We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - a normal 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Causeway

Save Saved
You added Hotel Causeway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Causeway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location - a normal 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for Australian open tennis for 3 nights. It was a nice little 3 star hotel. Nothing extraordinary. The price is good value. Right in the middle of the city. The facilities are a little dated. But OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    73
    38
    17
    14
See reviews for
20
79
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here over the grand prix weekend having read positive reviews on Tripadvisor. I had a double room on the 5th (top) floor which was on the small side but was otherwise very comfortable, although the bathroom fittings were starting to show their age - bathroom had just a small shower with curtain but was fine. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but did make use of the gym, which had a running machine and a couple of stationary bikes and some weights machines, all of which were in pretty good condition and it's a good sized room - there is also a small steamroom but I didn't try that. Next to the gym is a rooftop terrace which is quite pleasant, although the views are of the surrounding low and high rise buildings. Staff were friendly and helpful - I arrived early so couldn't check in straight away, but my room was ready by 12 and they were happy to hold luggage etc. Location wise it's perfect for being in central Melbourne - just a short walk to Collins St/Elizabeth St etc so if you want to stay in the city centre, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked this hotel for my son after reading the reviews from other patrons. He was travelling overseas by himself for the first time. He needed a place where it is really convenient and easy to get transport to the Flemington Showgrounds.
This Hotel met all the criteria I was looking for. It was in a safe location in the city area and is a a couple of minutes walk to the nearest train station or Tram and the price was reasonable compared to other 3 star hotels in the area. It is in the Collins Street area son it has very convenient access to all the cafes and fast food places as well as shopping.
I booked this hotel through our American Express account with our AMEX points but also emailed the hotel directly to give specific request for a higher floor room, non smoking room and for early check in since his flight was arriving just after noon.
The customer service person from the Causeway hotel who responded to my email assured me that my requests will be registered with the reception but on arrival, my son reported that the receptionist was rather grumpy and had not met any of our request except for the non smoking room and they kep his luggage in storage while his room was being prepared . He was not able to access his room until 3pm and he was allocated a room on the second floor instead of a higher floor as requested.
Despite all that however, his stay was pleasant. The room was nice and modern and well kept and he really appreciate the location.

Room Tip: My son had a second floor room which had a very small window but it didn't matter for him since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway-Melbourne, General Manager at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good afternoon LotusJade,

Thank you for your review regarding your son's recent stay at Hotel Causeway. Can you please send me details of his stay (dates, room number etc) so I am able to investigate the concerns raised.
Many thanks
Paul Koenig - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Firstly its a fantastic location for the city shops and eateries. the night falls and you go to sleep and then they decide to empty the bins at 2 and 3.30 so the noise is shocking and keeps you awake. Apart from that ask to stay at the back of the hotel, then you may get a sleep

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Hotel Causeway and it has now become my regular hotel when I am in Melbourne for work and play!

The rooms are always immaculate, staff are friendly, polite and incredibly helpful, the location could not be better, and it really is excellent value for money.

I almost didn't want to write a review and have other people discover this hidden gem, but I think the staff and management deserve the praise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised as we had managed to book for a very reasonable rate. The location is great and it was easy to get around the cbd on foot. The breakfast wasn't the best I've ever had, although for the price we paid was absolutely fine (cereals, juice, yogurt, toast etc)! All the staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful - always said hello when we walked past reception. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great location which is quiet and decently sized room - this is about all the place has going for it.
Booked a premier spa room - when booking requested the room which had the spa overlooking a window, was told that they couldnt guarentee which room we would be in until closer to the date as it is subject to other bookings. However upon calling the night prior, I was told that we were definitely in that room - this was not the case when we arrived.
The room was a good size, however upon entering the bathroom, using the toilet was a tight squeeze! Once sitting you were only a few inches away from the toilet paper holder & wall infront of you - lucky we are both thin people! Furthermore the windows have been covered to obscure visability, but it has been done terribly - completely bubbled and peeling. The 'romantic' bath tub is surrounded by below average sealant jobs, and when i went to turn the cold handle for the shower it fell off!!
The room had the usual 'superfical', 'surface only' clean, with a stained carpet, chipped surfaces and needed a paint job desperately.
Air system is in dire need of replacement - had it on the coolest setting and highest power level, and the room was still stuffy and led to an uncomfortable sweaty sleep - and the temperature that day was only 27 degrees!
The bed was a generous size, however the we discovered that the very thin doona had no sheet cover! It was just layered on the bed between two other sheets - not sure how sanitary that is!
We were on level four and could hear either the air system or water system clearly on and off during the night.
Reception staff were nice enough, but nothing to rave about.
Location is great with lots of stores and cafes nearby.
Quality and value was below expectations and frankly almost embarassing considering it was meant to be a 'romantic' night in the city.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic trip. Would have been more suitale for a business or solo trip when you can overlook the paint job and quality etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne’s Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants.Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a large gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours.Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel’s close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes.Hotel Causeway’s central location allows guests to explore Melbourne’s unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafés and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.