We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, shame I didn't get a chance to use the Baths” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jasper Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jasper Hotel to your Saves list
Jasper Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Relaunch Special $139
Ranked #88 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great, shame I didn't get a chance to use the Baths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Lift and Corridors are a bit worn, dark and shabby, but room is nice and bright and trendy. Great Location, close to Victoria Markets, good walk to the Melbourne Uni Law Building, and surrounding cafes. There is no next door noise or above room noise, only the humming of the a/c as the cavity is open to the room and some smothered vehicle road noise, the outside noise through the window could be improved, but not too bad for Melbourne. A/C worked great, small but trendy bathroom, only gripe was that sometimes the shower didn't drain fast enough. Had a (take-away(?)) massage in the dedicated hotel massage room which is quite bare and cold, but glad they had the room as I'm not too sure a massage bed would have fit in the bed room itself. Overall quite impressed by this boutique hotel. I only wish that my friends and I got the two bed suite they offered us for $234 per night for the Melbourne Cup wk/end this year, still would like it but it must be booked out as I can't seem to get a response from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    158
    81
    32
    17
See reviews for
30
128
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Whenever I travel for work or leisure in Melbourne I try and stay close to what I am doing, I have have a fair bit of experience with Melbourne hotels. In a city spoilt with amazing and boutique hotels, the Jasper is one of the best.

I love the vibrant colour scheme, the louvered coloured glass in the bathroom and the unpretentious nature of the building. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are so clean and the product is consistently every time I stay.

The windows which open fully are such a rare luxury in hotels these days, especially as it allows the sounds of Melbourne's tram bells and the buzz of the markets to infiltrate the room. Fresh air is so hard to find in most hotels.

For what used to be the backpackers, the conversion is pretty impressive. The hotel is a solid 4 stars: reasonably priced and not-too-fancy minibar, excellent cafe downstairs, friendly and helpful reception, comfortable beds, super clean rooms, small but highly functional and stylish bathrooms and free access to the Melbourne Baths and Gym.

My only gripes have been the slowness of the lift (although there is only 8 floors so you aren't normally waiting too long), the lack of digital TV channels [e.g. No ABC News24, 7mate etc.] (an all too common problem in Australian hotels), the lack of Fox Footy Channel and that the amazing cafe doesn't open after lunch time. Overall these are minor points.

The complimentary Melbourne Baths access is something which apparently not a lot of people take advantage of. These baths are one of Melbourne's most beautiful old buildings and doing laps in the odd-lengthed pool is incredibly peaceful in this heritage listed complex. Any guest staying here should make use of this feature, even if it is just for a sticky-beak at one of Melbourne beautiful old buildings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 6-8 if you want a view of the markets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was looking to check in to a place like the Stamford, Melbourne, but at $280 per night it was a budget breaker. I searched the sites and came up with Jasper Hotel, in a great part of town with access to everything and it looked good the reviews were good.

I am very satisfied. It is boutique "ee" hotel with 8 floors painted different colors. I got room 610 overlooking the Victoria Market. The view was excellent and the windows open totally to let in the winter cool air. It was quiet all the way around both inside and out. Ice ( a key thing for me ) was available upon demand.

The room was clean ( real clean ) well designed and comfortable, a good value. Internet is WiFi but very very expensive ($58 bucks for 8 hours 1 machine!!) OUCH.. the front desk clerk said it was free next door at MickyDs..which does not work for me because I work work work...and need it in the room .. they do give you internet for $30 bucks..but only 300MB of download and your are DEAD. That sucks..but that cost them one star here. The front desk was super friendly and helpful..but there is only one person to do everything..so if you need staff..this is not the place.
The Jasper restaurant was a fantastic breakfast ( only $8 bucks) for full American egg type breakfast..and the coffee EXCELLENT..really well done and again good service and super modern and clean. I did not have lunch there, but the menu looked great and the food is excellent.

This hotel is clean and fresh and for $132 or something like that .. what a deal. The Central Station is a few minutes walk and the trams are out front. There is a University here and most of the population is Chinese and Japanese up here so the restaurants are all asian. I had a fantastic dinner at the ROSE BBQ Chinese just a block away, with seating on the sidewalk (it was packed) and the food was blow-your-eyeballs-out good..again $9.50 and I had a feast made for two average Chinese folks or..as I am .. one typical American.

I have pictures but without internet cannot upload them from my Iphone here..so that sucks. But otherwise..great value, friendly, clean, modern, fast elevators..ice is instant .. and views over the market great. I would come back anytime!

Room Tip: Get a room up high overlooking the market. Get ready to pay a huge amount of money for internet acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just the friendliest, no-nonsense-chic hotel you could hope to find. Close to Victoria markets and with nearby Market Lane Coffee - well positioned. Cosy rooms with great views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Took a chance when booking this hotel. Visits to Melbourne usually mean accomodation right in the heart of the CBD. so why change this.........glad we did. The Jasper caught my eye because of the location and price. Being right on the Victoria Market and the price meant we could spend more shopping. Airport bus got us to the door dry and warm. front of house staff very effecient and friendly. Foyer clean and bright. Room clean and compact. Location is hard to compare to the much revered Central CBD establishments, but the Jasper has nothing to worry about, its in a different league. easy walk to all you need to visit. Market, melb central, turf bar, pelegrini's, west melb restaurants, lygon street....the list goes on.
Front of house staff stored our bags, recommended street parking for the hire car, let us re-access the stored bags, gave us many maps with directions and all the while smiled.
Tip for next time: request room on the rear of the hotel. was a bit of street noise, not heavy in our room on the front. also pay a few extra bucks and get the executive room (longer stays more room)
overall, You wont be disappointed!!!
Excellent value, clean and cosy and fantastic location...........see you again soon
ps Thanks to Andrew, front of house staffer who recommended a suitable venue for us to watch the Lions v Dees game......excellent recommendation Andrew

Room Tip: ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, less street noise. also pay a little extra and get the exec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Hi oppy1... many thanks for your kind review of the Jasper! I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and my thanks for your complimentary (and well deserved!) comments on our team here. Our people at the Jasper really make the difference and whilst some regrettably do not appreciate just what they do and what is required to make the Jasper a great hotel, it's terrific that our guests do! It will be great to welcome you back again ...Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downtown Columbus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. Location is very convenient, staffs are very helpful, rooms are clean and roomy. The Victoria's Market is next door and it provides lots of good food. If you want to get a quick bites in the morning, the McDonald's is there for you. Great price, great location, great hotel.

Room Tip: If you rent Avis cars, there is a Avis/Aldi's customer parking garage nearby within 5 minutes wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Hi ColumbusUrbanLife... delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Jasper - I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We are in a sensational location being next door to Queen Victoria Market and of course our hotel team has to be the best in Melbourne! Very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Many thanks! ...Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Melbourne is the art and fashion city of Melbourne, it has a certain quirkiness about it that sets it from the rest, so if you were to stay in Melbourne why. It do it in a hotel that exhibits exactly that. I love how each floor is a different colour it is so quirky and fun. Me and my friend were on the 8th floor which was green, and both being students we were looking to get our money's worth on a budget. It is in a perfect spot just outside the CBD, tram stop and vic markets right out front, me and my friend walked everywhere though and it was easy too. I would definitley stay here again, I know I will be because I'll be coming to Melbourne again very soon. Quality hotel and I recommend highly !! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossabucco, General Manager at Jasper Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Hi Jessflan... very kind comments, thank you!! We are very proud of the Jasper - a great product, good feel, awesome location and importantly a sensational team of people. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back one day. Appreciate you taking the time to write a review! ...Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jasper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper Hotel

Address: 489 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jasper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasper Hotel, Melbourne’s vibrant boutique hotel located in the city’s CBD Market Precinct, offers contemporary 4 star accommodation, dining, extensive conference and meeting facilities – all complimented by a strikingly high level of service.Welcoming corporate, leisure and conference guests, the Jasper provides a full array of facilities including modern room and suite appointments, mini bar, LCD TV, 24 hour in room dining, 24 hour Reception, iPhone docking stations, wifi internet access plus indoor and outdoor dining at Jasper Kitchen 7 days a week.At the Jasper Hotel, the focus is to give our guests a truly memorable experience. At the Jasper, our service and attitude is not a process. It’s an instinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jasper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jasper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.