We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Gordon Place

Save Saved
You added Quest Gordon Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Gordon Place
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   24 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Morwell, Australia
2 reviews
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Gordon Place while we needed to be in Melbourne for treatment at Peter Mac for a six week period. Right from day one the staff were helpful, wonderful, caring and made our stay not so bad under the circumstances. We enjoyed the quietness and location of the hotel was fabulous. Its always a place we will appreciate. We loved the history of the building. It has a homely feel & staff are fantastic. Management do a very good job and they made us feel very welcome :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Rhonda,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Quest Gordon Place. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    34
    32
    10
See reviews for
18
56
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

a wonderful heritage building - great inner courtyards - very helpful and attentive staff. Had a one bedroom right down the bottom and the rear - so quiet - but nice to look out into the trees in the courtyard. Little Bourke St at the top end was quiet - and suggest you use the lane way to the right to go through to Lonsdale where there is a supermarket. Price was right for one night for a several of us on business. Definitely return for longer stay if the price stays at this level. Usually we stay around at the Mantra in Londsdale - but their one night price has become too expensive. so suggest you check this out. great value and very roomy and comfortable (the one bedroom units).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Disappointing, is what this place is. For the price and stars, I expected cleanliness. Bzzzt. Wrong.
My one-bedroom (10) looked very tired and looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned in a while.
I could turn a blind eye to the black stains on the warped carpet, the major scratches/dents on the wall, the grotty grouting in the shower but the cobwebs? There were too many to ignore. Please, for the love of Pete, take to those rooms with some elbow grease and a rag. The place is amazing, the history is doubly so but for the price, I should not be having 'eeeew' moments.
Trust, I do not have high standards, nor am I a clean freak. In fact, after many years of staying in hotels, this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to review...
The bed was amazing though. Comfiest one I've been in for quite some time, in fact. The front desk was very friendly and welcoming too. A refresh in the rooms (or maybe I was just unlucky with number 10?) would improve this place a thousand fold.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear LetMeIn78,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with Quest Gordon Place. Unfortunately it appears that we have not lived up to your expectations and for that we apologise. Please be assured that the standard of all of our guest rooms is our highest priority and the points you have mentioned will be looked into immediately. You mention a 'refresh' and happily we are about to begin re-painting in all apartments in the next month which we believe will have a huge impact. It is wonderful to see that you found our staff very friendly and welcoming - I hope you will feel welcome enough to come and stay again in the near future as I am sure we could improve on your previous stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Housed in an old building with a fascinating and sometimes infamous history, this comfortable hotel is superbly located in the middle of the Melbourne CBD. Lots of interesting laneways and restaurants around, and not far to trams or trains. We booked a studio but were upgraded to a huge 2 bedroom apartment, with a kitchen, dining room and large lounge and bathroom. All very comfy, pity we were only there for a night. The pool looked nice but of course it was too cold, the staff were very friendly, and they arrange parking for $20 a day in the car park behind in Lonsdale St. If I wanted to be picky I would say that they could wash the windows more often, they were really dirty, but then there wasn't much to see out of them anyway except a car park. Love the 100 year old palm in the courtyard!

Room Tip: Away from Little Bourke Street, lots of early morning noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QOL, Director of Sales at Quest Gordon Place, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Travelpossums
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us at Quest Gordon Place. We agree - our beautiful property does have a fascinating history and character which is completely unique in Melbourne. It is a pity you were only here for one night - so we look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hopefully for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Quest for 2 nights on one of the "dungeon" rooms on the bottom floor, which are below street level. Actually, despite what some other reviewer said, there is reasonable light if you open the curtain; and you can open the windows if you like, for fresh air. The room was small, but quite adequate for a short stay, with a comfortable double bed. Excellent kitchen facilities were provided. Also iron plus board, which we needed to use.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is well located if you want to be within walking distance of the Melbourne Cricket Ground and nearby sporting venues. It also has close access to both up market and cheap eats. What suprised me most was how dirty the public areas were. Not only small bits of rubbish on the floor and in the lift but stone flooring is badly stained as if all manner of drinks and food had been spilt and not cleaned up. Maybe this type of stone can't easily be cleaned but that doesnt explain the rubbish. It certainly gave a very bad first immpression. My room was a reasonable size, it had a small kitchen so it may what the hotel describes as a one bedroom appartment. I am pleased to say the room was a lot cleaner. Lighting in the room and bathroom was rather poor and difficult read by but other than that everything i tried worked. The place has hugh potential, particulrly if you like older buildings with a bit of character so it is a pity it gives the impression of being neglected. I dont think there is any inhouse breakfast service given the sign in the lift suggesting breakfast across the road and i didnt see a bar or any where to eat inhouse although it doesnt purport to be a hotel but rather "apartments". If you can get it at the right price and you want this location its OK.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street this is party territory and noise can be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Quest Gordon Place is in a fabulous location in the centre of Chinatown close to theatres and shopping. The free tram is a short walk from the door. It has exceptional staff for whom nothing was a problem. They cheerfully replaced room cards when there was a problem, organised internet access and sorted out tricky invoicing for a trip that mixed business and pleasure.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was spacious and comfortable and the pool was a hit with the kids. The up/down stairs might be a problem for less able bodied guests or families with prams but this wasn't an issue for us. There were other rooms that may have been more accessible. The lift doesn't service the rooms on the bottom floor. The hotel has limitations on layout based on the historic nature of the building (which is lovely - if you like that sort of thing as I do).
Organising breakfast in the recommended cafe across the road needed better explanation as you have to get a voucher from Quest before you go (required a dash back to get one). Not far to go fortunately.
In all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quest Gordon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Gordon Place

Address: 24 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Gordon Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest Gordon Place - a quality National Trust listed property which offers a unique and stylish accommodation option in the heart of Melbourne CBD. We offer a range of studio, one and two bedroom fully equipped apartments surrounding a beautiful inner courtyard, located in the heart of the world-renowned theatre district and the top end of bustling Chinatown. All guests have access to our onsite restaurant Deli 1884, outdoor heated swimming pool and BBQ area. Our room rates include broadband internet access (300MB daily limit) and local telephone calls. This spacious property is ideal for the business and leisure traveller offering fully equipped apartments including kitchen and laundry facilities and an outdoor heated pool. This non-smoking property. Reception Hours are available between 7:00am - 11:00pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Quest Gordon Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Gordon Place Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Gordon Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.