We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pillows, great bed, quiet room but smokey corridors.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pillows, great bed, quiet room but smokey corridors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is in a Wonderful location wrt the convention centre being a short walk away. There were very helpful staff in reception, and the restaurant. Perhaps the absolute pinnacle of my stay was what I would seriously call the softest bed and pillows I have slept in for years, Firm and supportive but enveloped by down. The only downside was the smell of smoke in the corridors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    514
    179
    58
    24
See reviews for
175
572
118
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel had many good points however seemed rather souless and lifeless - especially walking those long, boring corridors to the room (a bit of art work ra sofa here and there would break it up a bit). The room itself was nice, a bit weird in the layout however the fully equipped kitchenette was a bonus. The bed was very comfy however having a badly functioning remote control meant having to get out of bed to turn off the TV. When I asked for a replacement I was told that one could be provided however that as none of them worked properly it was probably hardly worth it.

The location is great, easily walkable from the station. I might stay there again if the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegal, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked their Two bedroom suite; the highest room type on their inventory. Therefore I couldn't ask for an upgrade as Le Club Gold member. However, when I entered the room I expect any nice touch from the hotel as it is MGallery brand but I didn't find any. Therefore I called to the Front Office asking if there's a welcome gift for Gold member who stayed here. It seems that the hotel reluctant a bit to provide it but some minutes later there;s a FO staff brought a wine to the room which I politely refuse since I didn't drink wine. Then the welcome gift was changed to Black Berry Jam and some chocolates.

The two bedroom suite is very large' the hotel told me that is 114 sqm. It has two stories and the beds are very comfortable. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, near to the railway station that connect to nearby cities. The hotel has a 10% discount brochure if you want to visit Eureka Skydeck 88 after I asked how to go to Eureka.

On the last day on our stay, we met Arthur in FO team which we talked a lot about travel and others. We also told that we have an early flight on tomorrow morning but we would like also to try breakfast at the hotel since I still have 60 USD voucher. Arthur was quickly organized all of them. Calling the cab, wrote down our order for tomorrow breakfast and also told me that he will tell it to the restaurant staffs to prepare our menu first !!!

When we woke up tomorrow, everything has been arranged by him. We are really appreciate for his excellent services to the customer. The Grand Hotel Melbourne is very good hotel but they should take note on how they treat for Le Club Gold/Platinum members.

Room Tip: Book their Two Bedroom Suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent proximity to Melbourne Exhibition Centre, Crown Entertainment Precinct, Spencer St (Southern Cross) Train Station. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms well-sized, well-appointed and comfortable. Beautiful old building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The atmosphere of the rooms is fantastic - the rooms are large, plenty of space to spread out, high ceilings, well appointed kitchenette that has all the basics to cook a satisfying meal, a cd player, DVD player - more than the average motel room. The staff were exceedingly helpful, from reception, to room service, house staff and bar/restaurant - nothing was too much trouble and the most simple of things were fixed in an instant (we were short a plate, some tea bags of a certain flavour - yes there were options from green tea, chamomile, early grey and english breakfast etc). The reception staff were very helpful in their advice on directions, cab bookings, walking times, dinner options - they were always available and always engaging. For a large stately (grand) hotel, came a very homely, friendly and generous experience. Would stay again, especially on an advance booking deal. Handy to DFO, Spencer street terminal (where there's a great Woolworth's to buy supplies to cook in kitchenette), and only a 15 min walk to the other side of the city and a 5 min strol over the river to the casino strip. The only draw back that worried us was the close proximity to the train line - however, we hardly heard it and it didn't keep us awake. The rooms had been sound proofed to ease the pain of the trains passing - they weren't intrusive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great old building . Hotel is 4 star at best and needs a clean . Staff were good .the hotel is missing the finer details. The rooms are very large and comfortable. ..................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Impressive hotel lobby, very large 2 story bedroom, which could be a challenge when you have to bring your suitcase up the internal stairs. Had a go at pool and gym (nice) and at restaurant for breakfast and diner: the latter was a bit disappointing.
So a very good first impression but would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection

Address: 33 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located adjacent to Southern Cross station and close to Melbourne city shopping, theatres, galleries and museums, The Grand Hotel Melbourne - a member of the MGallery collection is one of the most treasured heritage buildings in Victoria. Offering modern five star comfort, it exudes Victorian grandeur, with ornate detailing harking back to the 1800s. The Grand Hotel Melbourne provides deluxe Melbourne accommodation, with 103 spacious suites, a pool, spa, gym, library and hidden garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Melbourne
Sofitel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Melbourne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.