We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Causeway

Save Saved
You added Hotel Causeway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Causeway
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This low rise hotel is situated in a great location. Shopping and eats all very close and easy to get to MCG and Ethiad stadium. The main entrance is tucked away on Howey Place and some rooms look over Little Collins St. Because of the location there is street noise, if this troubles you you might want to consider a room away from the street. The hotel has a boutique hotel feel about it, the room I stayed in was comfortable and had everything I needed for an overnight stay.
If you're looking for location and comfort think about this hotel particularly if you can get a special price with continental breakfast included, which makes it a really affordable option for it's location in the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    72
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
19
76
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not enjoy our Stay at Hotel Causeway. We have stayed here before and loved the Boutique feel, however this time the rooms were very average and the beds were TERRIBLE!!
The staff were pleasant however some were quite rude. Overall we enjoyed the fact the the hotel was so close to the city, however we would not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here, an absolutely perfect location for my 3 day shopping trip. If you book somewhere smack back in the middle of the CBD clearly you're not going to be lulled to sleep by the sound of lapping waves or awake to birdsong people - its a low rise,self rated 4 star hotel tucked away down one of Melbourne's many great alleys people so there's going to be a bit of noise. I packed ear plugs although didn't need to use them. The continental buffet breakfast was great and the staff were lovely, particularly a lady in reception called Gade who couldn't have been more warm & helpful. Wasn't expecting the white robe & slippers so that was a great touch. Loved the little roof garden too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Cheap last minute deal. Comfortable room. Disinterested first contact with female staff member checking in in stark contrast to the excellent service from the Asian guy on check out. Great location but very noisy at night with bin collection waking me at 2 and 4 am. Needs double glazing badly

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall -it was great.
If I was coming back to Melbourne I might stay there again. It was a bit rough in places but the location is fantastic - one alleyway away from Bourke Street main mall - easy to get to. In the other direction, two malls gets you to Center Place and Degraves Street. Don't bother try anywhere else but here for breakfast. A walk down Degraves gets you to Flinders' station and south bank is just over the bridge. We particularly liked melbourne for the trams - its easy to get to any tram from the hotel (or even train I guess too).

What I didn't like about the hotel was the bathroom - the shower curtain from the bath/shower was pathetic and water went everywhere (hard to explain but you'll understand and empathize if you stay).

Room cleaning was a bit odd - the book says to leave towels to be washed in the bath - did this and they washed all the other towels except those ones! My level had some filler over the walls where a trolley had probably dinted the walls. It was only the hallway but still reflected poorly on the place. Didn't use gym or sauna but they looked pretty clean/well equipped.

Could be a lot worse, price was fair - great location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is where I usually stay when in Melbourne at my own expense - it's not luxurious, but it's clean and comfortable enough, it's in the best location in the city, and it's great value (when I was in town on business a few months ago I stayed at the Novotel next door, it was $60/nt more expensive and was of a lower standard).

I love the extras you get here that you don't get at a 4-star chain hotel - in-room safe (important if you're traveling with more camera equipment than you care to carry constantly), bathrobes and slippers, free bottled water and chocolates - but I don't like that, as is unfortunately often the case in Australia, there is no free wi-fi.

Like everything good in Melbourne it's quite hard to find - it's in a lane directly opposite David Jones, the door is really nondescript so I always walk straight past it. There are lots of great restaurants and shops nearby, the arts district is a walkable distance away; but Southern Cross Station, where Skybus leaves from, is quite far away (it's walkable with a small wheelie bag, but the walk is long).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the second time to celebrate my birthday. As always, we were most impressed with the friendly service but above all the amazing location of this hotel. Smack in the middle of the CBD you can walk everywhere. In fact, if you just cross the road you are in David Jones' Food hall!
Last time we had breakfast included, but this time we opted without and ventured to the next st for our meals.
The room is always neat and tidy, (but perhaps in need of a little TLC) and the complimentary fruit and chocolates are always a big hit :)
Staff are always pleasant, leaving our bags there after check-out is never a problem.
We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Opt for a walk in shower bathroom though, they appear a bit more spacious, or, splurge on a spa roon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne’s Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants.Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a large gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson’s Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours.Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel’s close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes.Hotel Causeway’s central location allows guests to explore Melbourne’s unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafés and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Causeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.