We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent urban retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Opulent urban retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Loved the Hatton Hotel - didn't want to leave. Our first night away from all of the kids this year - possibly first night ever. Beautiful room and amenities - fantastic and knowledgeable and interested staff - so I'm not sure what happened to WimbledonSE - maybe look in the mirror...Highly recommend anyone wanting a luxury B & B feel to a boutique hotel. Brilliant central location and fab restaurants, bars and parks nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review, a night away from the family is certainly a rarity and I am glad you enjoyed yourself so much, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    60
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
81
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just got back from our third stay at the Hatton and found it to be as lovely as always. The location is fantastic- an upscale and quiet residential neighborhood, nearby to beautiful parks and gardens with a few essential businesses down the street--gourmet food shop, pharmacy, bookshop and cafes. A very useful tram stops literally in front of the hotel and gets you to the CBD in about 10 minutes.
The guest rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable- lovely crisp sheets and comfy duvets--bathtubs that are huge and deep. The front common reception room is also where they serve a very substantial and delicious continental breakfast. In the afternoon and evening you can have tea or spirits from the bar.

Room Tip: Some downstairs rooms have outdoor patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
thank you so much for your positive comments, we are glad you took full advantage of our location and enjoyed our concept of a combined breakfast, reception and front lounge bar area. Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This boutique hotel has the charm of an old mansion with tasteful decoration.
We had a superior room, very spacious, with quality furniture ; large bathroom with brand amenities. TV, kitchenette, tea/coffee facilities.
View : nothing particular, windows onto a side courtyard. Quiet, but the windows blind are unfortunately useless as they let early morning daylight in.
Friendly staff at reception - lending public smartcards to top up for public transport is a smart idea.
Easy access to the city center with the tram (stop in front of the hotel) or a nice 20 mn walk through the botanic gardens.

Some points to improve:
- parking: 4 tiny slots at the back of the building - so do not rely on it... a resident pass for on-street parking would be welcome when needed
- wifi had problems, only a very limited number of devices could connect simultaneously - I personnaly could not during a full day
- breakfast: breads, cereals, spreads, juices, fruits... all excellent... but at AUD200+ per night, a hot choice, or at least some cold cuts, may be more appropriate.

A lovely place, that could easily make the further step needed to be perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your well measured review. Since your stay the wireless system has been fully overhauled to deal with the ever changing technologies we now all rely on. We do also have a resident pass to help out with extra parking but it must have been in use by another guest. We do understand parking can be an issue and we are currently working with the city of Melbourne to release more permits for guest use to us. I am glad these difficulties did not dampen your stay, thanks again for your comments, Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This lovely hotel is gorgeous inside and out, located just a block from the Botanical Garden right on the tram line. Very friendly and knowledgeable service, and a great breakfast in the front room, where you can have a coffee or glass of wine throughout the day.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind critic, I will certainly let the staff know you appreciated their charm and willingness to help out, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a good size room and daily travel by tram to the centre was fine.
The hotel had wifi problems while we were there.
The breakfast is basic, if you want fresh fruit you have to prepare it yourself. And tinned peaches!
Perhaps unexpectedly for a boutique hotel your privacy is guaranteed. Apart form asking you whether you want tea or coffee the front desk/breakfast staff make absolutely no other communication. No 'have you any plans', 'can we help', 'how is the UK these days', 'have you got family here', 'you might like to sit on the balcony for breakfast''. In fact if you want to ask anything other than about tea or coffee you have to interrupt their private conversation or emailing or whatever. We have encountered much more friendly staff even in large international hotels. I felt like offering them a training course in how to relate to guests, but I guess the approach must be intentional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologise that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Since your stay the wireless system has been completely overhauled to adapt to the ever changing technologies and the number of wireless devices that we are now all dependant upon.
I apologise that the staff were not more personable during your stay, generally our staff get consistently good feedback, we will certainly follow up on your critic though. Thank you again for your comments, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a boutique hotel of quality and good service in a splendidly quiet location near the Botanic Gardens. We liked the large airy room and very comfortable bed, the hotel decor, the inclusive breakfast, the free use of the iPad and the friendly, helpful staff. The neighbourhood has a 'village' feel and there are near by coffee houses in which to relax and watch life go by. We liked to walk into the city centre through the wonderful Botanic Gardens, but there are tram stops near by for a quicker journey.
We will always be attracted to accommodation with individuality and character. The bigger branded hotels are not for us. The Hatton delivered on all counts!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, and for highlighting our uniqueness! Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here a as gift from a friend and couldn't have been more pleased.

The hotel is in a beautiful old house located in a very quiet residential street between 3 parks (including the beautiful Botanical Gardens). There are a number of really nice restaurants nearby and a convenience store at the end of the road (all nor more than 2 minute away). There is also a tram that goes directly to the heart of the CBD which stops literally at the front gate - perfect.

When entering the hotel you really get a feeling of entering something with such history and stories to tell. The building has been lovingly decorated to keep its character whilst at the same time adding its own twist with the art and styling.

The staff were great, so friendly and welcoming, and seemed really interested in you - makes change from the larger chains who don't seem that interested. It was at this point we found out the hotel offers free wifi and continental breakfast which was a really nice surprise. Where else can you get that. There was also a roof terrace which we could use and take food and drink up there. You must go here, the views of the CBD are spectacular!

The room was great too, absolutely huge with a seperate pantry and outside courtyard and really big, antique furniture. They are tastefully decorated and feel like you are staying at a big country manor somewhere! Loved the L'occitane toiletries too!

Breakfast is served in the lovely reception/dining area and included some really tasty fresh bread, pastries, coffee. tea etc all you can expect but again served with a smile from the staff.

Really cant recommend it enough. Location, service, room and experience were all A*, you felt like you were at home you are made to feel that comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the lower floor that have the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, we are very pleased you felt the Hotel to be a home away from home, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.