We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service and Location EVER!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Causeway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Causeway to your Saves list
Hotel Causeway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Service and Location EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It's a great place for resting in peace and perfect for those people who love shopping. The room was cozy and relaxing. The housekeeping work is excellent! There's no dust when we came back for exploring Melbourne!!! It has a great breakfast with bread, cheese, meat and a good coffee maker machine. Be sure that the person in the lobby says Good Morning every time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    53
    20
    16
See reviews for
30
102
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is terrific although it's located in a lane way so you have to walk you bags a few shops in from the road.
We booked the loft room, you don't want to use the bathroom during the night as the trek down the metal staircase makes for loud footsteps and is very tricky. The biggest problem was that the lift makes continuous noise all night so sleep was broken to say the least. Even though the location was great we won't return as the room are very old and noisy.

Room Tip: as far away from the lift as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had two nights last week and found the Hotel Causeway to be excellent. We have no faults whatsoever! Our room was well equipped, everything worked and was in good condition. No marks etc on the walls, just the light coloured carpet that borders the brown room carpet was a little marked, but this was not a reflection on the housekeeping. We found the room was presented much cleaner than some of the 4+ star ratings places we have stayed at recently. Our tariff included breakfast which was very adequate, the dining/lounge room on the second floor offers a coffee machine/tea making facilities any time of the day. Complimentary chocolates and fruit in our room and newspaper delivered to our door, all added some really nice touches to our stay. Staff were very efficient, friendly and all happily made eye contact. Hotel Causeway is in a great location, very convenient to city shops, trams etc....our room was super quiet!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here on a Friday night to be near by to the concert venue the HiFi which is 100m away. I had no idea what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. I booked on Wotif.
The rooms were not overly big, but had plenty of character, and were impeccably neat and tidy. Staff were very friendly and happily gave us an extended check out.
Our room overlooked Little Collins Street and literally across into David Jones. I couldnt think of anywhere more convenient to shopping if you tried. Breakfast was an added bonus, albeit wasnt much but it was fresh and plentiful. If I had to I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel. We found the hotel to be great value for money, the location was perfect for our concert at the forum theatre with many restaurants close by. The room 227 was nice and spacious and spotlessly clean and staff friendly. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had 12 days in this character hotel situated in Howey Place Arcade only steps away from David Jones, Meyer and other great shops. Although the hotel is old it is extremely clean which was a credit to their housekeepers. Our corner room was tucked away from the main passageway and overlooked Little Collins Street. I could easily have brought our tv table home for my craft room - it was a beauty!

The breakfast selection (included in our price) was fantastic with juices, cereals, breads, warm pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheese. The breakfast ladies couldn't have been more helpful without being 'in your face'. There is 24 hour access to this extremely clean and tidy breakfast room where freshly ground coffee beans make a great coffee whenever the mood takes you, or you may prefer a selection of teas or hot chocolate. The staff we met at this hotel were brilliant - thank you to everyone. Well done!

This lovely hotel is very handy to everything in Melbourne's busy city centre, a very short walking distance from Flinders Street Station, trams, buses, easy access to Melbourne's busy city centre, the lovely old arcades, shops galore and hundreds of food choices with cafe's and restaurants at your doorstep.

This was our third visit to Melbourne and should we be lucky enough to visit again this hotel will without a doubt be our first choice as it way surpassed our previous accommodations and was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Little Collins Street. Our room was down a small passageway therefore we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Right in the heart of the CBD. Room was spacious and well fitted out. Staff friendly throughout.

Got a great rate through another booking site (not via the hotels website) that included breakfast as well which made it all even better value for money.

Our room overlooked little collins and we stayed on a weekend - have to say didnt notice any noise being an issue. We were also on 2nd floor and didnt notice any noise issue generated from the breakfast room - that being an issue that other travellers have commented upon before.

Cannot fault it at all. Comfy rooms, great price, right in the middle of Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Darling Towers on Collins
Darling Towers on Collins
#116 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#104 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes.Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.