We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view at the Grand Rendezvous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great view at the Grand Rendezvous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Always enjoy an overnight stay in the city, and this hotel is in a fantastic location, close to Flinders Street station, trams, buses and taxis. It is an easy walk across to Southbank, the Arts Centre, Casino, Eureka Tower, and the Exhibition Centre, or into the city itself. We were able to get a great room with a balcony which faced Flinders Street and looked across the river to Southbank. Just superb. The room was quite spacious, well appointed with tea/coffee, bar fridge, glasses etc, very clean and tastefully decorated. The two single beds when made into a King size (courtesy of the lovely housekeeping staff) were/was very comfortable and roomy. The bathroom, though a bit smallish, was quite adequate and again, very clean. The older part of the hotel dates back to early 20th century, and the ground floor entrance and lift lobby is really something. Lots of fine timber and a magnificent decorated ceiling. The leadlight windows are excellent and the cocktail bar, situated in this section of the hotel, very inviting. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially concierge and housekeeping, with the valet parking being a great extra for us with all our gear. it was lovely at night to be able to hear the trains coming and going. Not too loud, just nice in the background. we ate out fro dinner and breakfast, as you are very close to so many good cafes and restaurants, but the in house restaurant and room service meals were very reasonably priced with a wide choice of items. had we stayed longer we would have sampled some of these. All this, for a very reasonable price, means we'll be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Flinders street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Peter R,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a wonderful and detailed review on our hotel. It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our great location and surroundings.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable room and were breath taken by our unique heritage character. We are proud to celebrate our 100th anniversary this year as one of just a very few heritage listed hotels around Melbourne. Thank you once again for your wonderful review and the team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    536
    258
    105
    66
See reviews for
95
511
112
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is located in a great central location. The Rendezvous is a beautiful hotel, with good size comfortable rooms. The rooms are modern and clean.

Staff seemed to be efficient and attentive. I enjoyed my overnight stay!

Would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Suzann C,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. We’re really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the very central location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Fantastic location, amazing character building, really friendly staff, the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel in decades and exceptional club sandwiches. what more could you ask for.

I stayed two nights and can honestly say i haven't slept that well in a hotel ever.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor have the highest ceilings I've ever seen in a hotel. They are amazing. Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Jimi K,

Thank you for your glowing review. It is especially pleasing to hear that you were able to enjoy the comfort of one of our heritage rooms, each of which have been recently refurbished in a style that is in keeping with the 100 year old history of the hotel as well as meeting the needs of our modern day travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location- right in the middle of the city and close to Flinders Station. The decor and the high ceilings made it feel like we were out in the country! We arrived and everyone was so welcoming and the man in top hat and tales made it even more exciting!!
Easy place with no fuss but all the trimmings included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Annalie H,

Thank you so much for your lovely words regarding your stay with us. It is always a delight to read that a guest has had a wonderful experience at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My sister and I booked a hotel room at the Rendezvous Melbourne online and paid extra to guarantee a room with twin beds.(this was only $10 approx.) .We arrived early in the morning and we're greeted by a very friendly staff member who had our bags stored, gave us a map and later sent a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. The hotels' location is very central, great for exploring Melbourne's lanes and riverside.. After checking in later, we found that the room was big enough for the two of us and very clean and well presented.. The beds were very comfortable . We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, so can't review that. The hotel is a lovely old hotel and we look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Treasa A,

Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding your stay at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne. It is lovely to see that the Concierge team were so friendly and helpful and that they made your stay special. It is all about location and we are extremely lucky to be so centrally located in Melbourne's CBD.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne in the very near future.

Kind regards

Niall Blundell
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed at Rendezvous overnight after a trip on the Tramcar Restaurant. The Hotel is in a very handy location for many tourist adventures in Melbourne. Easy walk across the street through the walkway under Flinders Street station. Then out over the footbridge to Southbank.
Staff were lovely and very friendly. Appointments in the hotel are lovingly restored and have a lovely 'old world' charm.
Only drawback was the size of the room and bathroom. We had a free 'upgrade' to a deluxe room. Makes you wonder how small the standard room is. Did feel somewhat claustrophobic, barely any room around the bed and we are not large people. We did have quite some noisy neighbours banging doors in the early hours. Our car was looked after and was returned very promptly when we left.
Breakfast in the cafe was wonderful (large choice of buffet) except for the large counter area where all the staff put the dirty plates (in FULL VIEW of the entire restaurant). Couldn't someone have taken them out of the dining area? Most unpleasant to have to look at piles upon piles of dirty dishes and cups, while we were trying to eat.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking at doing anything around Southbank, Casino, Aquarium, Tramcar etc. Not sure about recommending breakfast here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Russ & Andrea S,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your review on your experience here at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel. All feedback is welcomed as it enables us to further enhance the service we provide.

Our central location is one of the many popular features of the hotel, enabling all guests to access everything Melbourne has to offer so easily. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of this.

We agree that some of the rooms are smaller than others. We celebrated our centenary this year and are heritage listed, and as such we have a very large variety of room configurations available. All rooms have been designed in the most practical and comfortable way possible to ensure guests are provided with the amenities they require.

As you mentioned, the options and variety in the breakfast buffet are extensive which makes it quite busy at times. Although the staff are always very busy, your experience was not the standard we maintain at the Rendezvous Grand Hotel, and I can assure you that this is an isolated incident.

When you are you looking to make your next reservation, feel free to contact us directly so that we may allocate you a room that is most suited to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rendezvous Grand Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights mid week and had a pleasant stay from the moment I arrived. I dropped off my bags a few hours before check-in, and when I came back later, the bag was already in my room, I just had to collect the key card. Even though I booked through Booking.com with a discounted rate, I still got a great room on the top floor with views overlooking the river and towards Southbank. The hotel is in a great location, close to Flinders Street Station, Southbank, Fed Square, Bourke St Mall, and all the conveniences. The room was very clean and modern and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and do not like noise, get a room towards the middle or back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew E, Guest Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear tomothyd,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We’re really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the view. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay!

Kind regards,

Andrew Edwards
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.