We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tasteful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a boutique hotel of quality and good service in a splendidly quiet location near the Botanic Gardens. We liked the large airy room and very comfortable bed, the hotel decor, the inclusive breakfast, the free use of the iPad and the friendly, helpful staff. The neighbourhood has a 'village' feel and there are near by coffee houses in which to relax and watch life go by. We liked to walk into the city centre through the wonderful Botanic Gardens, but there are tram stops near by for a quicker journey.
We will always be attracted to accommodation with individuality and character. The bigger branded hotels are not for us. The Hatton delivered on all counts!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, and for highlighting our uniqueness! Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
72
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here a as gift from a friend and couldn't have been more pleased.

The hotel is in a beautiful old house located in a very quiet residential street between 3 parks (including the beautiful Botanical Gardens). There are a number of really nice restaurants nearby and a convenience store at the end of the road (all nor more than 2 minute away). There is also a tram that goes directly to the heart of the CBD which stops literally at the front gate - perfect.

When entering the hotel you really get a feeling of entering something with such history and stories to tell. The building has been lovingly decorated to keep its character whilst at the same time adding its own twist with the art and styling.

The staff were great, so friendly and welcoming, and seemed really interested in you - makes change from the larger chains who don't seem that interested. It was at this point we found out the hotel offers free wifi and continental breakfast which was a really nice surprise. Where else can you get that. There was also a roof terrace which we could use and take food and drink up there. You must go here, the views of the CBD are spectacular!

The room was great too, absolutely huge with a seperate pantry and outside courtyard and really big, antique furniture. They are tastefully decorated and feel like you are staying at a big country manor somewhere! Loved the L'occitane toiletries too!

Breakfast is served in the lovely reception/dining area and included some really tasty fresh bread, pastries, coffee. tea etc all you can expect but again served with a smile from the staff.

Really cant recommend it enough. Location, service, room and experience were all A*, you felt like you were at home you are made to feel that comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the lower floor that have the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, we are very pleased you felt the Hotel to be a home away from home, Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

i have stayed at the Hatton several times previously for business in a standard room, however this time i travelled with my wife for a four day stay in so we upgraded to a superior room

as always the decor was warm, the staff were very friendly and knowledgable, the amenities were as you would expect in a boutique hotel, and the breakfast options are just what you need to kick-start the day without going over the top.

the location is close enough to the city that you can easily get around yet far enough out to be relaxing, so if you don’t need to be in the heart of town - this is where I would stay

we’ll be back

Room Tip: all rooms a great, but i would stay on the upper floor or at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much. It has always been our aim to create regular custom, and your positive comments are proof of that. We are pleased your wife got to enjoy the Hotel with you this trip.
We look forward to welcoming you back again- Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the fifth time I've stayed here (usually for a week at a time) and it's a wonderful place. When you walk into the Hatton it smells lovely - you just know it's achieved that perfect combination of homeliness and sophistication. There is nothing to criticise about this place - from the proximity to the wonderful Botanical Gardens and the restaurants of South Yarra (Da Noi and France Soir not to be missed!), to the tram stop directly out the front, to the Yarra River almost on the doorstep winding its way into the central city, to the friendly low-key staff and to the fabulous breakfasts - I love this place! Oh, and the views from the upstairs rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive review, we do our best to create a homely atmosphere as our point of difference whilst retaining an elegant edge, and we are pleased you have picked up on this- Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at the Hatton recently whilst on business, I hired he meeting room which was in just near the very stylish reception area, it worked well for my purposes, the staff were fantastic and the overall feel of the Hatton is divine. My standard room was tiny however had everything i needed and felt fresh . Lovely toiletries , tea etc etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Hatton.
I am glad you took advantage of our meeting room facilities, often it goes unnoticed by guests but for those on business can certainly be a convenience to them. The room is often used as well for fashion/product showings due to our location. I'm glad you appreciated the hotel and enjoyed your stay also. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Boutique hotel in good location close to tram and bus. Interesting decor with ?Vietnamese artefacts in communal area. Comfortable bar/breakfast room with attentive and interested staff.

Stayed four nights. Recommended as breakfast, internet and coffee/tea all included in price - unlike other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Australia.

Room Tip: Beware at least one room (ours) had six steps up from bedroom to bathroom - not for the less agile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
In relation to the steps in your room, we do try our best to make it known that some rooms are split level in design (one of the difficulties in using such an old building!) for those potential guests out there who would see this as a difficulty please request a room without the split level upon booking.
Thanks for the review once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really liked the style of this hotel - it feels like staying at a very stylish old house. Our room was airy and spacious with high ceilings and fitting antique furnishings and the bathroom was more modern (and supplied with lovely L'Occitane toiletries). The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

The location is really good - there is a tram stop outside and you can get into the centre of the city in 10-15 minutes. It is also close to a lovely park.

We stayed on a Saturday night and were able to park for free on the street outside.

My only small complaint is that the breakfast is a bit of a protein-free zone. I am on a diet that means I cannot eat carbohydrates or sugars (so no fruit or dairy) and there was literally nothing I could eat. I am used to travelling in Europe where even the cheapest guest house has a basket of boiled eggs or a plate of cold meats, so the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment given the price of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our Hotel.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the location, the aesthetics of the room and the L'Occitane toiletries.
We have taken on board your comments regarding the breakfast and will use those in our next review of our continental breakfast to try to further improve it.
Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.