We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   140 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest Hero on Russell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights for the Melbourne Marathon and was pleasantly surprised considering some of the negative reviews which I only read after booking and unfortunately at that time it is difficult to get reasonably priced accommodation
We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor and it was very nice...it was very clean and tidy.
Don't be put off by the shabby reception area as the staff without exception where extremely pleasant and helpful. Wasn't too thrilled about leaving our bags there as our room wasn't ready on arrival but it was incident free.
There was a king size bed in the main room and a single in the tiny(windowless)second room but the beds would have been one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.
As for the location it was fantastic...so close to everything
If staying with a family would definitely recommend
I just think that when you stayed in these type of places it is just the luck of the draw as they are privately owned

Room Tip: It seems to be to your advantage if you can go up higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    55
    44
    14
    7
See reviews for
46
15
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was a bit concerned when booking into the Quest Hero. I requested a higher floor room and was granted this without issue. The apartment itself was clean and spacious. On arrival I found the kitchen poorly equipped - i.e. no potato peeler, chopping board, strainer or frying pan but after speaking to staff these were in the room by the following day without any drama's. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and this goes a long way in terms of being happy where we are staying. I had to giggle at some of the finishings such as clothes dryer erected on wall the right side up, meaning when turning it on, the controls were at the top of the ceiling and could only be reached by standing on a chair. (No big issue for us!). The wardrobes couldn't be accessed easily as they were opening doors (instead of sliding doors) ... no big issue for us we just moved one of the bedside tables to another part of the room and then could access the plenty of wardrobe space easily. The power-point in the bathroom was inside the mirrored cupboard so you just had to work around this when blow drying your hair and you def couldn't leave the appliance plugged in - there was no bench space in the bathroom. However all of these things are easy to work around so it didn't worry us at all and it's more the owners/builders poor design rather than anything to do with Quest Management. In terms of all the comments regarding the excessive noise - when myself/husband/children were asleep we didn't hear the garbage trucks at all but when we were awake we could hear them and they didn't disturb us in the slightest and they definitely didn't wake us up! The location was fantastic easy walking distance everywhere and with a café right downstairs for coffee's & brekkie and a pastry shop on the corner it was great (I recommend the cranberry, walnut & white chocolate roll). Overall the nightly rate and space of the apartment were good and the staff were extremely helpful & friendly so I would definitely recommend the Quest Hero and stay there again on our next visit to wonderful Melbourne.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a deluxe 2 bedroom as both bedrooms are spacious and have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Beach, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

ask for early checkin was told would be arranged, phoned before leaving Geelong at 10am was told our room would be ready at 12,noon on arrival at 1pm was told the room wouldn't be ready untill 2pm , i ask if there was somewhere we could leave our bags and was told we could leave them in the Foyer outside the Elevator with several other guests luggage, when we eventually got into our room which was booked as a king, Queen room we found 1 Queen bed and 3 Singles and had to wait for Housekeeping to sort it out, the Apartment was spacious but there were handmarks all on the cupboards, hair on the floor in bathrooms and laundry the cloths dryer had so much black dust on it was not what i would expect from a Quest Property as i stay with them often and is the first time i have experienced anything like this, also the chap on Reception really needs to have a lesson in people skills....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our rooms were on the 5th floor so when booking would request a room on one of the higher floors as it was very noisy & no views. Our rooms could do with a big makeover, Blinds in main bedroom broken, rooms dark as we had to pull the blinds down as workers in the office opposite looked straight in our lounge. 2nd room had no window so very dark & dingy. On the up-side the location was great, easy to get around the city & walking distance to Rod Laver arena. Overall very disappointing as it wasn't cheap, wouldn't stay here again & wouldn't recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked into the Quest Hero in Russell St and were lucky to get upgraded to splendid big apartment on 11th floor. Great start with the very friendly and helpful receptionist. Apartment is spacious, impeccably clean and well fitted out, excellent location. Would recommend it and will certainly stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose the deluxe 2 bedroom apartment for our 5 night stay and were lucky to get on the 11th floor. It gave great views over looking the city which is prettier at night. We found the city to be quite quiet and that's from 2 people who live in the sticks! The balcony door and windows block out a lot of city sounds when closed. the only thing I really noticed was the rubbish truck for about 10 minutes around 6am or so. But I didn't find that any major issue. The apartment was very clean - even the bedding. Bro likes to travel with his body fluid torch and glasses. We were both very pleased with the results! They also use pillow and mattress protectors which should be law, but is surprising how many places don't bother. We felt secure with the elevator system...no card device, no ride! The staff were always friendly. The apartment had so many spare blankets which is a huge bonus in my opinion....it's not fun freezing at night in a strange place. The aircon unit is in the dinning room, but warmed the whole apartment beautifully. The washer and dryer are so handy. Lounge is very cosy and comfy. It featured a large tv and full kitchen. They also offer free toiletries as well as dishing washing liquid, dishwasher powder, dish cloth and sponge.
You must take out your rubbish - I know some people complain, but just because you're on holidays is no excuse to be a pig and the rubbish chutes are found on each floor.....couldn't be easier! The only complaint I would have is that the free internet didn't work for us. The router was restarted a few times by the staff cause others weren't able to access it either. Fortunately we took a portable gadget and used an Aldi sim card in it to use the net for our stay......worked a charm. Melbourne isn't a city I like or have any intentions of ever visiting again, but if I lost my mind and returned, I would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend Quest Hero if you want luxury in a great location to everything the CBD has to offer with trams not far from your door step. I wouldn't say it's for those on a very cheap budget, but for the price you do get quality, cleanliness and security.

Room Tip: When researching Quest Hero, I read that the standard 2 bedroom room apartments often had a full roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Quest Hero on Little Collins St for a week in a 2bedroom apartment. Perfect location, friendly and very helpful staff. The apartment was well equipped on second floor and serviced each day.
Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel

Address: 140 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest Hero on Russell)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hero On Russell Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Melbourne Quest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 140 Little Collins Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.