We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jasper Hotel to your Saves list
Jasper Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Relaunch Special $139
Ranked #86 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Memorable Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Y (now called Jasper Hotel) as part of a business trip for work. We were conducting an Information Session at one of their conference rooms and it was just easy to stay there aswell.

The hotel had just gone through a refurbishing so everything looked new. Each level of the hotel had a colour theme. The rooms weren't very spacious but they were sufficient enough. The decor was all new and the bathroom was the highlight. We had old school windows and my shower faced towards the LCD TV that was up on the wall so I was able to watch TV whilst I showered - a bit unusual, yes.

The temperature of the room was controlled by their excellent AC and my room overlooked Queen Victoria Markets. The room was simply FUNKY. What a delightful little hotel.

Even though this hotel wasn't in the heart of the CBD, it was still excellent because we were only minutes away from Chinatown and its superb restaurants.

We really loved the Jasper Hotel for its character and atmosphere. HIghly recommended.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    171
    89
    33
    17
See reviews for
40
139
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights and found that although the rooms were newly renovated, this did not apply to the windows!!! We were on the 5th floor on the front of the building overlooking Elizabeth St and we could not believe how noisy the traffic was. Most of the time during the day and especially at night, trams passed the hotel at all hours and it really seemed as if we had no window at all. If you stay at this hotel, we recommend that you ask for a room at the back. The hotel itself and the staff were fine but if you like your sleep bear this in mind!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noise levels from poorly fitted/old windows
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

The Hotel Y has just been refurbished, after being remodel from the YWCA into a Motel. Locatio n iictoria MArkets and the tram runs right past the door along Elizebeth St. Parking is off sight, but less than a minutes walk from the motel and a discounted rate for motel patrons after validation by reception. When we stayed, the refurbishment was still underway so reception was upstairs in a conference room, but staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a front room on the 5th floor and was a very nicely remodelled room with new appointments and a resonable size. Not a large room, bjut big enough for the 2 of us for a 1 night stay. Street noise was a little loud, not enough to keep us awake, but every time a tram or a fire truck went past you could definitley hear it. If you are eating at Southbank, which is where we went, it is a short tram ride or a 15min walk to Flinders St.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Refurbishment
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2005

We booked this hotel 3 months ahead, then were told a few months later we had to pay in full for our 4 nights stay due to a special event (Melbourne Cup). So, I went ahead and paid in full on my credit card for the reservations. Then a month before our trip, we're told that due to renovations, they cannot accomodate us and made alternate arrangements for a hotel that is out of the city center that is less expensive and out of the way. Not cool!
Even though the manager had said that they would pay the difference in the room rate, I found out the other hotel that they had shipped us to actually charges a lower rate. And since they already took our money for the hotel stay, I'm dubious as to whether I will get a full refund. If they were planning renovations to the hotel, shouldn't they have stopped taking bookings a few months ago? This sounds really dodgy and very unprofessional.


Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2005

Being a lone female traveller, staying for 4 days at the Hotel Y, I found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms were basic but clean, huge and comfortable. There is a wonderful restaurant next door to the hotel, which have an extensive menu but is only open from 1000-1600. The hotel is based in an excellent location and is within walking distance of all major facilities. I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Melbourne on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2005

Stayed at the Hotel Y for a couple of nights in July, 2004. Excellent location only a short walk to the main shopping area and both Flinders and Spencer Street station are very accessible. I walked from Spencer Street to the hotel with huge backpack and this took approx 15 minutes. Arrived before check in time, but staff were very friendly and accomodating. Room overlooked Elizabeth street but noise was not to be heard. Room itself was spacious with all the facilities you could want or need. Having stayed in other Hotels in Melbourne, this would be the Hotel I choose for my next visit. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jasper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.