We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed just for a Saturday night and could not fault the room, service, or any other feature, A nice boutique hotel well located in the CBD. Will happily stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    529
    255
    104
    66
See reviews for
94
507
111
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I arrived early on the Sunday of the Grand Prix and received a friendly welcome from the reception staff. I was asked to leave my contact details and they would call me if a room was available before official check in time which did happen. Impressive considering how busy they were. The rooms were perfectly acceptable and clean. Yes there was no view from my room on the 3rd floor but I wasn't there for the view. Beds were comfortable, decor was nice and the air conditioner worked well. Only little annoying problem was that when you had a shower the water went all over the bathroom floor and soaked the floor mat. Perhaps a small raised barrier would stop this. The breakfast the next morning was ok but not really value for money considering the $28 charge, thankfully work paid for it. I have a choice of three hotels when I stay in Melbourne for work and I have booked the Rendezvous for my next trip in May.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We arrived early and allowed to check in, but the first room we were given was on the 9th floor, looked onto a wall and had some sort of very noisy fan overhead.
We asked to move and were relocated to a very nice 4th floor room with a front facing room.
Although small, the room was clean and well furnished. The bed was one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in.
The main problem was that there was nowhere to put your clothes - not one shelf or drawer, so we had to live with two open suitcases on the floor the entire time (there was limited hanging space).
The bar was well furnished but closed at 10.30 pm -a bit early for a city centre hotel.
We didn't try breakfast as there are so many cafes just along the road.
The big plus with this hotel is it's location - fantastic!! Everything was really close by, the circle tram stopped outside and the tourist circle bus was a stone's throw away. Federation Square was nearby, as were all the main shops.
Overall a good stay, and I probably would come back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I was overcharged by Hotel. I was badly treated by management. I wrote a letter to complain but that was not answered. Internet service is sub dialup speed. Room very average. I do not recommend this hotel. Never stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I stayed here twice for business and thought the location was great.
The staff are very helpful and the common areas are quite elegant.
I was really impressed with the room service menu and the quality of the food.
The room is on the smallish side and the breakfast wasn't the best I have had, but would recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This is our second stay at the Redezvous in Melbourne. I was so impresed the first time that I came again and have vowed to make this my 'hotel of choice' in Melbourne. The service was fantastic. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The bed ws huge and the towels were white and fluffy.

Our view was not very appealing but we didn't take to looking out the window anyway. The room was amply large and the bathroom was soooo clean. The proximity of this hotel to the main streets of melbourne is brilliant. A quick stroll and you are in the thick of it. We are now members of the Rendezvous club and this is a lovely bonus as we can get discounts at the many hotels in its chain... BRAVO!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

One of the worst hotel exeperiences my partner and i have had. Room was full of scuff marks, dust on surfaces, ripped carpet and was no bigger than a shoebox. This is most definitely not 4 star in any world. I have stayed in hostels cleaner than this. Raised the issue with staff who were friendly but advised they could do nothing as they were fully booked. Avoid at all costs especially if you suffer from dust allergies.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne

Address: 328 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#51 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Rendezvous Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.