We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wonderful old world charm, fantastic service, yes the rooms are small as is the bathroom, but as you are only sleeping there not a problem. Breakfast was great. Convenient for walking most places, trams at the front door if you want to jump the city circle tram.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear 500Steph,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    713
    329
    128
    75
See reviews for
126
679
139
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We couldn't have been happier with this pick as our final location before heading back to the states. Our room (#230) was fabulous and well worth the upgrade. From the moment of checking in to our last evening at the hotel, Rob (not sure of his job title) made our stay easy and memorable. Breakfast was terrific (be sure to sign up ahead of time for breakfast - we didn't and paid dearly!) and we did choose to eat there the last night as we had a very early morning flight and the dinner was just terrific. Location is good as it is easy to walk (or take public transporation) to just about anywhere in a short amount of time. This hotel feels small and special and that's what we like when we travel. We did hear some of the tram noise during the day as our room was on the 2nd floor (right above the hotel above the entrance). But this wasn't an issue as we were not in our room during the day. All in all - a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Alison H,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments will be shared with Rob as it encourages him and the team to strive for service excellence at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here in March for a couple of nights during an extended stay in Melbourne. Booked last minute on a cheap rate. I had a room directly on flinders st overlooking the train station and was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was even in peak hour. While the room was quite small it was clean comfortable and offered modern facilities will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jess D,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great location for the city and also Southbank. Staff were personable, welcoming and helpful. Room, although small, was impeccably clean and well serviced every day. Conference facilities and catering were excellent. A pleasant surprise, and a change from the impersonal service usually on offer in Melbourne hotels.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto brick walls. Rooms on the eastern side seem to be the ones with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear ozzietraveller09,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. We are also pleased to note that our conferene facilites and food was to the highest standards and to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've now stayed at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel 4 times and feel like they are responding to the reviews. The location is excellent for newbies to Melbourne. My stay was also part of a conference which I believe was the perfect venue for food and venue. It's not necessarily a place I would bring families but definitely the spot for business and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building. It's much quieter than the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Keira L,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. We are also pleased to note that the conference room and the food was of the highest standard and to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My bff and I had a great long weekend in this hotel, the concierge and reception were lovely and the location is just great, within walking distance to all the famous laneways and streets of Melbourne. I thought it would be quite noisy with the location being so close to Flinders St Station but there was minimal noise, although the rooms are quite small and it was easy to hear the people in the next room. All in all a perfectly comfortable room and everybody was friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Lisajay1305,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our second three-night stay in this lovely Hotel, this time in Heritage room 438, which was exquisitely furnished and included a luxurious en-suite. We experienced excellent service everywhere, from the friendly Reception staff to the expert waiters in Straits Restaurant where we enjoyed delicious buffet breakfasts and a superb a la carte dinner. The Traveller's Bar is a gem also - we enjoyed a delicious light meal and drink here on one night. The Rendezvous Grand enjoys a very convenient city location, close to trams, buses and trains, so our daily visits to the Melbourne Flower and Garden Show were trouble free. I hope we will have the opportunity of staying here again.

Room Tip: I loved the superior heritage room better than the "De Luxe"one we stayed in last time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear ratter1942,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.