We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Good location but room was not ready for 2pm checkin. Room was disappointingly small especially the bathroom (one person use at a time) and only a double bed. Hardly enough room for our luggage. Had asked for champagne glasses in the room before check-in but had to ask again before they were delivered. Second day room was unserviced at 3pm after we'd been out all day so we rang through to reception and went out again to give them enough time to do so. Unfortunately upon return at 5.30pm it was still not done and as there were no fresh towels, we could not shower and rest before going to the theatre. By the time the room was ready, we had to rush to get ready. Of course it was not vacuumed or cleaned which is what you pay for and expect. Disappointing experience and would not stay here again or recommend to others. I think they rely on the historic nature of the hotel and its' location rather than the importance of customer care. Disappointed really covers it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    607
    287
    114
    70
See reviews for
106
565
122
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We received a friendly service from from front desk to concierge. The hotel is located in a very convenient location, opposite tram stop to Richmond and the main train station, Flinders Station and a short walk away to main shopping streets. Even tho I agree with other reviewers that the room is tiny but it is clean and it is comfortable for a short stay. Our rate is included breakfast which serves from 6.30 - 11.00am on Sunday, late enough for us to sleep in and still enjoy late big breakfast buffet. Breakfast buffet offers many selection of hilt breakfast, cereals and yoghurts and fruits and there is a coffee and tea stations. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First time in a major city for two of our travelling party. We chose Rendezvous Hotel because of its location and the art deco decor.
The service was outstanding. Having never stayed a whole week in a hotel, we were thrilled to have the beds made and turned down for us each day and the bathroom tidied and restocked. Trooms are small but we were after a place where we could simply just sleep, we didn't require a gym or a pool etc, we had no plans of just relaxing in our rooms.The concierge and the front desk staff were extremely helpful. We would diffenently stay here again.
Loved the personal touch of the welcome on the TV screne on our arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in May with a group of friends and we were very surprised at how small our room was and very glad we weren't staying more then 2 nights.
The hotel itself is nice but the rooms aren't anything special especially for the price.
Great location though.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a really well located hotel , right next to the main train station on Flinders street.
The style is classic turn of the century , recently celebrating 100 years .
Rooms can be a bit of a lottery , ask for front facing window if possible or risk getting an internal window which lacks any aspect of what the weather is like , you might need to stand on a chair too see day light !
The bar is a must visit with great Happy Hour.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room on to Flinders street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from 3 nights staying at this hotel. Staff great and I got a very early checkin that was unexpected as I arrived at 8 am. Room small but fine for one person I would not have liked to spend 3 nights in a superior room as a couple 1 would be ok. My only letdown was how clean the room and hallways were, on first glance they looked fine but mould and lots of it under rim of sink in bathroom the iPod dock had a thick layer of dust and bedside table revolting.
If these issues are addressed I would be happy to stay again but at this stage I would look elsewhere next time I head to melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

A friend had a voucher booked for a night but was unable to go. I had an event in the city the following day and so scored a free night.

The location is just across the road from Flinders Street station and tram stops, so very handy for tourists or those needing public transport.

There was not a self park option and didn't seem to be much in the way of 24hr car parks close. We took the valet park option. It was pretty standard with other places in Melbourne.

The room itself was very nicely furnished but small. That didn't really distract from our stay at all though.

Overall we had a really nice night here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.