We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Hero on Russell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Hero on Russell to your Saves list
Quest Hero on Russell
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   140 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Tassie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed twice at Quest Hero and have found it very clean and with modern furnishings. Have stayed in a 3 bedroom and a 2 bedroom both equally good. Very convenient only 2 blocks from QV and Parliament Station. One block from Bourke Street Mall. Very happy with the service and happily stay here again. The balconies are tiny but they do exist.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto little collins st have a view. If you stay on a level above 7 you have to change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    38
    12
    4
See reviews for
41
12
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on the third floor for four nights including a weekend. As others have already said, it gets quite noisey with the early morning garbage collection.

The one bedroom apartment was clean and generally spacious. However, things are getting a little old with carpet stains, discoloured grouting etc.

These apartments do not have 24 hr reception, if that is something you value. The staff I came across were generally friendly and courteous.

In a similar price range, I would recommend you try the Citidines on Bourke, which is almost next door to this Quest. This is much newer and therefore cleaner feeling.

Alterbatively, if you are not specifically looking for an apartment, I recommend you try the Victoria Hotel, which is just down the road. The heritage rooms are nicely renovated and they are a lot cheaper.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have been holidaying in Melbourne every year for the last 6 years, at least once a year, and sometimes twice a year. I deal with Darren direct and he is a legend, and has always taken good care of me/us to the point where when I know I am going to Melbourne, I don't bother looking anywhere else to stay, I just ring Darren.

I have no idea why the previous people chose to bag Quest Hero Apartments so badly, as I know Darren well and know he is so not like that at all. Remember, there is always 2 sides to every story people - time to build a bridge and get over yourselves I think !!!!

The apartments are always kept clean, and if there has ever been any issues (which are few and far between) they have always been addressed and rectified in a timely manner. I have recommended others to stay there, and they have also said they were more than happy with the accommodation and service, as I knew they would, hence why I have no hesitation to recommend these apartments

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed here for the weekend, let me just tell you i will be going as far as i can to let people know about darren the rudest man i have ever dealt with, rooms were filthy, stairs are creaky, bathrooms had no power point which is beyond crazy, no mirrors apart from bathroom, internet very inconsistent, to top it off i was charged the next day on my credit card for "EXTRA CLEANING" called up to see what "EXTRA CLEANING" was needed darren rudely told me they we had left to much rubbish is this a joke i was charged for leaving rubbish is this why we stay at hotels and why the have house keeping, trying to argue the point he hang up on me and told me i was a fool, i would not recommend this place for any one

Room Tip: dont come here is you want the worst service no power points in bathroom no toilet paper very dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The apartments are in a great location and are good value for the price. We had a three bedroom apartment on the 11th floor. Great views, separate internal laundry, two bathrooms, full kitchen. There was plenty of room and two of the king size beds were remade into 4 singles as requested. The beds were very comfortable. Yes there is noise in the area, especially on Saturday night but the down town location makes up for this. The noise didn't really disturb us but a city location will always have traffic, garbage truck and people noise. The upside is that everything is in walking distance or close to the free tram that loops the city or other tram and train connections. These apartments are really for independent travellers who don't need hotel services. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful although we did have two maintenance issues with the apartment. One was notified on arrival with the air conditioning temp control not working but the weather was mild so that was no problem. We ran into trouble with one staff member Pia who was rude regarding a very strong mouldy smell in the 2nd shower. Housekeeping attempted to resolve this the next day but we were told it was a known problem with that shower. Known? I don't understand then why it wasn't fixed and why the staff member was short and rude at my request. The other staff were very friendly and kindly looked after our luggage after check out on the last day. Thanks especially to Courtney who handled our booking and made herself known to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with bedrooms away from the back lane way. There are two elevators. The quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for a week recently on the tenth floor. At $150/night for an apartment with a full kitchen in a central area it was good value. BUT , the unit we were in was poorly maintained . The carpets have been spot cleaned but are badly stained , the manager advised that this unit is due for new carpets in June ( and the price will go up at the same time) . The sofa is old and tired, if you sat anywhere except right in the middle you sank down nearly to the floor.
The kitchen was poorly equipped, it had one frying pan with a loose handle and a small saucepan. The food preparation equipment was minimal, doing veges with a bread knife was a new experience.
We were surprised by the night time noise level on the tenth floor, it could really do with double glazing.
The location could not be better, it is right in the centre of the city with easy access to public transport .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed at the quest hero for 4 nights in march. the appartment was very spacious and very comfy. we stayed on the 5th level, I had read earlier reports that it was noisy, yes you are staying in a city so expect traffic, emercency vehicles, but this did not imped my sleep.
The staff were very friendly and helpful on reception,
My only some thing that wasn't up to standard was the second bedroom, which was more like a closet, with no hanging space for clothes.
Apart from this it has a great location and would recommend this as a place to stay next in melbourne

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Hero on Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Hero on Russell

Address: 140 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quest Hero on Russell 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Quest Hero on Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hero On Russell Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Melbourne Quest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Hero on Russell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.