We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked this hotel last minute.
When we arrived we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite for free!
Was the most beautiful room. The ceilings were two storeys high.
The balcony was the width of the hotel. It was breathtaking
Will definitely stay here again.
Very close to the train station and other attrations.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    524
    254
    104
    66
See reviews for
94
505
111
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great location just acoss the road from Flinders street station. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was very small, overlooking the Yarra River very nice at night. Bathrooms very small, had a bad smell in it every now and then.

The smoke alarm went off on our floor at 3am in the morning, there was an annocement made but we could not understand it due to the strong Indian accent. This alarm went on for about 4 mins, then finally turned off, but the alarm kept beeping every 30 seconds in our room, we called reception desk to ask some to reset the alarm, finally the manager came to our room to reset the alarm basically accusing us of smoking in our room and setting the alarm off and telling this is a non-smoking hotel, that great but we are non-smokers and definatly did not set the alarm off.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special, good selection of food, very busy nearlly always had to wait for a table.

We had an enjoyable stay, would I recommend this hotel? Not sure. The location for South Bank is great and tram stations almost at the front door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

It is on Flinders Street, so close to the action in the centre of the city and a short walk to Southbank and the exhibition centre. Trams stop just up at Eliszabeth St and trains obviously across the road and up a bit at Flinders Street Station.
Intereseting that someone has finally figured out that by having exhorbitant mini bar and service prices in a hotel means that people will go to the bottleshop 4 doors up and buy from there instead. I was quite happy to have a crownie after work in the room at $5 each.
Everything ran smothly, (except for the magnetic key, until I learned not to put it next to my phone), and what interaction I had with the staff was very polite and they were very unobtrusive. they got the job done and you hardly saw them.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed for only 1 night. Location is great, almost right in front of Flinders St Station and also very near Southern Cross station. Easy access to Melbourne city center, within walking distance to Elizabeth St., Bouke St. and if you don't mind a longer walk, go across Spencer Street bridge and be at the newly renovated South Wharf in 10 minutes for some great factory outlet shopping. After that it is another short walk to Crown casino along the Yarra River where you can dine at Gordon Ramsay's "maze".

Room is small but nice and modern but no view of anything. Overall pretty average I would say if you are not expecting first class treatment. Just nice for the average businessman.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK-Swindon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

What is ther nice to say about this hotel, Nothing, im sorry i dont normally moan but his Hotel should be ashamed of itself.

Firstly,
when we arrived the staff just watched us struggle with our luggage up the steps to the reception, then after checking in which was ok, but not very polite, we arrived at our room,

it was the worst room i have ever seen and nothing like the ones on website, ( we found out later that the hotel is in 2 halfs, one half is old type rooms and the other half is like on the site, after we complained we were moved to another room at additional cost. there site is a disgrace not to show that there are 2 types of rooms.

Our first room looked over a building site, the other window was stained glass so couldnt even see out of it. the decor was about 1970s, apart from the bed which was abviously new.

the second room was alot more upto date- but was so small, only one cupboard and couldnt even walk down one side of the bed. the bathroom was good, but you could really only stay in this room for a couple of nights as just not enough room.

also we asked for a late checkout when we arrived and was willing to pay as we had a midnight flight back to UK, on our very last day they would not honor it, so we had to check out and move to another hotel.

This Hotel really let tself down with poor advertising on site - very misleading, unpolite and unaccomadiating staff.

Pity i cant give it Zero Stars

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matamata, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very small room, definately not 4 1/2 star accomodation which is what we paid for. No windows to see thru, very dark and dingy, Fly poop all over door jambs and doors, small bathroom, noisy fridge, Unhelpful reception personal, charged for breakfast when it had already ben paid for when booking. sounds like it has not improved since 2009 so how can it win awards in 2010! grubby furniture in reception, not a good look. No brochures to tell you what you could do around Melbourne, and staff couldnt tell you anything either. Went to dinner at another 4 1/2 star hotel and their staff told us all the things to see and where to shop very helpful. I know where i will be staying next time and it wont be here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We chose this hotel as it was well located, we had a friendly check in person, the internet was free for 3 hours if you went downstairs. The room was small and the bathroom tiny. The bed was too old, it bowed in the middle. I completed a hotel survey whilst there so hope they attend to this. We chose the hotel for its reasonable rates but you only get what you pay for and no frills at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, on the 9th floor and mostly looked at railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Grand Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.