We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank.T” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Frank.T”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

great location, close to every thing. Didn't use pool as i did not know where it was. Staff very friendly and helpful. will definitely stay here again when i return to Melbourne. Great food within walking distance and Casino was a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear 01trip,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you. Please note that we don't have a pool at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    607
    287
    114
    70
See reviews for
106
565
122
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Rendezvous for a birthday getaway. And wow! We could not have picked a better place to stay. The heritage room was full of charm, character and had an overall relaxing homely feel. If you are looking for unique accommodation and an unforgettable stay this is the place to choose!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear khawke,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I stayed at the RGHM in January for 4 nights. We had the heritage room and it was fantastic. Awesome high ceilings and nice furnishings. The bathroom was modern and the shower very spacious. One thing that was missing was a soap holder, perhaps I missed it? The location of the hotel is awesome, a short walk to Elizabeth and Swanston streets for the tram, a few minutes to the mall and Federation Sq is just a short stroll down Flinders St. Alex at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. I'll definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Book the heritage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear sc1402,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

Nonetheless to say your delightful comments about Alex will be shared with him and the team as it encourages us to continually strive for service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The location was especially good, it is close to everything. The tram stop is out the front and the railway station is across the road. The ambiance of the building was old world and relaxed. I had read other reviews that say the superior room was small but I found it to be quite the opposite. We used the bar and the restaurant and we were very happy with the service and standard of the food. We would be very happy to recommend this Hotel and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear peter I,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Upgraded room but not impressed room very small and noisy, trains shunting at 4 in the morning. Bathroom generally dirty with hairs and no plug in the bath. Staff watched us struggle with bags. No milk in room called room-service after a wile they came with coffee and then sugar in the end we gave up. Breakfast was an experience! "Howareya we close in twenty minutes". The worst coffee I have had in a long time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Carol O,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are dismayed to learn of your overall disappointing stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for our obvious shortcomings and the regrettable inconvenience caused. I fully agree with you that we could have handled the issues with better profession so as to ensure that your stay was excellent as we always strive for. We assure you that this is certainly a deviation from our norm and can only hope that you would indulge us on this occasion.

At the Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we pride ourselves in offering the highest levels of care and hospitality to all our guests. It is evident that we have fallen short of the expectation that we have set for ourselves and you are certainly entitled to expect. We have since reviewed your feedback with the Department Heads concerned and have taken corrective actions to ensure that this will not recur.

Dear Carol O, thank you once again for your comments and please be assured of our best efforts to continue to deserve your confidence in us. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We chose The Rendezvous Hotel because of price and location and it certainly was excellent for both of these. It was easy to get to and from the airport with a complimentary bus from the airport bus depot to the hotel. It was just a short walk to the city, main transport depots and Southbank. It has a superb reception area and most of the staff were extra helpful and polite. The room was smallish, clean and had all of the basic extras. We had asked for a view and were pleased to have been given one. We like to have fresh air and were a little disappointed because of the sealed windows. Our only issues were a crying baby a few rooms away and the nearby streets becoming pretty untidy late at night as we were walking back to the hotel! We realise these things are beyond the hotels control. We would stay there again; certainly not amazing but very adequate.

Room Tip: Request one. We asked for a room with a view and got one over Southbank. We thought it may have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Susan562014,

Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a most enjoyable time at the Rendezvous. We were in Melbourne for the tennis and the location was perfect. Close to transport, shops, cafes etc!!
The staff were most helpful and a credit to the Hotel. The room we had was excellent in size and general facilities. We will be back next year!!!

Room Tip: We had a larger room than last time which made the stay more pleasant. Last time there was a basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sridhar K, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Histo01,

Thank you for your continued patronage and comments after your recent stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne.

We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable return stay with us taking advantage of our central location. It was indeed our pleasure to take care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the next year.

Best Regards,
Sridhar Kakarlapudi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.