We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice old building, worth a stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hatton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hatton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hatton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good location, nice old building, worth a stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

this easy to find hotel is located in a very quiet nice area close to the botanical garden and other parks. Nice relaxing walks around, between green and nature. Rooms are very large (we had a superior room), with a small terrace/garden enclosed. Breakfast is served in the pub/reception/breakfast area, a multiactivity area where it is nice to stop and relax. The parking is very small (2 spots) but quiet. Just behind the hotel. There is a tram stopping in front of the hotel. WIFI available, although i had some issues with the connection. Maybe a bit expensive, but worth a stay. The building is nice and decorated in a very peculiar way. Beautiful view from the terrace.

Room Tip: ask for a good view from top floors or choose the rooms with the additional patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
lucabran, thank you for your honest review.
Unfortunately we are limited by space for parking due to the historic nature of the hotel and its location in a residential neighborhood. We have 4 dedicated spaces for guests at the rear of the hotel to service our 20 rooms. On the plus side also, being a residential zone it is quite safe and you can park on the hotel side of the street during the day for up to 2 hours and for an unlimited time overnight. We are constantly doing our best to improve and keep up with the wireless technology and we appreciate you had some difficulties with it. We have taken your comment on board and will do our best to improve it.
Thanks again for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    61
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
86
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great location with excellent restaurants and cafes a short walk away.Number 8 tram stops outside the door and only a short trip to Central Mebourne e.g Collins Street. Large spacious room with a surprising hiden away kitchenette.

Wonderful large original windows that unfortunately rattle in the wind if you don't use/see the rubber wedges sitting on the window sill ready to be jammed into the large sash gaps. Parking is extremely limited. Hotel only has 4 spaces but they can provide a resident parking permit allowing unlimited parking time in 1-2 hour street parking spaces. Front entrance stairs and internal stairs may present problems to the elderly or disabled.

Room Tip: Upstairs not facing front as tram passes by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Manager at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you TOz_11 for your positive review, with the helpful feedback we believe we have now solved the problem of the rattling antique sash windows, no more rubber wedges!
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from our honeymoon stay at The Hatton and what a fantastic place to stay. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in a superior room which was kitted out with amazing furniture and gave us a little extra space for our extended stay. Breakfast was included and was simply fab. Hoping hubby will book hotel for 1st Wedding anniversary!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Hatton. We always enjoy seeing Honeymooners returning on anniversaries and it would be great to see you again! It was our pleasure to have you. As an aside, our very first guests spent their wedding night at The Hatton and have returned many times since to relive old memories!

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Friendly staff, good, clean, well equipped rooms. Nice bed. Fantastic breakfast and a nice porch to eat breakfast on if the weather is good. Staff was very helpfull and if I ever need to stay in the city again I will be back! Half hour walk through the gardens to get to Fed Square was nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Having lived in this area most of my life, I have always appreciated the location and being able to walk or take advantage of Melbourne’s famous trams, to get to many landmarks and the beautiful parks and gardens. We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This gorgeous inner suburban hotel gives you that great feeling of how it would be to live in this hip neighborhood. Tram stop right outside, a few minutes ride to the city, Toorak Road walking distance and local dining handy. They serve a continental breakfast, and wines in the evening... The rooms are big and airy, with eclectic furnishings, high ceilings, modern bathroom, small kitchenette in our room and lovely linens, good beds. So old-style Melbourne from a gone-by era. Highly recommended, we have stayed there 3 times over the last 10 years and always consistently good. There's a great roof top garden sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
We are so pleased you got that great feeling of how it would be to live in this neighbourhood. We try hard to give a unique experience that set us apart from the hotel chains, and a large part of that is our location being set amongst one of Melbourne’s premier residential areas.

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hatton last week and was more then happy with everything.
Just a small thing a very poor bar selection,continental breakfast and coffee very good and newspapers.
Walking distance to good restaurants, tram out side
Bed room a little sparse but lovely big bed.
I will use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ground floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adh65, Owner at The Hatton Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback- we always appreciate the honesty so we can improve the hotel. We are currently looking at improving the bar selection and will soon have a new wine list with a focus on interesting small local wineries. Unfortunately we are bound by certain constraints, we are housed in a partially heritage listed building, being a uniquely small hotel (only 20 rooms) and being in a residential area all impact on the size of our bar and who we can or can’t serve based on licensing regulations. However given these constraints we do always aim to please and are working hard to improve the bar area! Thanks again for choosing the Hatton.

Regards
Andrew Hatton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The Hatton is a beautiful small hotel located in South Yarra a short walk away from Toorak and with excellent restaurants and shops close by. There is a tram stop directly out front that takes you into the centre of Melbourne just 10mins away.The continental breakfast is lovely with cereals, fruit, pastries etc and the staff friendly and helpful providing dining and shopping suggestions. This was our second stay and we will return. Completely different from large impersonal hotels with a special feel about it. On the downside, room needs a spring clean, not dirty but dusty and door frames grubby. Prefer room on upper level as some noise on lower level.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hatton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hatton Hotel

Address: 65 Park Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hatton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hatton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatton Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hatton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.