and efficient, room was clean, with it's own small kitchenette, in addition to good sized bathroom. Furniture quirky. Breakfast (continental only) was good quality, without being particularly extensive. Roof terrace is good area to sit in evening sun with glass of wine. Much more personal than most big city hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay taking full advantage of our tram system and location. The now revived roofdeck area is lovely on a balmy night with a glass of wine so we are pleased you also enjoyed this area of the Hotel, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Of course, there's no 24/7 room service or laundry. Of course, the breakfast possibilities are limited. Of course, you can sometimes hear everything your neighbour does next door. Of course, the bar closes before midnight. Of course, there's no restaurant and the only thing you can do is order take aways. So what? The Hatton is something special. This is where you go where you need a home away from home, a friendly staff, and a great location in Melbourne. It does it for me... when it's not fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We certainly appreciate your critic and your honesty.
A majority of our clientele are return customers so we hope to see you again.
In the meantime Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay two nights in Hatton. One was enough. Check in was very unpolite, like visitors are not wellcome. He asked just a credit card and told what we cant do. Carrying luggages to room, where wifi didn't work and air condition dropped quite a lot water to floor all the time was the last drop. Sorry to say but we got feeling they are closing the whole hotel. At least it woul need quite a lot of upgrading with service attitude and cleaness.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your time with us. We do have a maintenance schedule for all our appliances and technology however at times things do breakdown and require action. The air conditioner has now been repaired and the wifi which we have recently upgraded has had teething problems and we are doing our very best to correct these issues. For this we sincerely apologise.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hatton is, I guess, an old private residence, converted to a small private hotel. If you like small and quirky, rather than 5-star glitz, then this is the place for you ... and us! So many different people on reception/bar duty, but all really friendly and helpful. Once you've schlepped your cases up and down innumerable stairs, the bedroom is fine ... pretty much what you'd expect, but spacious and clean. Terriffic location .... this part of the City boasts fabulous Art Deco properties and appears an affluent area. A tram stops right outside the hotel to get you quickly into the centre, or a short walk the other way gets you a tram to the beach. Also lots of good reataurants nearby. All in all a great place.

Room Tip: If you're 'elderly', try to get a room which doesn't involve too many stairs to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Yes we are a little different and we appreciate that you found that difference to your liking.
The Hotel itself was actually built as a hotel back in 1901, and the owners endeavored to keep as much of the original building as possible - thus the stairs. We are pleased you took advantage of the location which out of curiosity was in fact the outskirts of town back in 1901, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A very charming mansion turned into a hotel; or rather into a great classy bed& breakfast.

I loved the balance between the design elements and the original old house, nice spacious room, friendly staff with the same "home-attitude" as the hotel, tram in front of the hotel.
Included breakfast.

Great location, especially because I was very found of the Botanical Gardens.

Just perfect? Well not:
Wifi doesn't work well
At least some cold cuts were missing at the breakfast (given the price)
Noise from other rooms can be very present


still a lovely place that I surely recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your honest review.
We have currently just changed WIFI systems in an effort to update and fix our previous system. Unfortunately the new system has experienced some teething problems and we are doing our best to solve these and they should be corrected by the time this has been published, I apologise for the inconvenience.
Thank you for also seeing the positive side of your stay though and we do hope to see you again.
We are also pleased you capitalised on the location of the hotel.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.