We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old style charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is now our hotel when going to Melbourne. Historical beautiful old building, great location and food, top class service and apartments are great if travelling with kids. We loved it thanks to all staff and we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    464
    171
    52
    23
See reviews for
167
510
111
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooroolbark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for one night as going to the Theatre and easier than driving home afterwards. Stay at the Grand always nice. Lovely old building with lots of traditional features. Room as always clean and comfortable. Bed, oh how wonderful that My Bed is - totally awesome. Pillows a bit flat but I am a high and firm pillow girl so it probably suits 95% of the people.

Had dinner in the Restaurant before going to the Theatre and as usual the food was of high quality.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely, different to other hotels. Freshly squeezed orange juice was frothy and delicious. I had the full breakfast and hubbie had the smoked salmon and poached egg combo. Both were of the highest standard.

Checkout was easy and quick. Staff always friendly. Only downer was the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridor near our room (Floor 6) but we put it down to one part being residential. Room didn't smell of smoke though, thank goodness.

Overall a pleasant experience and a lovely stay. We have no hesitation in going back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after an 8 hour drive to them not being able to find my booking. finally got the booking sorted then went up to my room, had 3 bags with me and although there were porter trolleys at the front no one bothered to help, they also didn't tell me how to turn on the electricity in my room so had to walk all the way back to find out. Got told off by a resident for using the "wrong lift" to get to the pool area. Oh and did I mention my heater isn't working and the water pressure is well below average.
As someone who works in the industry I Have to say I'm disappointed and definitely won't be back to try again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is at an excellent location and has a great breakfast. It is also quiet and the rooms are roomy. The only downside I found was the service - I stayed three nights but complained about the TV remote not working properly on two occassions. This was not rectified before I left.

I would still recommend this hotel for a quiet, comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed another pleasant stay at this beautiful hotel. Room very comfortable with the added benefit of kitchen facilities. The only negative was there weren't any face washers, sewing kit, shower caps supplied but the cleaning person seemed who seened overworked and had to rush through the cleaning of the other rooms to finish. I assumed that this was probably a sign of these economic times with less staff and more work expected. It was a very small negative though and was rectified the next day as my husband had a loose button on his jacket and I needed a sewing kit. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and I will come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had a wonderful time, service was friendly and helpful. Location was excellent, went to the football at Etihad and then on to the Crown. Central to both. Easy to get to from the freeway and to get back onto the freeway. Only problem, I'm 6ft tall. Clean the top of your fridges-Filthy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Grand Hotel is indeed grand in space & style! Our stay here was wonderful; great location close to shops, restaurants & cafes, transport & the waterfront. Our room was excellent as was the friendly, helpful service & delicious food. The comfiest of beds & a complimentary bottle of bubbly to celebrate our anniversary topped off the relaxing atmosphere - it really couldn't have been better. We will return : )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.