We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Warragul
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bit Disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel on a few occasions and found it to be very very good but on this occasion I was a little bit let down. The room I was booked into smelled of cigarette smoke so they kindly moved me to another room with an upgrade which was very nice but I feel the Hotel could do with a refurb as it is getting very tired. I ate in the restaurant which was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    501
    176
    58
    23
See reviews for
172
554
116
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and with the city link free tram just outside it was easy to get around the city.
Even though the hotel is on a very busy intersection we were very surprised how quite it was considering its location.
The food was very good and great service we went to the upstairs restaurant on a couple of occasions and the serving size was very good.
The staff at reception were very helpful
The rooms are of a good size and very comfortable.
The building does lack decoration the hall ways look beautiful but need something on the walls or some furnishings to make it more inviting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As an ex Rail employee I was familiar with the building. Wow what a change,beautiful décor, friendly staff, spotless room and fabulous location. So close to Station, Shopping and Public Transport. A must for any visitor to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location walking distance to lots of attractions. Room have plenty of room no noise from other rooms, very helpful staff. Beds were expectional with late check out was great. Restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is now our hotel when going to Melbourne. Historical beautiful old building, great location and food, top class service and apartments are great if travelling with kids. We loved it thanks to all staff and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooroolbark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for one night as going to the Theatre and easier than driving home afterwards. Stay at the Grand always nice. Lovely old building with lots of traditional features. Room as always clean and comfortable. Bed, oh how wonderful that My Bed is - totally awesome. Pillows a bit flat but I am a high and firm pillow girl so it probably suits 95% of the people.

Had dinner in the Restaurant before going to the Theatre and as usual the food was of high quality.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely, different to other hotels. Freshly squeezed orange juice was frothy and delicious. I had the full breakfast and hubbie had the smoked salmon and poached egg combo. Both were of the highest standard.

Checkout was easy and quick. Staff always friendly. Only downer was the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor near our room (Floor 6) but we put it down to one part being residential. Room didn't smell of smoke though, thank goodness.

Overall a pleasant experience and a lovely stay. We have no hesitation in going back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Arrived after an 8 hour drive to them not being able to find my booking. finally got the booking sorted then went up to my room, had 3 bags with me and although there were porter trolleys at the front no one bothered to help, they also didn't tell me how to turn on the electricity in my room so had to walk all the way back to find out. Got told off by a resident for using the "wrong lift" to get to the pool area. Oh and did I mention my heater isn't working and the water pressure is well below average.
As someone who works in the industry I Have to say I'm disappointed and definitely won't be back to try again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.