We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re-purposed heritage listed building, good sleep!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Re-purposed heritage listed building, good sleep!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed one night on 2 occasions 2 months apart. Both stays were pleasant enough. Check in process straightforward at the tiny front DESK. High ceilings and wide corridors lead to the rooms. Rooms are huge - split level affairs with kitchenette and lounge area downstairs, bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Beds are comfy, though traffic noise from the adjacent Spencer Street was audible, especially the trams. Bathroom is not too pokey, bathtub and shower available. Breakfast is from an a la carte menu (no buffet). Valet parking available. Conveniently located a short walk from the Southern Cross Station, so great for regional travellers coming to town for business in the CBD.

Room Tip: Pick a room AWAY from Spencer Street and AWAY from Southern Cross Station to avoid traffic and train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Pollicisduo,

Thank-you for writing a review and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the extra space in our apartments and that the bed was comfortable. If you are a light sleeper, staying on the Spencer St side is good recommendation. Feel free to email me on h3029-gm2@accor.com and I will make sure that this preference is on your profile permanently for all future stays.

Thanks again for your time and lovely feedback.

Kind Regards,
Jane Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    464
    171
    52
    23
See reviews for
167
510
111
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The first time I stayed there a few years ago the room was fantastic, my wife and I stayed last weekend and the first room we had was terrible. The wind was blowing in through the door seals so much that the man hole in the ensuite was bouncing. We went to make a coffee, which wasn't supplied in the room. To find once we ran the tap that it just leaked out into the cupboard below. The room wasn't very clean either, we then asked for another room and had to pay to be upgraded.
The new room was great but the room service was poor, we stayed for two nights, our bed didn't get made and we didn't get new towels. We called for our bed to be made and some new towels, new towels arrived but the bed was never made. Location is great and building is beautiful, but the service we had on our last experience was shocking and both rooms weren't very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Shaun,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. It seems on this occasion that we have certainly let ourselves down. As you can see from the other reviews, that this is not our normal standard and attention that we enjoy providing to our valued guests. Please feel free to contact me on h3029-gm2@accor.com and I will certainly endeavour to restore your faith in the Grand Hotel again. We would love to have a second chance.
Kind Regards,
Jane Crawford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Being in an older heritage kind of building, and right next to a major train line, things don't tend to be perfect but this is my 2nd stay here and I've been happy both times.

It certainly feels like somewhere different when you walk down the huge corridors, tall and 3.5 metres wide. Both times I've been in a split level sort of room with the bed and bathroom upstairs on a mezzanine sort of level.

Location is good, even great if like me you are arriving and leaving via the Skybus which is just up the road. Easy to get to trams that go along Flinders, Collins, or Bourke Streets.

This time I was on the side of the train line but I haven't found it to be a problem. Some rooms are even closer and as you can see on some reviews here, it is a problem for some folk. But I think the majority of the rooms are probably fine unless you can't sleep with the slightest noise.

Not the cheapest place in town by any means, but I would stay again if I found another good deal like this time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Glennomeister,
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Grand on both occasions. Don't forget to check out www.accorhotels.com for great savings on accommodation at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.