We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Corte Madera, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We couldn't have been happier with this pick as our final location before heading back to the states. Our room (#230) was fabulous and well worth the upgrade. From the moment of checking in to our last evening at the hotel, Rob (not sure of his job title) made our stay easy and memorable. Breakfast was terrific (be sure to sign up ahead of time for breakfast - we didn't and paid dearly!) and we did choose to eat there the last night as we had a very early morning flight and the dinner was just terrific. Location is good as it is easy to walk (or take public transporation) to just about anywhere in a short amount of time. This hotel feels small and special and that's what we like when we travel. We did hear some of the tram noise during the day as our room was on the 2nd floor (right above the hotel above the entrance). But this wasn't an issue as we were not in our room during the day. All in all - a big thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Alison H,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments will be shared with Rob as it encourages him and the team to strive for service excellence at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    492
    245
    96
    63
See reviews for
86
476
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here in March for a couple of nights during an extended stay in Melbourne. Booked last minute on a cheap rate. I had a room directly on flinders st overlooking the train station and was pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was even in peak hour. While the room was quite small it was clean comfortable and offered modern facilities will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Jess D,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great location for the city and also Southbank. Staff were personable, welcoming and helpful. Room, although small, was impeccably clean and well serviced every day. Conference facilities and catering were excellent. A pleasant surprise, and a change from the impersonal service usually on offer in Melbourne hotels.

Room Tip: Most rooms look out onto brick walls. Rooms on the eastern side seem to be the ones with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear ozzietraveller09,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. We are also pleased to note that our conferene facilites and food was to the highest standards and to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've now stayed at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel 4 times and feel like they are responding to the reviews. The location is excellent for newbies to Melbourne. My stay was also part of a conference which I believe was the perfect venue for food and venue. It's not necessarily a place I would bring families but definitely the spot for business and couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building. It's much quieter than the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Keira L,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. We are also pleased to note that the conference room and the food was of the highest standard and to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Barker, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My bff and I had a great long weekend in this hotel, the concierge and reception were lovely and the location is just great, within walking distance to all the famous laneways and streets of Melbourne. I thought it would be quite noisy with the location being so close to Flinders St Station but there was minimal noise, although the rooms are quite small and it was easy to hear the people in the next room. All in all a perfectly comfortable room and everybody was friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Lisajay1305,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our second three-night stay in this lovely Hotel, this time in Heritage room 438, which was exquisitely furnished and included a luxurious en-suite. We experienced excellent service everywhere, from the friendly Reception staff to the expert waiters in Straits Restaurant where we enjoyed delicious buffet breakfasts and a superb a la carte dinner. The Traveller's Bar is a gem also - we enjoyed a delicious light meal and drink here on one night. The Rendezvous Grand enjoys a very convenient city location, close to trams, buses and trains, so our daily visits to the Melbourne Flower and Garden Show were trouble free. I hope we will have the opportunity of staying here again.

Room Tip: I loved the superior heritage room better than the "De Luxe"one we stayed in last time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear ratter1942,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed @ this hotel many times. The reason I keep coming back is that it really is a nice place to stay, from the rooms to the service and the fantastic location. I highly recommend this nice place to stay ,the rendezous hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear lawrencedelosa,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your most recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had yet another enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.