We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jasper Hotel to your Saves list
Jasper Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Relaunch Special $139
Ranked #84 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Terrigal, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was a great choice for a girls weekend of theatre and shopping. It is right next to Queen Victoria Markets and on the tram line.
The staff were super sweet and very helpful on all interactions.The price included breakfast which had some good basic items to choose from.
Very happy and an inexpensive, but quality option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We thank you for your kind comments on your recent experience at the Jasper Hotel.
It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your girl’s weekend away and that our location was the perfect choice.
Our team are delighted to hear your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    171
    89
    33
    17
See reviews for
41
139
39
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Terang, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Staff were very friendly and the hotel was in a great location in the CBD and close trains/trams etc. The room I stayed in was very small and the bed wasn't overly comfortable though this didn't worry me as I only stayed one night and the room was very good otherwise. Got a great deal on accommodation, would recommend if staying in the city on a budget but only for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Eliz,
Thanks you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate that we were unable to resolve the bed issues you experienced whilst staying with us however I do realise that this did not impact you during your stay here in Melbourne.
I would like to advise you that we will be undergoing a refurbishment as of May 5th & bedding is a priority & the next time we welcome you back we do hope you enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Great staff, probably the most friendly yet of any Melbourne hotel. ...location was ok...but it's Melbourne and I like walking ..plus if you can brave the tram it's right outside..no excuses
Room was spacious, clean...right next door to Vic markets.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Matt,

It is great to here that you found our hotel to be exceptional value & enjoyed your stay in Melbourne. Sounds like you made the most of the hotels location; utilising the tram & visiting the Queen Victoria Markets.
A high level of customer service is a key focus within our team. Myself & the team are pleased to hear your comments. I may be biased but I agree they are the friendliest in Melbourne.
We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Jasper hotel is a modern hotel. The amenities in the bathroom was quality! Good tea and coffee provided in room. Bed was comfortable, I had good sleep all three nights stay. 10 mins to the Chinatown on foot, next to QV market just 1 mins. Just so convenient, I'd recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review the Jasper Hotel online & recommending our Hotel to future travellers.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Appelles skin care range. You can also purchase items from there extensive range for your home at the Appelles website.
Once again thank you for recommending the Jasper Hotel & we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I booked the hotel as it was the venue of a conference I was attending. I really liked everything about it - it had a nice feel, the location next to Queen Vic Markets is great with an easy walk to Federation Square. The only down side - and this is nothing to do with the hotel - is that there was very noisy construction going on across the road. Ask for a room away from this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Lesi,

It is pleasing to here you enjoyed your accommodation & the conferencing facilities here at the Jasper Hotel.
We defiantly agree with you that our location is fantastic; we are within a short walk or tram ride to all the major attractions this great city has to offer.
Regrettably we do have issues with the construction noise form our neighbours however we are more than happy to allocate rooms in accordance to guests requests to reduce the impact.
We do hope that this has not deterred you for future stays as we would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a nice hotel. I booked through a travel agent that I will never use again. No king bed, beds aren't comfortable, no bell man, no concierge, one person at desk that stayed on the phone for 5 minutes while I was waiting to check in. I'm here now, so I have to make the best of it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Joey Facello,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Jasper Hotel Melbourne.
We understand that you are not pleased with the recommendation of your travel agent who did not book a property to your liking.
The Jasper Hotel is a 4 star boutique hotel accredited to the Australian Hotels Association standards, the basis of the rating includes cleanness of the hotel, quality & condition of the hotel & facilities offered by the hotel to meet their guest’s needs.
I would like to advise you I will be tabling your delayed hotel check in & helpfulness of staff with the Front office Manager.
The hotel’s reception/concierge staff are here to make your stay in Melbourne a present experience with their knowledge of our wonderful city. We are also able to make you stay at the hotel more pleasurable if we are advised of your discomfort.
On you next visit to Melbourne you hope that you revisit the Jasper Hotel; this year is an exciting year in the redevelopment of the hotel which will include a dedicated concierge team, valet parking, court yard & more king bed rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

First impressions checking in at 1am: Modern clean foyer, friendly desk staff, nice ambiance.
Room: Well presented, lovely and modern, beautiful complimentary toiletries, minibar at minibar prices i.e. small Pringles @ $4, clean, clean, clean. Comfortable Queen bed.
Location: Great central location.
BUT!!! Bring earplugs if room facing Elizabeth St because the usual nocturnal inner city noises are really loud and construction starts at 06:00 Saturday morning directly across the road. Don't let the noise ruin this great little hotels experience.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room facing Elizabeth St, otherwise bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear your impressions of the Jasper Hotel during your recent stay. And that you found the hotel to be all that you expected.
Unfortunately we are battling the construction noise from across the street & in this ever growing city we are doing our best to limit is impact. The construction times are approved by the Melbourne city council; Monday to Friday 7am to 7pm & Saturday 8am-6pm.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future to stay on the Market side of the hotel as we do hope that the construction noise has not deterred you from staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jasper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.