We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable serviced apartments in a renovated 19th century building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Gordon Place to your Saves list
Quest Gordon Place
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   24 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Bondi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable serviced apartments in a renovated 19th century building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here recently for a weekend in a one bedroom apartment away from the street. The best thing about the apartments is the building, being a renovated apartment building from the 19th century with a central courtyard and great original features.
The apartment was spacious and quiet but a little worn in some areas, the kitchen is well set up with appliances but then hardly any kitchenware is supplied. Internet up to 300mb/day is available by cable but not wi-fi.
The location is great, being at one end of Little Bourke St so close to some great places to eat and drink.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street if you want a sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wavesBondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Charming architecture, full of history and great location. Service over Easter was non-existent and state of room was really poor. Carpet was feral and state of bathroom left a lot to be desired. Sauna wasn't working properly and gym facilities do not constitute a gym. Location and look of building only saving grace. Very creaky floors above and below - do don't expect a quiet and tranquil place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Elinor B,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Quest Gordon Place. I apologise that your experience did not live up to your expectations and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact our Client Relations Manager on (03 9663 2888) or by email sgemmell@questapartments.com.au so that we can discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Charming place. Old architecture in the city center. Loved it. Room is very comfortable. Ideally located at the end of Chinatown. Clean. Quiet. Good value for money. Only problem was the sauna out of order. Nice swimming pool.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rachono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The apartment we got was grubby and careworn -bench tops were tacky; taps in the bathroom and kitchen were leaking; the kitchen one leaked behind the bench causing a mouldy smell through the kitchen area; a small pile of dust and hair was collected behind the toilet door; the halogen downlight in the bathroom was hanging down by the wire; there was no extractor fan in the toilet and the window wouldn't open; all the windows were dirty. The dishwasher came out of the cabinet when you tried to open the door, but this is not a concern because they only give you two plates, two cups, two knives etc - you're not going to use the dishwasher everytime you have a snack. Service is not a strong point: I asked if I could check in for my return flight - sorry not possible. Listen up management - you have a wonderful building, spacious apartments, convenient location and pleasant outlook - make the most of it with upgrading, bright decor and staff training.

Room Tip: Check the room first for cleanliness and things like leaky taps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 655peterK655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Check in quick and easy, as was checkout! Location was great, with in walking distance to everything we needed to visit. We had a two bedroom apartment which was roomy enough but most rooms needed a good clean.. Also outside our room, someone uses it as an ashtray..Overall this place has everything you need but housekeeping lets it down!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suthowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A return visit (I also stayed here last year) and this time with business colleagues and family. Definitely to return again. As before - a wonderful heritage building - great inner courtyards - very helpful and attentive staff. Love the brick! all colleagues were happy about staying there, they were in rooms in all parts of the building, and all have asked to return. and the little corner cafe (Petite Bourke) has good food and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rust-never-sleeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

These apartments are in a building with a lot of history which we found really interesting. It also means that the buildings are old fashioned - ie over a hundred years old. So it's not all that easy to get around, and not recommended if you find stairs difficult. We booked a one-bedroom apartment, and when we got into it found that the airconditioning didn't work, the bedroom window was jammed closed, and the shower didn't work (would not mix hot and cold). Not a good start! However, we asked to be moved, and they moved us to a completely different type of apartment at the front of the building (less spacious and modern in fit-out, but more interesting) where everything worked. (However even in that apartment the bathroom fittings were a bit shonky, and the shower wasn't clean.) We enjoyed the stay after that, and appreciated the pool on a hot weekend. We also liked the small touches, such as a small library area near the pool which would be great for people who have been travelling for a while.
The rooms are arranged around two internal courtyards, one covered and one not covered. If you like a lie-in you could well be annoyed, as we were, by inconsiderate early-riser guests talking loudly.
There is a small cafe for breakfast but as there are so many 7-11 stores nearby you probably don't need this. There are scores of restaurants within a few minutes' walk and it is handy for any city centre activity and theatres. Parking is a bit tricky in the recommended car park, but OK when you get the hang of it, although I would recommend bringing a small car if possible, to avoid stress.
This would definitely now be our first-choice for an apartment stay in the city centre, as it is so much nicer than the other soulless alternatives. However I would ring ahead and check which room I was getting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ert53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Ert53,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Quest Gordon Place. We agree that the beautiful building has a lot of character and this certainly provides a very unique accommodation option in Melbourne. I am glad to see that our staff were able to move you to an apartment that was more suitable to your needs. You may be aware that we are moving through the process of refurbishing this property - this month we will complete re-painting all apartments. Our next step is new furnishings.
It has been a long process for us but we certainly believe this property is moving in the right direction and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne again very soon. Do feel free to contact us prior to your next arrival if you prefer a certain room type or location within the property and we will do our best to accommodate your wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#132 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,532 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Address: 24 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. ***PLEASE NOTE: As of 1st June 2015 Quest on Lonsdale and Quest Gordon Place will operate from one combined Reception Desk open 24 hrs 7 days per week - located at 43 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. To check in for your booking at Quest Gordon Place please arrive with your booking documentation to 43 Lonsdale Street. *** This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This is a fully non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing