We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, comfortable and convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Causeway

Save Saved
You added Hotel Causeway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Causeway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here on a Friday night to be near by to the concert venue the HiFi which is 100m away. I had no idea what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. I booked on Wotif.
The rooms were not overly big, but had plenty of character, and were impeccably neat and tidy. Staff were very friendly and happily gave us an extended check out.
Our room overlooked Little Collins Street and literally across into David Jones. I couldnt think of anywhere more convenient to shopping if you tried. Breakfast was an added bonus, albeit wasnt much but it was fresh and plentiful. If I had to I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    72
    37
    17
    14
See reviews for
20
77
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay at this hotel. We found the hotel to be great value for money, the location was perfect for our concert at the forum theatre with many restaurants close by. The room 227 was nice and spacious and spotlessly clean and staff friendly. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had 12 days in this character hotel situated in Howey Place Arcade only steps away from David Jones, Meyer and other great shops. Although the hotel is old it is extremely clean which was a credit to their housekeepers. Our corner room was tucked away from the main passageway and overlooked Little Collins Street. I could easily have brought our tv table home for my craft room - it was a beauty!

The breakfast selection (included in our price) was fantastic with juices, cereals, breads, warm pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, meats and cheese. The breakfast ladies couldn't have been more helpful without being 'in your face'. There is 24 hour access to this extremely clean and tidy breakfast room where freshly ground coffee beans make a great coffee whenever the mood takes you, or you may prefer a selection of teas or hot chocolate. The staff we met at this hotel were brilliant - thank you to everyone. Well done!

This lovely hotel is very handy to everything in Melbourne's busy city centre, a very short walking distance from Flinders Street Station, trams, buses, easy access to Melbourne's busy city centre, the lovely old arcades, shops galore and hundreds of food choices with cafe's and restaurants at your doorstep.

This was our third visit to Melbourne and should we be lucky enough to visit again this hotel will without a doubt be our first choice as it way surpassed our previous accommodations and was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Little Collins Street. Our room was down a small passageway therefore we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Right in the heart of the CBD. Room was spacious and well fitted out. Staff friendly throughout.

Got a great rate through another booking site (not via the hotels website) that included breakfast as well which made it all even better value for money.

Our room overlooked little collins and we stayed on a weekend - have to say didnt notice any noise being an issue. We were also on 2nd floor and didnt notice any noise issue generated from the breakfast room - that being an issue that other travellers have commented upon before.

Cannot fault it at all. Comfy rooms, great price, right in the middle of Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Booked three nights at the Hotel Causeway for a business trip, mainly because I needed to be right in the CBD. I haven't had much luck with CBD hotels in Melbourne before, but the reviews on Tripadvisor helped with the decision, and I was pleasantly surprised.

The place doesn't look like much; it really just looks like a hole in the wall, but my room was spacious and very comfortable. It was surprisingly quiet as well, and the blinds are good, so they block out a great deal of the city noise. It helps that the hotel is kind of tucked away.

It was a nice touch to find two fresh apples provided in the room.

The included continental breakfast was great. I often find myself overeating like crazy when breakfast is included, but on this occasion, I just found good quality breads, cereals and drinks with a minimum of fuss, and it was much easier to eat sensibly.

This place has it all; great location, excellent service and comfortable beds. The only downside was that the pillows were a bit on the thin side. And if that's my only gripe, I think I'll be back here the next time I want to be in or near Melbourne's CBD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This low rise hotel is situated in a great location. Shopping and eats all very close and easy to get to MCG and Ethiad stadium. The main entrance is tucked away on Howey Place and some rooms look over Little Collins St. Because of the location there is street noise, if this troubles you you might want to consider a room away from the street. The hotel has a boutique hotel feel about it, the room I stayed in was comfortable and had everything I needed for an overnight stay.
If you're looking for location and comfort think about this hotel particularly if you can get a special price with continental breakfast included, which makes it a really affordable option for it's location in the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our Stay at Hotel Causeway. We have stayed here before and loved the Boutique feel, however this time the rooms were very average and the beds were TERRIBLE!!
The staff were pleasant however some were quite rude. Overall we enjoyed the fact the the hotel was so close to the city, however we would not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#109 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne’s Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants.Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a large gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours.Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel’s close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes.Hotel Causeway’s central location allows guests to explore Melbourne’s unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafés and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.