We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment Living” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Save Saved
You added Quest Gordon Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Gordon Place
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   24 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Apartment Living”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Quest Gordon Place was a bit of a surprise on entering. Didn't quite expect the long walk to reception. It is an old building so don't go expecting a modern building. Staff were very welcoming and helpful at all times. Lovely pool area, although I didn't get to use the pool. It is in a central place, with a short walk to Chinatown with a huge selection of good food and also a couple of good restaurants over the road. Also close to the free circular tram and other trams to get around. When I asked about a lift to go down to our room, I was told there was no lift, so they offered to take the suitcases down the 2 flight of stairs, but only need to ask the reception staff for help. Although I don't think we should have to ask, it should be an automatic service. My mother is 87, so it took a while for her to go up and down the stairs and she did comment on the dark carpet, dark bricks and poor lighting which made it difficult going up and down.
The people in the room above us walked very heavily on the floor, so we could hear them up until 11 pm some nights. The shower screeched until the hot water tap was turned on fully.
Apart from some negatives, our room, no 33 in the basement had easy access to the pool area and was very cool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Landie60
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us at Quest Gordon Place. It is always wonderful to hear positive feedback about our staff and we will be sure to share your feedback with the team at the property. May I suggest on your next stay to request a room on the ground floor or above, as there is just one floor below that does not have lift access. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    35
    32
    10
See reviews for
18
60
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rooms are really not in good conditions. Dirty windows and mouldy bathrooms. Horrible lift. I stayed there in january 2013 and i can say its the worst apartment i stayed in. The price they charge for is really not worth. There are really much more better hotels and apartments to stay with better prices and better facilities. When i checked in the room, i found a hair on my bed. Really disgusting. Will not come to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Belinda,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Quest Gordon Place. I apologise that your experience did not live up to your expectations and we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact our Client Relations Manager on (03 9663 2888) or by email sgemmell@questapartments.com.au so that we can discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for one night only - the reception area that greets u from little bourke st does not sell the property - grotty would be a word that comes to mind. Appreciating the historic significance of the building the hotel is not worth the money charged noting the following - our room stank of paint forcing us to leave all the windows open the whole time, toilets in public areas had no toilet paper and towels left lying around on the floor, reception was unattended when we wanted to get our bags resulting in us asking a passing cleaner if she could help us (which she couldn't) had to contemplate climbing over the reception desk to get our bags as needed to be at the airport.... Hotel generally feels unloved dirty and unprofessional much preferred my stay at the como which was significantly cheaper than this hotel.... Also thought the punt hotel seemed better...

Room Tip: Would prob suggest going elsewhere unless u get a deal of around $80/night which would b where I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Emma_L001,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Quest Gordon Place. You will obviously be aware that we are in the midst of refurbishing this property and most apartments are now being freshly painted. For the paint smell I can only apologise as this is an unfortunate and unavoidable side effect however please be assured that this is only a very short term issue.
I assure you we work diligently to continue improving our property and hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed there on Sat night and loved it. We had room 10 but unlike a previous review it was VERY clean. Sure it needs a paint job but we loved the character of the place. My husband is very very tall and hit his head a few times on the doorways (& bumped his knees on the door handles...) We were right overlooking Little Bourke St so it was a little noisy but we were prepared for that (the street sweepers & rubbish removers were noisier - or maybe it just felt like that early Sunday morning).
Staff were friendly but felt there could have been a little brochure showing where the parking was... I had to relay the info back to my husband - I was given instructions with hand gestures..."Turn right & right again" .. that and a strong accent wasnt great.
We enjoyed a swim in the afternoon (37c) and then sat in the atrium & read & had "happy hour" . We had breakfast at the little coffee shop next door...interesting menu but delicious.
We loved the quirkiness & history of the place & would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for one night on Friday night. Booked studio room - after reading about previous reports on rooms facing the street ( below street) that they were very noisy. SO TRUE. You will not sleep at all and to top it off the garbos come around at 6am. This is an ancient building so expect to see rough walls etc. Beware abou tparking fee you will need to walk a block or two to park. Its wil cost you 25 dollars. So make sure you can get a cheap rate from the hotel accomodation.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the block. Insist or dont bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear beachbird129,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Quest Gordon Place. For the noise disturbance you experienced we can only apologise, as being in the heart of Melbourne CBD it is of course impossible to eliminate all outside disturbances, although many of our guests comment that our great location more than makes up for it.
We do hope to see you back at Quest Gordon Place again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Gordon Place while we needed to be in Melbourne for treatment at Peter Mac for a six week period. Right from day one the staff were helpful, wonderful, caring and made our stay not so bad under the circumstances. We enjoyed the quietness and location of the hotel was fabulous. Its always a place we will appreciate. We loved the history of the building. It has a homely feel & staff are fantastic. Management do a very good job and they made us feel very welcome :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Rhonda,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Quest Gordon Place. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

a wonderful heritage building - great inner courtyards - very helpful and attentive staff. Had a one bedroom right down the bottom and the rear - so quiet - but nice to look out into the trees in the courtyard. Little Bourke St at the top end was quiet - and suggest you use the lane way to the right to go through to Lonsdale where there is a supermarket. Price was right for one night for a several of us on business. Definitely return for longer stay if the price stays at this level. Usually we stay around at the Mantra in Londsdale - but their one night price has become too expensive. so suggest you check this out. great value and very roomy and comfortable (the one bedroom units).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Address: 24 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This non-smoking property. Reception Hours are available between 7:00am - 11:00pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Gordon Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.