We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - So Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   140 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest Hero on Russell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location - So Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great hotel - covers all the bases. Is pretty cheap for the location. Its just so close to everything flinders lane, flinders street, bourke street, chinatown its onyl about 10min walk to sth bank. - brilliant

the couchs are comfy too which is nice. the shower a fabulous pressure. The bahtroom a little tired but otherwise the rooms were nice - a little bland but you cant complain at that. Nice staff. well recommended

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can as those rooms have balcony's. still a little noisey but just as its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    49
    20
    8
See reviews for
67
21
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Quest Hero on Russell is in a great location! It's a little hard to find on a one way road, however one there its fine. Not all rooms have a view, however that's understandable being in the middle of a city and I wasn't in the room enough to care. The front desk staff were great, especially Louise. Is a place I would stay at again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

was given wrong room, a smaller apartment then what I paid for,
Then waited an hour for reception staff to return to fix the problem.
when I got to my correct room, the bedding wasn't what I asked.
Room was untidy, floor stains scuff marks.
One bathroom even though specifies an ensuite. windows don't block out enough noise and was charged an extra $300 by "accident " and they couldn't contact me about their mistake for two-three days, only plus side where the comfy beds and big bath.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here from the 21st to 31st October 2013. Very happy with the accommodation - very clean, a well equipped kitchen, a good size bathroom with separate shower and bath and two nice bedrooms. The lounge area is quite small but this is inner city accommodation and so was to be expected. The apartment was modern and well maintained - hard to fault really. I'd recommend asking for at least the 8th floor as it appears that the lower floors don't have balconies whereas 8th and up did. Also it's in a busy location and I have read that the lower floors can get some traffic noise. We couldn't hear any outside noise in our apartment. The daily room service was excellent and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. For a location in the heart of Melbourne at a fair room rate I'd recommend it very highly and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights for the Melbourne Marathon and was pleasantly surprised considering some of the negative reviews which I only read after booking and unfortunately at that time it is difficult to get reasonably priced accommodation
We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor and it was very nice...it was very clean and tidy.
Don't be put off by the shabby reception area as the staff without exception where extremely pleasant and helpful. Wasn't too thrilled about leaving our bags there as our room wasn't ready on arrival but it was incident free.
There was a king size bed in the main room and a single in the tiny(windowless)second room but the beds would have been one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
As for the location it was fantastic...so close to everything
If staying with a family would definitely recommend
I just think that when you stayed in these type of places it is just the luck of the draw as they are privately owned

Room Tip: It seems to be to your advantage if you can go up higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was a bit concerned when booking into the Quest Hero. I requested a higher floor room and was granted this without issue. The apartment itself was clean and spacious. On arrival I found the kitchen poorly equipped - i.e. no potato peeler, chopping board, strainer or frying pan but after speaking to staff these were in the room by the following day without any drama's. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and this goes a long way in terms of being happy where we are staying. I had to giggle at some of the finishings such as clothes dryer erected on wall the right side up, meaning when turning it on, the controls were at the top of the ceiling and could only be reached by standing on a chair. (No big issue for us!). The wardrobes couldn't be accessed easily as they were opening doors (instead of sliding doors) ... no big issue for us we just moved one of the bedside tables to another part of the room and then could access the plenty of wardrobe space easily. The power-point in the bathroom was inside the mirrored cupboard so you just had to work around this when blow drying your hair and you def couldn't leave the appliance plugged in - there was no bench space in the bathroom. However all of these things are easy to work around so it didn't worry us at all and it's more the owners/builders poor design rather than anything to do with Quest Management. In terms of all the comments regarding the excessive noise - when myself/husband/children were asleep we didn't hear the garbage trucks at all but when we were awake we could hear them and they didn't disturb us in the slightest and they definitely didn't wake us up! The location was fantastic easy walking distance everywhere and with a café right downstairs for coffee's & brekkie and a pastry shop on the corner it was great (I recommend the cranberry, walnut & white chocolate roll). Overall the nightly rate and space of the apartment were good and the staff were extremely helpful & friendly so I would definitely recommend the Quest Hero and stay there again on our next visit to wonderful Melbourne.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a deluxe 2 bedroom as both bedrooms are spacious and have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Beach, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

ask for early checkin was told would be arranged, phoned before leaving Geelong at 10am was told our room would be ready at 12,noon on arrival at 1pm was told the room wouldn't be ready untill 2pm , i ask if there was somewhere we could leave our bags and was told we could leave them in the Foyer outside the Elevator with several other guests luggage, when we eventually got into our room which was booked as a king, Queen room we found 1 Queen bed and 3 Singles and had to wait for Housekeeping to sort it out, the Apartment was spacious but there were handmarks all on the cupboards, hair on the floor in bathrooms and laundry the cloths dryer had so much black dust on it was not what i would expect from a Quest Property as i stay with them often and is the first time i have experienced anything like this, also the chap on Reception really needs to have a lesson in people skills....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,435 reviews
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#38 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel

Address: 140 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest Hero on Russell)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome from the owners and staff at 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel Our style 140 Little Collins is a fully serviced small boutique apartment hotel located within the Fender Katselidis iconic redevelopment of the historic 1948 Melbourne Telephone Exchange; the Hero Apartment Building. Our location Conveniently positioned in the cosmopolitan and stylish ‘Paris quarter’ or ‘top end’ of Melbourne’s CBD, we are just one block from the elegant tree lined boulevard of Collins Street, with its classic trams, historic buildings and chic designer boutiques. Our leisure guests You will find us within easy walking distance of the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Federation Square, Southbank, the Bourke Street Mall, theatres, cinemas and all manner of shopping, from designer to outlet, and including supermarkets and all night convenience stores. We are located within the Free Tram Zone and other well known destinations are just a short tram ride away; Bridge Road, Lygon Street, Melbourne Zoo, the Melbourne Aquarium and Queen Victoria Market, to name a few. Parliament Station, two minutes walk away, is our link to the Melbourne underground loop and the Victorian rail network. Melbourne’s cultural heart is within walking distance; the National Gallery of Victoria, NGV at Fed Square, live theatre and music venues, any number of museums, and we can direct you to the hidden laneways and graffiti art for which Melbourne is famous. Our corporate guests We offer a home away from home with ample space and free wifi in all apartments. Melbourne’s business precinct is just minutes away, and you can enjoy proximity to the corporate world in a fantastic location without being isolated from all that Melbourne has to offer. Our apartments 140 Little Collins offers spacious contemporary one, two and three bedroom apartments, often with more than one bathroom. Air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens, private laundry facilities, and separate lounge and dining areas are standard in our apartments. Natural light abounds through floor to ceiling windows designed to take advantage of striking city views. Some apartments have small balconies extending from the lounge room allowing you to soak up the sights and sounds of the city. Due to the high end architectural design, occasional surprises such as lofts, vaulted ceilings or quirky industrial nooks can be found in some apartments. Curved walls, and quality fittings, marble and granite abound. Each apartment is strikingly different, and a surprising alternative to hotel accommodation and normal box type apartments. Our services Our front reception is open 7 days a week 8am to 9pm. Staff there will gladly advise on what to see and do in our wonderful city. We know Melbourne well and we are happy to share our knowledge. We can arrange car rental, airport transfers, trips and tours, pantry shopping, in fact, even special surprises; flowers, chocolates, theatre tickets … just let us know, and we’ll do our best! We look forward to attending to all your needs during your time with us. Alex, Marina, Louise, and staff of 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hero On Russell Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Melbourne Quest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.