We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Hero on Russell

Save Saved
You added Quest Hero on Russell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest Hero on Russell
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   140 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just wanted to report back on the great location of this accommodation. Stayed a couple of nights and the room was good and found the location was close to everything, transport, food, theatres etc. The little bakery, Brioche, on the corner of Lt Collins and Russell was awesome with perfect coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    45
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
38
10
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We've stayed 3 nights here (Jun 29-Jul 2). We booked 2 BR which has a spacious, clean and full furnished. Our room was #907, it's really a quiet room...we can sleep well. The location is perfect, just a short walk to Fed Square, Flinders Station. There's a tram stop in front of Flinders Station to get free tram and in front of St. Paul's Cathedral to get free bus. There's a lot of restaurants and shops at Swanston Street/China Town, you just need to cross the road from Flinders Station to get there. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. There's free wi-fi in the room. We will come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent location. The apartment we were allocated (2 bedroom) had dirty carpet in the lounge area, some previous guests have spilt Asian food. Our apartment had not been vacuumed after last guests, the balcony was filthy. I put my fingers under the very marked dining table, and touched some very yucky surfaces. The bathroom shower needs a good scrub. We had pre booked 4 nights, so could not cancel, only serviced 2 days of stay, only got clean very small towels, no wipe over of bathroom, very slack housekeeping. Needs total refurb. Air conditioner does not operate, heater in lounge is broken, pillows hard and smelly. If you are bringing your car, drive a small one, car park very difficult to get in and out of. We are trying another Quest today in Warrnambool and it is fab.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

When we arrived the duty maanger was very pleasant and the room was everything we needed. Clean, plenty of room and very central. We went for a walk down to Elizabeth street which only took a few minutes and returned to our room about 9.30pm.
Things went downhill from there. The next door room obviously had people around and they had their music very loud. There is no-one on reception after 9pm so we couldn't get anyone to talk to them about the noise. However the huge storm outside soon out blasted their noise levels.
The following morning we awoke to what we assumed was still heavy rain but no - this was the noise from the air-conditioning unit across the road. This continued 24/7 for our whole stay.
Early each morning the building sites across the road started work and noise levels grew from there.
The last two nights were the worst though. The first night, starting at 10pm, someone started kango hammering the concrete on the street outside. Then they loaded the concrete into a truck with a digger. This continued until the early hours. No-one was on reception to deal with this so we approached them the next morning. Basically we were told that Council did their own thing and that they didn't have to follow noise rules. Nothing the hotel could do about it although they had been aware of it happening the previous week,
The next night they brought out the concrete cutters. Fortunately we got hold of reception before they closed and they gave us a key to a room higher up so we could move if it got too loud.
5 nights of very little sleep made for some very ratty tourists by the time we checked out.
Also you need to be aware of the fact that rooms don't get serviced on Sunday's so we had no clean towels etc. We hadn't been told this but if you read the information folder it is hidden in there fairly obcurely. And the linen wasn't changed on the beds in the whole five nights we stayed either.
This wasn't a cheap hotel at all and whilst the staff were pleasant enough the noise levels made for a pretty miserable stay.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street noise. Remember no servicing of rooms on Sundays!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed twice at Quest Hero and have found it very clean and with modern furnishings. Have stayed in a 3 bedroom and a 2 bedroom both equally good. Very convenient only 2 blocks from QV and Parliament Station. One block from Bourke Street Mall. Very happy with the service and happily stay here again. The balconies are tiny but they do exist.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto little collins st have a view. If you stay on a level above 7 you have to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on the third floor for four nights including a weekend. As others have already said, it gets quite noisey with the early morning garbage collection.

The one bedroom apartment was clean and generally spacious. However, things are getting a little old with carpet stains, discoloured grouting etc.

These apartments do not have 24 hr reception, if that is something you value. The staff I came across were generally friendly and courteous.

In a similar price range, I would recommend you try the Citidines on Bourke, which is almost next door to this Quest. This is much newer and therefore cleaner feeling.

Alterbatively, if you are not specifically looking for an apartment, I recommend you try the Victoria Hotel, which is just down the road. The heritage rooms are nicely renovated and they are a lot cheaper.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have been holidaying in Melbourne every year for the last 6 years, at least once a year, and sometimes twice a year. I deal with Darren direct and he is a legend, and has always taken good care of me/us to the point where when I know I am going to Melbourne, I don't bother looking anywhere else to stay, I just ring Darren.

I have no idea why the previous people chose to bag Quest Hero Apartments so badly, as I know Darren well and know he is so not like that at all. Remember, there is always 2 sides to every story people - time to build a bridge and get over yourselves I think !!!!

The apartments are always kept clean, and if there has ever been any issues (which are few and far between) they have always been addressed and rectified in a timely manner. I have recommended others to stay there, and they have also said they were more than happy with the accommodation and service, as I knew they would, hence why I have no hesitation to recommend these apartments

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Hero on Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hero on Russell

Address: 140 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Hero on Russell 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Quest Hero on Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hero On Russell Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Melbourne Quest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Hero on Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.