We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Of course, there's no 24/7 room service or laundry. Of course, the breakfast possibilities are limited. Of course, you can sometimes hear everything your neighbour does next door. Of course, the bar closes before midnight. Of course, there's no restaurant and the only thing you can do is order take aways. So what? The Hatton is something special. This is where you go where you need a home away from home, a friendly staff, and a great location in Melbourne. It does it for me... when it's not fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We certainly appreciate your critic and your honesty.
A majority of our clientele are return customers so we hope to see you again.
In the meantime Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    54
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
75
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay two nights in Hatton. One was enough. Check in was very unpolite, like visitors are not wellcome. He asked just a credit card and told what we cant do. Carrying luggages to room, where wifi didn't work and air condition dropped quite a lot water to floor all the time was the last drop. Sorry to say but we got feeling they are closing the whole hotel. At least it woul need quite a lot of upgrading with service attitude and cleaness.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are disappointed you did not enjoy your time with us. We do have a maintenance schedule for all our appliances and technology however at times things do breakdown and require action. The air conditioner has now been repaired and the wifi which we have recently upgraded has had teething problems and we are doing our very best to correct these issues. For this we sincerely apologise.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hatton is, I guess, an old private residence, converted to a small private hotel. If you like small and quirky, rather than 5-star glitz, then this is the place for you ... and us! So many different people on reception/bar duty, but all really friendly and helpful. Once you've schlepped your cases up and down innumerable stairs, the bedroom is fine ... pretty much what you'd expect, but spacious and clean. Terriffic location .... this part of the City boasts fabulous Art Deco properties and appears an affluent area. A tram stops right outside the hotel to get you quickly into the centre, or a short walk the other way gets you a tram to the beach. Also lots of good reataurants nearby. All in all a great place.

Room Tip: If you're 'elderly', try to get a room which doesn't involve too many stairs to reac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Yes we are a little different and we appreciate that you found that difference to your liking.
The Hotel itself was actually built as a hotel back in 1901, and the owners endeavored to keep as much of the original building as possible - thus the stairs. We are pleased you took advantage of the location which out of curiosity was in fact the outskirts of town back in 1901, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A very charming mansion turned into a hotel; or rather into a great classy bed& breakfast.

I loved the balance between the design elements and the original old house, nice spacious room, friendly staff with the same "home-attitude" as the hotel, tram in front of the hotel.
Included breakfast.

Great location, especially because I was very found of the Botanical Gardens.

Just perfect? Well not:
Wifi doesn't work well
At least some cold cuts were missing at the breakfast (given the price)
Noise from other rooms can be very present


still a lovely place that I surely recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your honest review.
We have currently just changed WIFI systems in an effort to update and fix our previous system. Unfortunately the new system has experienced some teething problems and we are doing our best to solve these and they should be corrected by the time this has been published, I apologise for the inconvenience.
Thank you for also seeing the positive side of your stay though and we do hope to see you again.
We are also pleased you capitalised on the location of the hotel.
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Loved the Hatton Hotel - didn't want to leave. Our first night away from all of the kids this year - possibly first night ever. Beautiful room and amenities - fantastic and knowledgeable and interested staff - so I'm not sure what happened to WimbledonSE - maybe look in the mirror...Highly recommend anyone wanting a luxury B & B feel to a boutique hotel. Brilliant central location and fab restaurants, bars and parks nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review, a night away from the family is certainly a rarity and I am glad you enjoyed yourself so much, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just got back from our third stay at the Hatton and found it to be as lovely as always. The location is fantastic- an upscale and quiet residential neighborhood, nearby to beautiful parks and gardens with a few essential businesses down the street--gourmet food shop, pharmacy, bookshop and cafes. A very useful tram stops literally in front of the hotel and gets you to the CBD in about 10 minutes.
The guest rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable- lovely crisp sheets and comfy duvets--bathtubs that are huge and deep. The front common reception room is also where they serve a very substantial and delicious continental breakfast. In the afternoon and evening you can have tea or spirits from the bar.

Room Tip: Some downstairs rooms have outdoor patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
thank you so much for your positive comments, we are glad you took full advantage of our location and enjoyed our concept of a combined breakfast, reception and front lounge bar area. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This boutique hotel has the charm of an old mansion with tasteful decoration.
We had a superior room, very spacious, with quality furniture ; large bathroom with brand amenities. TV, kitchenette, tea/coffee facilities.
View : nothing particular, windows onto a side courtyard. Quiet, but the windows blind are unfortunately useless as they let early morning daylight in.
Friendly staff at reception - lending public smartcards to top up for public transport is a smart idea.
Easy access to the city center with the tram (stop in front of the hotel) or a nice 20 mn walk through the botanic gardens.

Some points to improve:
- parking: 4 tiny slots at the back of the building - so do not rely on it... a resident pass for on-street parking would be welcome when needed
- wifi had problems, only a very limited number of devices could connect simultaneously - I personnaly could not during a full day
- breakfast: breads, cereals, spreads, juices, fruits... all excellent... but at AUD200+ per night, a hot choice, or at least some cold cuts, may be more appropriate.

A lovely place, that could easily make the further step needed to be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your well measured review. Since your stay the wireless system has been fully overhauled to deal with the ever changing technologies we now all rely on. We do also have a resident pass to help out with extra parking but it must have been in use by another guest. We do understand parking can be an issue and we are currently working with the city of Melbourne to release more permits for guest use to us. I am glad these difficulties did not dampen your stay, thanks again for your comments, Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.