We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for location & amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne to your Saves list
Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   371 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest on Drummond) (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good price for location & amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We picked this place due to its proximity to our business meetings at Lygon St plus its "full kitchen facilities and daily service" as compared to other places. No regrets as it's literally a stone's throw from the Italian strip. Popped into Woolworths (about 5mins walk away) to stock up on fruit, milk and some other stuff in case we wanted to eat in. Check-in was a breeze - called the number on the door and was immediately given the access code. Our room door was unlocked with keys on the table. There was even a remote on the keychain to enter/exit the carpark for guests who drove. Filled up the registration form and left on table. Fortunately our unit was on the 1st floor (had read an earlier review re the absence of elevators) and we didn't have to do much lugging of our luggage. Room decor was very simple but had all the needed - large windows overlooking the front street, thick curtains, aircon unit, elec heater, elec fan (relocated it from inside the cupboard to make space for our clothes plus it was rather dusty), 2 hair dryers, kitchen with 4 gas hobs, oven & grill, microwave, crockery & cutlery, pots, pans, colander, teapot, jug, detergent, dishclothes, sponges, cordless phone, ironing board, manager on 24x7, etc. ie. one can be quite self-sufficient. Daily service was most appreciated - clean towels, clean dishclothes, coffee/tea pack topup. Laundry room (washer & dryer) was on the 1st floor, next to our room. Wifi services plus a rack of tourist guides, who needed a reception desk or concierge? Check-out was equally easy, just leave the key on the table. To go to the city, catch a tram at the stop on Lygon/Elgin St. To return, alight at tram stop just before this stop. Else be prepared for a short walk back (learnt this the hard way when we forgot to ding-ding the bell). A little minus was the noise - either people on the street having a loud conversation or sing-along after visiting the nearby pub. Garbage trucks, sounds of clearing bottles also kinda shattered our beauty sleep. Bed was really comfy, no squeaky old springs. And no smoke smell in the room! Very important on our checklist.
Oh yes, if arriving after sunset, may want to keep a good lookout for the place 'cos it's not lit up (unlike other hotels or apartments) - it's next to a clothes retail shop called WitcheryKids. And a phone with local SIM card is advisable to call the number as there is no reception desk (else be prepared to make an IDD call) - not sure if there's a payphone close by.

Room Tip: If you have zero or very little luggage and am ok to climb up & down the stairs, request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Due to an appalling hotel stay last week and found far superior accommodation at the Drummond Street Serviced Apartments.

Great location, with 5 minute walk to supermarket and bars/restaurants/cafes. The big plus was their site manager Buhdi. He brought my suitcase up from street level, was charming and professional, check-in was a breeze, nice apartment with all you need for a few days stay. On leaving my suitcase was brought down and he graciously allowed my friend to park her car in their carpark so we could have a quick lunch.

This team really knows what customer service is all about and they certainly made my stay very pleasant. Would definately recommend this place and I'll be using it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The room was pretty nice and the location was very convenient. There was a Woolworths about a block away. We were working at a convention at the Royal Exhibition Hall and the 10-15 minute walk over there each day was pleasant. The irish pub down the street was our favorite part of the neighborhood!
The only problem we had was upon arrival when we realized that there was no front desk, and since we were traveling from the states, we had no means of calling the number on the door to check in. After a few moments of panic we found a pay phone around the corner and called to get our check in code.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed here to attend a function at Melbourne Uni. It was in easy walking distance of the uni and Lygon St with it's wonderful array of cafes and shops was right next door.
Free off street parking was an absolute bonus this close to the city.
The bed was very comfortable and although small, the apartment was plenty big enough for two of us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our 5 days at Drummond Serviced Apartments, the location was perfect and the accommodation was very good. It's not 5* accommodation but is clean, spacious, well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. We were within 2 minutes walk of the cafes etc in Lygon Street but the actual appartments are in a very quiet section of Drummond Street. Victor the manager was extremely helpful, stroing our luggage securely and arranging for us to have the first available appartment even though we were hours early and they were full. Victor is available by phone at all times and will help with any problems. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I had read the reviews on these apartments so was not expecting a modern unit with up to date appliances etc however I did not expect to be staying in an apartment that had rust stains in the bath, mouldy silicone around the kitchen sink and bath tub, stained cushions on the couch, stained curtains, dust that was so thick in the t.v cabinet it had turned into dust bunnies and every shelf in the fridge split down the middle making the shelves unusable plus an incredibly uncomfortable sofa bed to sleep on. In all fairness to the Manager, once I had voiced my concerns he did replace the shelves in the fridge, put an extra mattress on the sofa bed, replace the silicone and remove the stain from the bath. On the plus side the location is great, an easy walk to Carlton Gardens plus the free tourist bus and the city circle tram and the room was serviced daily. Great food areas close by plus supermarket a few minutes up the road. Perhaps we were just given a particularly bad unit - who knows. Please note that there are no lifts in these units so you may have some stairs to lug your suitcases up - was fine for us as we only had one bag each, would be a bit more difficult if you had young children with prams etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

For anyone attending functions at Melbourne Uni or the colleges and wanting to walk home, this is the closest hotel to stay at (other hotels are further down Lygon St towards the city). This place is convenient, has parking, is relatively quiet, perfectly comfortable and right in the thick of the Italian quarter - everywhere on Lyges and Rathdowne you would ever want to go is right on your doorstep. The decor is old and tired but considering the price you pay it would be unreasonable to expect glamour. If you go with realistic expectations (i.e. you get what you pay for) then you won't be disappointed. Perhaps the cleaners should change their bathroom sponges more frequently, but as I was attending a college reunion on this visit, a certain level of nostalgia for indifferent hygiene levels alleviated any concerns. I will definitely stay there again - for the location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne

Address: 371 Drummond St | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest on Drummond)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on a quiet leafy street of Drummond, the property is within minutes to Woolworth supermarket (45 seconds walking distance), NOVA Cinema, Lygon Plaza, fashion stores, and situated parallel to the brightly-Lit Lygon Street – “Italian Heart of the City", an iconic Melbourne destination and world-renowned for its cosmopolitan charm and culinary delights with well over 200 restaurants and café to keep you occupied!All our apartments have comfortable Queen-size beds to offer guests a delightful rest. As well, every apartment has its own Kitchen (NOT kitchenette) for you to prepare home-cooked meals for yourself and family. Woolworth supermarket is across the street and this comes in nice and handy for you to buy Fresh groceries (or daily consumables) whenever you want. Your kitchen is fully equipped with a Gas stove/oven/ griller, Pots & Pans, good sized fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee making facility, plenty of cupboard space, and a range of cooking utensils for your convenience. The following items are also available in your apartment or On-site for your convenience.• Washing & Drying facility onsite to handle all your laundry needs.• Access to wireless internet services (pay services) throughout the building• FREE* Secure Car-parking• Separate lounge, kitchen, and balcony in the One Bedroom apartments with an office desk.• Daily room servicing Monday to Friday• TV/DVD player, Iron & Ironing board, hair dryer, Air Con/ heating system, Built-In wardrobe, and Cordless Phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drummond Serviced Apartmerts Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.